Book Notification

Robert McCracken Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DI Tara Grogan Books

An Early Grave (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Daring Night (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silent Voices (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Lethal Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Marriage is Murder (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
For One Kiss (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Run (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bound to Run (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wife's Boyfriend (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mourne Mountain Murders (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Robert McCracken is a humor and comedy, crime, and contemporary fiction author from Ireland. The author was born in Belfast and spend a significant amount of time as a child in Australia.

He went to college at the University of Ulster where he studied chemistry and then went to the Belfast-based Queen’s University where he got a doctorate degree in Agricultural Food Science.

McCracken has been working on scientific research for more than three decades as he studied issues to do with global food safety.

As a person that has written for many years, it was not surprising when he published “An Early Grave” his debut novel in 2015. The work would become a bestselling title on the British detective thriller lists on Amazon in that years.

He followed that up with “Lethal Dose,” which featured Detective Inspector Tara Grogan in 2016. Robert decided to retire from working as a scientist to become a full-time author once his income from books was high enough.

He currently lives in County Down Northern Ireland where he writes his novels.

McCracken has said that he pens his novels and especially his crime fiction work to evoke certain feelings. His works have been known to evoke Hitchcock-like feelings with a lot of suspense building up to an exciting end.

He loves that his books are usually referred to as page-turners given that he tries to write books that he would love to read himself. Robert McCracken now has more than ten novels to his name spread across several series and single-standing novels.

“An Early Grave” by Robert McCracken is an engaging story of a female detective who makes use of her instincts and a recluse witness in resolving a murder mystery.

What is interesting in this case is that the police had initially dismissed the case as the rantings of a man in mourning.

It starts with the story of Callum before it introduces Detective Inspector Tara Grogan, who is investigating the killing of a woman whose body was found in an unoccupied home.

It is at the house that she meets Callum and his dog who were walking down the street near their home. Callum smells and looks like a homeless man and his home is full of endless notes, police reports, and newspaper clippings.

He had noticed something curious about the homicide and now wants to be involved in the investigation. While most people believe they know his story, it later comes out that no one actually knew Callum.
Slowly but steadily, McCracken lays the pieces of the puzzle, pulling Tara into the many theories that Callum comes up with.

As she investigates several threats she has to deal with current events, her self doubts and pressure, and interference from headquarters.

Robert McCracken’s novel “The Daring Night” is set in Liverpool, which may be forced to give up some of its dark secrets to bring a killer to justice Several people have been poisoned and the city has been thrown into a panic.

Detective Inspector Tara Grogan is not in charge of the case as he has been given a ton of mundane tasks and has to watch as lesser detectives take the lead in the investigation.
One of the mundane tasks she has been assigned is to investigate the suicide of a corporate man. Digging deeper she believes there is something fishy.

Things are not fine at Harbinson Foods and with Liverpool and its residents on edge, Tara thinks there may be some connection with the high-profile homicide. Her superiors have been frustrating her and would not listen to anything she has to say.

Still, she decides to strike up a friendship with Jez Riordan the seductive woman who is the company secretary and lover of the deceased. It is only when she can overstep the boundaries between pleasure and work can she begins to see the whole picture.

With the main investigation going nowhere and more murders inevitable, she is finally called to join the case. But she must parry the moves of some highly motivated and powerful people to resolve the case.

In “The Silent Voices” by Robert McCracken is the story of Detective Inspector Tara Grogan who finds herself in the middle of a strange series of events.

People have been going missing while dead bodies have recently been found wrapped and buried in clingfilm.

But there does not appear to be any motive for the crime or any link between any of the victims that were found. The residents are inscrutable while the estate is similar to many others in the country.
Interviews with the residents do not yield anything as people are reticent and in fact, they resent the presence of the police.

Grogan believes some criminal is hiding in plain sight but given the wall of silence, she has to deal with, she may have to venture closer than is safe. Since she is not a native of the area, she gains access through a local choir.

But she has come into the community as a reformed convict and this may just be her undoing. Her life will be in a lot of danger if her cover is blown but if she does not do everything she can, a homicidal maniac may get away with murder.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Robert McCracken

Leave a Reply