Book Notification

Robert Knott Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Virgil Cole & Everett Hitch Books

with Robert B. Parker
Appaloosa (By: Robert B. Parker) (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Resolution (By: Robert B. Parker) (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Brimstone (By: Robert B. Parker) (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blue-Eyed Devil (By: Robert B. Parker) (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ironhorse (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bull River (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bridge (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blackjack (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Revelation (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buckskin (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Opium Rose (2026)Description / Buy at Amazon

Robert Knott is one of the popular writers from America who is well known for his contribution to the English literature. He has been involved in a number of activities in the literary world for the past few years. Apart from being a famous writer, Knott is also a noteworthy actor and producer. His performances on stage and television, and in films have earned him wide recognition all across the world. One of the films that he is widely popular for is titled as ‘Appaloosa’. This film is based on the novel written by the world famous author named Robert B. Parker. Author Knott not only adapted the novel into the movie, but also produced it. For this project, he collaborated with another popular actor and producer named Ed Harris. Other than this, author Knott is also credited with the development of the television based mini series called as The Stand. This TV mini series is based on a novel written by Stephen King. Author Ed Harris is a longtime friend of author Knott, who has also worked with him on a number of projects. The two have frequently collaborated in writing novels and have also co-starred in a number of movies together.

Author Knott was selected by the Estate of the popular author Robert Parker to continue with the writing work of the ‘Cole and Hitch’ series after his untimely death. Author Robert B. Parker had already written and published 4 books in the series, after which author Knott continued to write the remaining books in the series. The Cole and Hitch series is a highly popular series based on the western genre. The initial books published in the series had become very successful due to which author Robert Parker had received many appreciations. This popularity helped author Knott as he too was very well received for his works on the novels that he wrote in the series. Before beginning to write his first book in the series, author Knott was under a lot of pressure as he was expected to match with the level of expertise of author Parker. But, after the success of the first book which was the 5th one in the series, Knott gained a lot of motivation and encouragement. This allowed him to continue writing the future novels of the series. They too became highly successful and were appreciated by a number of readers all over the world. Author Knott was born in the Oklahoma City, The United States. He was very much passionate about becoming an author during his teenage days. He says that he used to read a lot of books and used to get inspiration from them. Knott had developed a number of his own stories at that time, but did not get the opportunity to publish them. However, when the time finally came, he made the most out of it and helped himself to become one of the established authors of his time.

One of the novels that author Robert Knott wrote in the “Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch” series is titled as ‘The Bridge’. It was released by the G.P. Putnam publishers in the year 2014. The story shown in this book is a gritty and gun-slinging one and features the main leads in the form of lawmen Everett Hitch and Virgil Cole. As the novel begins, Hitch and Cole are depicted as Territorial Marshalls, who return back to Appaloosa. Their activities related to the law enforcing work has been observed as very quiet in this region. But, they seem very much determined to change it this time. Soon, an ominous storm occurs which brings along with it a night riders’ band. They seemed to have come with a devious and deadly scheme in mind. These night riders reach the Rio Blanco camp, which is situated near the site of a 300 foot bridge being under construction. The Sheriff of Appaloosa named Sledge Driksill responds at the site along with a few of his deputies. But soon, the storm takes a more threatening form causing the tension at the site of the bridge to grow more.

As this news escalates, more troubles arise and later, it is learned that Sheriff Drisksill and his deputies have gone missing from the site. After this, Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch gear up to visit the site themselves and sort the things out. But before they go on to do that, Beuregard Beauchamp visits the town along with his troupe of the Theatrical Extravaganza. He promises to provide the best live entertainment from the western region of Mississippi. Along with the troupe, a mysterious but lovely fortune teller also comes to the town. This fortune teller seems to have the intention of saving Hitch from the imminent and indefinable danger that lies ahead. Now, the case of the missing law enforcers, the trouble near the bridge site, the arrival of new entertainers in town, and the involvement of Hitch in a shootout near a cafe do appear to be the only things with which Hitch and Cole have their plates full. They are also required to deal with a unsavory gang of soldiers who come to the town of Appaloosa along with a shady alibi. They seem to have deadly intentions that could prove to be highly disastrous for the well being of the town. Things keep getting worse for Virgil and Everett as the frightening clouds keep gathering over Appaloosa.

Another book written by author Robert Knott in the series was published under the title ‘Bull River’. This book was also published in the year 2014 by the G.P. Putnam publishing company. The story of the book continues to depict the itinerant lawmen Everett and Virgil in yet another intense plot featuring blazing guns and saddle rides. As the story begins, it is shown that the two lawmen become successful in hunting down a notorious bandit and murderer named Alejandro Vasquez. They bring him to the Citadel in order to make him stand before the trial. As soon as they hand over Alejndro for the trial, a bank robbery takes place in the town and Hitch and Cole are ordered to carry out a new task. They are required to carry out the investigation of the robbery at the Comstock Bank, catch the robbers, recover the looted money, and bring the robbers to justice. But soon, the two lawmen discover the prime suspect severely beaten and lying in front of a brothel. Later, it is learned that he had acquired a false identity in order to save himself from a previous crime. Now, Alejandro Vasquez becomes an important key in the investigation. In the end, Virgil and Everett go on the trail of the lost money by following two cunning and calculating brothers and the daughter of a promising millionaire from St. Louis. The story depicted by author Knott in this book takes revenge to an altogether different level.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Robert Knott

3 Responses to “Robert Knott”

  1. Tom W Boyer: 9 months ago

    Everytime I go to the library I check to if there is a new Robert Knott western.

  2. pat gill: 3 years ago

    Will there be more Cole and TV Hitch books?this is the best western series ever and new tales will be appreciated

    • Tom Grail: 3 years ago

      Just waiting for the next novel have read all so far and enjoyed them very much.Virgil and Everett strike me as the real deal of that time of history.Please keep them alive for us who you have been caught in the web of these wonderful creations.


Leave a Reply