Book Notification

Robert Wilson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bruce Medway Books

Instruments of Darkness (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Big Killing (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Is Dirt (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Darkening Stain (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Charles Boxer Books

Capital Punishment (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Will Never Find Me (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stealing People (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Javier Falcon Books

The Blind Man of Seville (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silent and the Damned / The Vanished Hands (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hidden Assassins (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ignorance of Blood (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Small Death in Lisbon (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Company of Strangers (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Robert Wilson is one of the noteworthy novelists from The United Kingdom who likes to write his books based on the crime fiction, spy fiction, and historical mystery genres. He has famously written the Javier Falcons, Brude Medway, and the Charles Boxer series. Author Wilson has won the Gold Dagger Award from the CWA in the year 1999. One of his books titled The Silent and the Dammed, which was released in the United States as The Vanished Hands, has won the 206 Gumshoe Award. The novels of the Javier Falcon series written him have been adapted for a TV series. It stars Marton Csokas in the lead role as Javier Falcon and is broadcast for the Sky television channel. Author Wilson made his career debut as a published novelist in the year 1995 with the release of his first book titled Instruments of Darkness. He was born in the year 1957 in Stanmford, The United Kingdom. His father was a fighter pilot in the Royal Air Force. Due to this, he had to change a number of bases during his childhood days. Author Wilson has said that he got so much used to this experience that he adapted himself completely to the change. It was his mother who encouraged him to read books, but he was interested in various sports activities. At the age of 6, he traveled to France along with his father as he was posted there. This was the first opportunity of author Wilson to visit a foreign country. During his stay in France, he studied in a French school and loved mussels. Then he was sent back to an England, where he learned a lot about the brutal world.

Author Wilson was just 8 years old when he got to know everything about the consequences of terror, mental torture, and punishment. He also learned a great deal about resistance, defiance, and the friendship bond. Because of his brilliant English teachers, he was able to join the Oxford University school. It was here that he felt the urge to become a writer for the first time. His first writing work was a love poem that he wrote as a part of his English assignment. As a 14 year old, he was anxious to know about love and expand his knowledge for the same. And when he read out his poem in class, everybody remained silent till the end. Author Wilson was highly praised by his English teacher as well as his classmates. It was this appreciation that motivated him to become an author. Shortly after, he met with an accident in his car in which he injured his hip and pelvic bones very badly. This caused a year gap in his studies. The first three after the operation, author Wilson was made to spend in an orthopedic section where he used to talk to the other inmates and learned their mad way of living. Later, author Wilson spent around 3 years at the St Edmund Hall reading English. In between this period, he went on trips to America, Katmandu, Afghanistan, Iran. After he graduated from the Oxford University, Wilson went on an archaeological tour to Greece.

While still on tour, his father died and could not get back in time to see him for the last. Even his girlfriend left him and he had become completely broke. The only thing that kept him going was writing poetry. After returning back to London, he took a job in a shipbroking company and was employed in the gas transportation department. After about three years, he left the job and went to Portugal and Spain, indulging in the bicycling sport. He returned back shortly and joined an ad agency. Around the same year, he met his future wife named Jane and the two got married happily. Author Wilson then changed his place of residence and went to live in Portugal. He bought a house in Sintra, near Lisbon, and moved in with his wife. During this time, he had started working in an export company. In his spare times, he used to write travel stories related to his experiences on the journey to Africa. Later, he moved to Alentejo, where he found his ideal house. At around this time, author Wilson decided to give it a try to write novels. And after trying with great determination for about one year, he was finally able to get things right in this field. Eventually, he finished writing his first book and its successful publication motivated him to 2 more books in the next few years.

The Jarvis Falcon series written by Robert Wilson consists of 4 books in total, which were released between the years 2003 and 2009. One of the books initially published in this series is titled as ‘The Vanished Hands’. It was released by the Harvest Books in the year 2006 after being first published in 2004. The beginning plot of the book shows that Javier Falcon undergoes a therapy to overcome some psychological tension. He seems to be on the verge getting completely cured of the psychological damage that he had sustained at the time of his previous investigation. He is asked to visit a suspicious suicide scene in a wealthy neighborhood located near the borders of Seville. The case that he is asked to investigate does not seem to have any solid evidence. Shortly after, a couple of other suicides takes place in the neighborhood in quick succession. One of those victims is found to be a police officer working in the department of sex crimes. Javier is asked to find out what caused the lives of victims unbearable and made them commit suicide. He tries to establish a link between all the three suicides and later seems pretty much confident that all the victims were murdered. This makes him go on the hunt of a cunning and brutal killer.

Another book written in the series by author Wilson is titled as ‘The Hidden Assassins’. This book was released by the Houghton Harcourt publication in the year 2006. At the start of the story, Javier Falcon is shown investigating a mutilated and faceless corpse when he learns about an explosion that rocks the beautiful Seville city. A mosque is discovered in devastated building’s basement, which confirms that terrorists were behind the explosion. As a result, panic spreads all over the city. In the middle of the red alert and increasing political pressure, Falcon suspects that things are not as they seem to be. With his dedication to find the truth related to the explosion, he manages to come very close to cracking the case, but he discovers a far more terrifying conspiracy and races to prevent a deadly catastrophe from happening. The novel ends with a thrilling twist in the end.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Robert Wilson

One Response to “Robert Wilson”

  1. Dawn Skeels: 2 years ago

    I have read Blind Man of Seville three times and now I am starting to go through all Roberts books one by one. I have found it hard to find other Authors that keep me entertained like Robert Does.
    Thank you


Leave a Reply