Book Notification

Robert N. Macomber Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Honor Books

At the Edge of Honor (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Point of Honor (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Honorable Mention (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dishonorable Few (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Affair of Honor (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Different Kind of Honor (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Honored Dead (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Shade of Honor (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Honor Bound (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Honorable Lies (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Honors Rendered (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Assassin's Honor (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Honorable War (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Honoring the Enemy (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Word of Honor (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Code of Honor (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Full Naval Honors (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Code of Honor of RADM Peter Wake, USN, in the 1904-1905 Russo-Japanese War (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Robert N. Macomber is a successful author from Florida, United States, who is recognized internationally for his literary works. He has won many awards in his career for writing books based on the suspense, historical fiction, and thriller genres. In addition to being an author, Macomber is also a well known TV commentator and lecturer. He is particularly famous for writing the novels of the Honor series as well as giving lectures all around the world. Macomber is an accomplished seaman, and now uses his maritime experience to give lectures in various parts of the world. Author Macomber spent his initial years growing up near the waters along he South West Florida coast. By the time he reached the age of 17, Macomber had become a racing skipper in the offshore segment. He continued with this racing hobby for the next 32 years and participated in various racing events throughout Florida, Bahamas, and Mexico. Whenever author Macomber is not on tours for his research works, book signings, or for delivering lectures, he can be seen enjoying his time at his home on the Pine Island. And whenever he is not busy with his writing works, author Macomber enjoys getting involved in various sporting events like sailing, cycling, and racing in and around the remote islands near Florida. He also enjoys cooking very much and likes to try different types of cuisines, whose recipes he mentions in his novels too. The Honor series that author Macomber wrote is a series of naval thrillers describing the personal life and career of a fictional naval officer from America named Peter Wake. This series’ setting is said to take place in 1863, in the middle of the Civil War.

Between the years 1882 and 1908, Peter Wake has served in the first ever espionage agency of America called the ‘Office of Naval Intelligence’. In 1908, the career of Wake comes to an end. The books give a highlight into the critical role of the US Navy in expanding America from being a continental country in mid 19th century to a world leader in the early twentieth century. A few of the books have received the attention of the filmmakers from Europe and US. Author Macomber has followers in abundance across the globe. He has garnered critical acclaim from his fellow authors, critics, and the readers for his excellent style of writing. Macomber gives out quarterly newsletters to more than 3,000 enthusiastic and loyal readers. A small group of fans of author Macomber have named themselves as ‘Wakians’, based on the name of Honor series’ chief protagonist Peter Wake. The lecture and book tours of author Macomber keep varying every year. He is known to have toured places in the eastern regions of the USA. Macomber has planned to write 22 books in his acclaimed series, of which he has successfully written and published 12 books. Macomber has given lectures as a guest author on board a number of ships such as Queen Victoria, Silversea Line, Queen Mary 2, Seabourn Line, etc. He has served as a lecturer of naval history throughout his life after retiring from his naval job. Macomber has spoken at several academic and historical venues. His lectures cover as many as 50 literary and maritime topics. Author Macomber has also given appearances in many history documentaries of the Florida PBS maritime. He has also featured as an author at several international, regional, and state book festivals.

The Honor series written by Robert N. Macomber is comprised of a total of 12 books, which were released between the years 2002 and 2015. An initial book of this series is entitled ‘At the Edge of Honor’. It was released by the Pineapple Press publication in the year 2003. At the start of the book, it is depicted that the year is 1863 and the entire nation is affected by the bloody trail of Civil War. At the same time, Peter Wake, who was born and brought up in snowy North, joins the United States Navy. Initially, he is given the post of a volunteer officer. Peter Wake is asked to join the East Gulf Squadron and sent to Florida on duty. Wake is known to have handled a few boats before. But, the exposure to illicit liaisons and politics created by war seems totally new to him. After being assigned to a small, armed sloop called Rosalie, Wake commands his group of seamen to several voyages in order to seek and catch the sympathizers and blockade runners of the Confedrate. His voyages run from Florida’s coastal regions to the distant Bahamas islands. During the course of his mission, Peter Wake starts loving Linda Donahue and by doing so, he puts his reputation at a great risk. Linda’s father turns out to be a zealot from the Confederate. As Wake does not seem willing to give away Linda Donahue, he decides to steal her away at her home in Key West. But, the lovers are forced to go through a difficult test as Peter is made to make several ugly decisions related to war. And the decisions seem sure enough to test the honor of Peter Wake.

The next installment of this popular series is called ‘Point of Honor’. This book was also released in 2003 by Pineapple Press. The important characters mentioned in this novel include Peter Wake, Sean Rork, Linda Donahue. At the beginning of this story, the year is mentioned as 1864. Peter Wake is assisted by the indomitable bosun from Ireland, Sean Rork. He joins a bigger ship than the previous one, known as St. James. The remarkable ability of Wake of making things happen appear to continue as he commands his men in search of army deserters in Dry Tortugas. During his search, Wake comes across a former nemesis while dealing with the naval ship from France near the Mexico coast. Also, he begins a tavern riot as well as confronts the incompetent army officers while invading upper Florida. In the meantime, the personal life of Wake takes a new turn as he risks his reputation once again by returning to his lover, Linda Donahue. The setting in Key West proves to be a unique one for them to realize that their love for each other is very strong and can overcome the war’s insanity. And while going through all this, Wake appears to be surrounded by a swirling confusion of political intrigue and danger. But still, he manages to maintain his dedication in the keeping a balance between the things and his own honor.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Robert N. Macomber

Leave a Reply