Robert Greene Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The World Makers (By:John Maxwell) (1958)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Shadows Over Innsmouth Books

with Brian Hodge, Ramsey Campbell, H.P. Lovecraft, Kim Newman, Brian Lumley, Michael Marshall Smith, Conrad Williams, , Stephen Jones, , Caitlín R. Kiernan, , , , Simon Kurt Unsworth
Shadows Over Innsmouth (By:Stephen Jones) (1994)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Weird Shadows Over Innsmouth (By:Stephen Jones) (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Weirder Shadows Over Innsmouth (With: Brian Hodge,Ramsey Campbell,H.P. Lovecraft,Kim Newman,Brian Lumley,Michael Marshall Smith,Conrad Williams,,Stephen Jones,,Caitlín R. Kiernan,,,,Simon Kurt Unsworth) (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

One of the worlds most prolific authors of pulp fiction during his time, the British novelist John Stephen Glasby, or John S Glasby for short, was known under a variety of different pseudonyms over the course of his entire career, leading to him becoming extremely versatile at a whole range of different genres, allowing him to gain a strong a far more distinctive voice. Able to shape himself to almost fit within any format, he had a gift for adapting himself to any given conditions, fulfilling whatever prerequisites were needed at any time. Clearly a master of his craft over the duration of his entire writing career overall, he would reach audiences worldwide, gaining readers from all across the world. Not only that, but he would also work as a professional research chemist and astronomer, all whilst continuing to pursue one of the most expansive literary careers during his spare time. Taking place throughout the fifties and sixties, he would have scores of pulp novels published, all using different pen names and brands, many of which would become extremely prolific in their own right. Generating a huge success for the publishing and literary industry during his lifetime, he would also sell large quantities of books too, all thanks to his expertise at engaging his audience with skill and style, knowing exactly what it was that they were looking for and giving it to them.

This would translate across all of his work, as this passion and love for the art-form would be something that he would cherish greatly during the course of his writing career overall. Mostly using the Badger Books imprint to publish his work, he would focus mainly on books that would set themselves to the standard of a specific genre, with almost 300 novels being published during the course of his entire career. Many of these would be written alongside the Reverend Lionel Fanthorpe, with whom he’d co-author many of the books, as the two of them pretty much made up the entire collected bulk of Badger Books publishing output. With many of his names, he’d mainly hide himself behind his writing monikers, one of them being the pseudonym of Robert Greene. Under this name he would mainly write the title ‘Quantrill’s Legacy’, which would be a standard western genre novel, showing his skill at that particular field too. Having set one of the most expansive legacies to date, he will live on being remembered as one of the most prolific authors ever.

Early and Personal Life

Born on the 23rd of September in 1928, John Glasby was born and raised in East Retford in Nottinghamshire, whereby would attend the King Edward VI Grammar School there. This would lead him well on his way to gaining an academic background, all the while pursuing his passionate love of literature in his spare time. Going on to study Chemistry at Nottingham University, he would continue down this path for quite some time, as he would later go on to become a research chemist. Turning to writing professionally though, he would begin to put out work under various monikers, all the while continuing his day job in research.

Writing Career

Turning to fiction in 1954 after previously publishing non-fiction academic works, Glasby would publish ‘Dark Andromeda’ under the name of Merak. This would then see him mainly focus on science-fiction and fantasy over the following years to come, as he would later turn to western and other genres. When Badger Books closed in 1967 he would also stop most of his output for a short period, before becoming a writer of ghost stories some time later, proving him to be one of the most tireless and unstoppable writers ever, with his work living on for years to come.

Quantrill’s Legacy

Republished in 2003 in UK bound hardback, followed by a paperback the following year in 2004, this would be the main title to come from Glasby under his Robert L Greene moniker. Using the western genre format as its main template, it isn’t really a part of any series as such, although it does include itself as a ‘Black Horse Western’. This is something that has set it apart from the rest of his career, as it would show another side to his writing that was quite unlike any that’d come before.

Whilst this title is set firmly within the past, this novel still focuses itself squarely on entertaining the reader and engaged throughout at ever level. The character of Lee Devrin leads the action, and he’s a no-nonsense protagonist who resonates through the reader being set firmly within the heroic character mold. Bringing the west to life as well, Greene aka Glasby works to truly set the scene painting a vivid portrayal of the landscapes and hardships back then.

Set during the tail-end of the Civil War, this takes a look back at an almost forgotten time of lawlessness during the Wild West, with the period beginning to wane. Returning home to find his house burnt and his entire family killed, Lee Devrin has only one thing on his mind, and that is revenge. Taking to the gun trail, he plans to track the guilty Quantrill Raiders that did this all across Missouri, with all but death waiting at the end. Will he find his justice? Can he survive long enough to bring it? What will become of Quantrill’s legacy?

Siege Town

Written under a different name, this would provide another western for the highly prolific author, a genre that he’d now began to get a knack for. Republished in 2016 on the 23rd of May through the Pioneering Press publishing label, this would become a must for any fans of the author and the genre. With all the traditional tropes of the genre it really has everything to offer the reader, making the most of it format and its setting.

Calling in Rick Hartnell to drive away the outlaws from Hammer’s Bend, the sheriff plans to have this notorious gunslinger finish the job once and for all. The only issue is that, once Rick does deliver the leader to the town captured and ready for justice, he rides off once more into the Badlands leaving the townsfolk to fend for themselves. That’s when the outlaws decide to rescue their leader, thus leaving the sheriff to put his trust in Rick once again to drive them away for good. Will he manage it? Can he be trusted? What will become of the siege town?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Robert Greene

Leave a Reply