Book Notification

Robert Jackson Bennett Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Divine Cities Books

City of Stairs (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
City of Blades (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
City of Miracles (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Founders Trilogy Books

Publication Order of Shadow of the Leviathan Books

The Tainted Cup (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Company Man (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Shivers (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Troupe (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
American Elsewhere (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vigilance (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Shadows of Men (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Robert Jackson Bennett is one of the Edgar Award winning authors of America, who is popular for writing novels based on the speculative fiction, horror, fantasy, and science & fiction genres. He was born in the year 1984 in a place called Baton Rouge in America. Before going on to take up a career as a full time author, Bennett spent his growing years in Texas and completed his academic studies from the University of Texas. After that he began his writing career with his debut novel Mr. Shivers in the year 2010. The success of this novel was later followed a number of other successful novels written by author Bennett. His unique style of writing the speculative fiction and horror plots of his novels and the interesting characterizations has helped author Bennett to win a number of prestigious awards and nominations. He has won the Shirley Jackson Award for a couple of times in his writing career in the category of the Best Novel. The Edgar Award won by the author Bennett was in the category of the Best Paperback Original Novel. Other than this, he also won the Sydney J Bounds Award in the year 2010 for being the Best Newcomer author of the year. Another prestigious award won by him was the Philip K Dick Award in the category of Citation of Excellence. Currently, he is working on the plot of his next novel, which is about to be published soon. As of today, author Robert Jackson Bennett lives in Austin, Texas along with his wife and a son. Whenever he is not busy with his writing works, he can be found online, chatting with his fans and readers.

Other than the initial standalone novels at the start of his writing career, the author Bennett has also written a novel series called as ‘The Divine Cities’. It consists of a total of 2 novels till now, the first of which is already published in the year 2014 and the second one is about to be published somewhere around the initial quarter of the year 2016. The first novel of the series was titled City of Stars’. It was published by the Broadway Books publishing house in the year 2014. The plot of this novel revolves around the happenings in the life of the main character Shara Divani. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, it is shown that the city of Bulikov wielded some special powers years that enabled the Gods to conquer the whole of the world. But when the divine protectors of the city of Bulikov were killed mysteriously, the conqueror itself was conquered, resulting in the proud history of the city getting censored or erased by the new conqueror. The further consequences resulted in the halt of the progress of the city, thereby transforming it into one more colonial outpost in the new geopolitical power of the world. At this musty and backward situation of the city, the main protagonist Shara Divani steps in. She seems to be a quiet woman at first and is officially sent by the oppressors of the city of Bulikov as just another low diplomat.

But, unofficially, she is one of the accomplished spymasters of her country, who has been sent to investigate the cruel murder of an historian who seemed rather harmless. As the political and physical geography of the city keeps on shifting, Shara Divani strives to pursue its mystery and begins to suspect that the same beings who were the protectors of the Bulikov city, may not be dead as they appear to be. She also thinks that the divine protectors might also touch the abilities of her own. The plot of the novel proved to be an excellent read because of its great word building and awesome action sequences. Even the clash of the cultures and the different belief systems are very well described by the author Bennett. The success of the novel helped Bennett to make a name for himself as a quirky and bright author at the start of his writing career. As a result, he got the opportunity to be hailed as the one of the hottest young authors of the mystery and speculative fiction genres. His efforts in giving a good authorial voice to the plot of the novel and the important elements of depth, wit, and striking realism, helped him to gather a lot of praise and appreciations from the critics as well as the fellow authors. Even the readers all over the world have given many positive reviews after enjoying its reading till the very end. Author Bennett also tried to include some excellent humor sequences along with the subtle plot of the novel, due to which it does not look like that the plot is constructed to for the sake of fitting into the story. Rather, the plot seems life flowing naturally due to the excellent descriptions by author Bennett.

The second novel of The Divine Cities series is titled ‘City of Blades’ and is about to be published in early next year by the Broadway Books publishing house. The plot of this novel deals with the description the city of Voortyashtan and revolves around the life of the main protagonist, General Turyin Mulaghesh. In the opening sequence of the plot of this novel, it is shown that the Voortyashtan city was the domain of a number of goddesses once, like the goddess of war, destruction, and death. But today it appears like nothing more than a ruin. Soon, General Mulaghesh is asked to come out of his retirement and move to the hellish city of Voortyashtan and try to search for a secret agent of Saypuri. He is required to find the secret agent as he seems to be missing right from the middle of one of his missions. But the Voortyashtan city, which is the city of war seems to offer a number of threats in the path of General Mulaghsh. It also seems that she is followed by the ghosts of her own battles from the past into the city of Voortyashtan. Now, General Mulaghesh wonders what happened to all those souls of the city who were trapped in their afterlife after the Divinities of the city had vanished. She wonders whether the dead ones in the city sleep soundly like they seem to or they have some other plans of their own?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Robert Jackson Bennett

Leave a Reply