Book Notification

Robert Galbraith Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cormoran Strike Books

The Cuckoo's Calling (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silkworm (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Career of Evil (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lethal White (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Troubled Blood (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ink Black Heart (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Running Grave (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Robert Galbraith is the pen name for J.K. Rowling (Joanne Rowling). Rowling states that she chose Robert Galbraith since it was one of her favorite male names, because her hero is Robert F. Kennedy, and because she hadn’t used the name for a character in any of her many novels (most notably, Harry Potter). The last name derives from her desire to be called Ella Galbraith as a child even though she has no memories of meeting anyone with the name Galbraith. However, she remained fascinated with the name. She held this fascination so much that she considered calling herself L.A. Galbraith when writing the Strike Series, but she refrained from doing so since the obvious initials hinted at her writing it. Rowling even questioned using the pen name for The Cuckoo’s Calling when stumbling upon a popular economist named J.K. Galbraith. The same initials made her quite nervous that people would figure out her real identity, but, thankfully, no one researched into the name too much.

Rowling explains that she used a pen name instead of publishing the crime novel under her popular and distinguished name to start her writing career anew. She longed the feeling of having to work hard to publish a successful novel as an unknown name. After she quickly became known and developed a notable reputation with her widely acclaimed novels, she noticed that hype and expectations formed around her books. In turn, people began to have predetermined, positive opinions on her novels. Rowling wanted to see the feedback she would receive from a novel that wasn’t riding on her many successes. Publishers and readers granted the book positive reviews (even though they didn’t know the author of the book), giving Rowling the opportunity to see how her book would do without her name behind it, but she still continues to write under the name to publish a different genre of books (from her other fantasy books) and to write as a persona (which is something she finds joy in). Even though the experience was short lasting, she still took these valuable points from it.

Robert Galbraith also has a military background that Rowling provided him with. She did this due to the genre of novels he was writing. All of the novels written under the pseudonym have been crime-fiction, so it would make sense for him to have an understanding of the Special Investigation Branch. This would also justify the his decision to write crime novels which would further assist in concealing Rowling’s identity. She made the decision to make him a military man having a job in the civilian security industry to justify his absence of a photograph or public appearance.


Galbraith has written several crime fiction novels. His debut novel was called the Cuckoo’s Calling, and it was published in 2013. It is about about a brother that doesn’t believe that his sister’s death is a suicide. The model died from falling from a snow covered balcony. Because of her brother suspicions, he calls a private investigator to determine the cause of her death. Cormoran Strike, the investigator, is a mentally and physically hurt war veteran.His wounds have caused his life to descend into chaos. However, this case gives him hope to financially stay afloat. It soon becomes apparent that as he delves deeper into the model’s life, the more danger he is put it. The Cuckoo’s Calling is set in London where the reader is taken to the quiet city of Mayfair to the busy streets of Soho. This debut novel allows the reader to understand who Cormoran Strike is. Readers see into his life on a level to perceive his complexity while also retaining the heart of a thriller novel. It retains this by presenting a case that keeps you and the investigator on edge. The novel has been regarded with positive reviews and large success from reviewers, authors, publishers, and, most importantly, readers, and it has won the 2013 LA Times Book Prize for Mystery/Thriller.

The second novel that Galbraith published in the Cormoran Strike detective series was The Silkworm in 2014. The Silkworm is a novel that is crafted with numerous twists. Cormoran Strike is once again the main character, along with his assistant, Robin Ellacott. The case he must investigate is concerning Owen Quine disappearance. Quine’s wife believes that he has ventured alone for a few days ( since he’s gone off before), and she only wants Strike to bring him back home. The more complex Strike’s investigation becomes the clearer it becomes that Quine’s absence goes beyond his wife’s beliefs. Quine is a novelist whose newest manuscript is made up of the lives of everyone he knows. The novel’s publishing would result in several people’s lives being decimated, so these people have reasoning to ensure that their lives aren’t published. After Quine is found murdered in a brutal fashion in a weird circumstance, Strike has to quickly uncover a killer different from any he has dealt with before. Strike’s limits are tested as he is faced with one of his most difficult cases. He is forced to think and act in a way he hasn’t done before to solve the case in time. This novel has also been received with plenty of positive reception.

The third novel in the Cormoran Strike series is Career Of Evil. This thriller begins with Robin Ellacott opening a mysterious package containing a severed leg. Her boss is Cormoran Strike, and upon hearing the news, he reacts less frightened but equally alarmed. Strike believes that there are four possible suspects. These suspects are parts of Strike’s past that are all able to carry out such cruelty. Strike and Robin take on the case for themselves since the police are investigating a suspect Strike becomes sure to not be the killer. He and Robin begin to divulge into the lives of the remaining three men. Following more horrifying actions, the two realize that time is slipping away. The Career of Evil also details two people who are dealing with personal and professional conflicts. It builds upon the other two novels in the series by giving you an even deeper look into the feelings and perspective of the main character. The reader is made closer to the character by having a new, deeper understanding of him.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Robert Galbraith

6 Responses to “Robert Galbraith”

  1. BRIAN A YOUL: 4 months ago

    Strike/Robin/RG just amazing, I hate it when the last few pages are left, limit myself to single chapters to make it last longer. Running Grave brilliant
    Thank you

  2. Janene: 7 months ago

    Thank You. Thank you. Brilliant ! Exciting ! Daring and thought provoking …

  3. Veronica: 12 months ago

    The best series – JK / Robrt, please keep them coming 🙂

  4. Robin Rosenberg: 1 year ago

    WHEN will her next Strike Book be released?!
    I need a sequel to The Ink Black Heart!

    • Steve: 6 months ago

      The Running Grave is a crime fiction novel written by J. K. Rowling, and published under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith. It was published 26 September 2023. It is the seventh novel in the Cormoran Strike series

      • Cindy Vorholt: 6 months ago

        I think The Running Grave is the best one so far!


Leave a Reply