Book Notification

Robin Cook Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jack Stapleton and Laurie Montgomery Books

Publication Order of Dr. Marissa Blumenthal Books

Publication Order of Pia Grazdani Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Dr. Robert “Robin-Cook” was born in May 4th, 1940 in the city of New York City. He’s an American physician & novelist who basically writes about medicine & topics which affect public health. Robin Cook is best popularly known for combining the medical writing with thriller genre. Most of his novels have been the bestsellers on New York Times Best sellers List. Several of the books have been featured in the Reader’s Digest. Cook’s novels have sold over 100 million copies.


Robin was raised in Queens; New York, & he moved over to Leonia; New Jersey at the age of eight years, where he first had the “luxury” of getting his own room. Robin later on graduated from the Wesleyan University & Columbia University College-of Physicians & Surgeons. Cook finished his post graduate in medical training at the Harvard university. Currently, he divides most of his time in between his homes in Boston & Naples, Florida where Cook lives with his son and wife, Jean. He’s currently on a leave from Massachusetts Eye & Ear Infirmary. Cook has successfully combined the medical fact with the fantasy to produce succession of best selling books. Robin’s medical thrillers are basically designed, in-part, to keep public aware of the technological possibilities-of modern medicine & ensuing ethical problems.

Cook’s books have anticipated national-controversy. An interviewer by the name Stephen McDonald spoke to Cook about his book Shock; Robin admits that the timing of the book Shock was fortuitous. He said, and i quote, “I suppose you can say that it is the one most like the book Coma in the sense that the book deals with issues which everybody seem to be really concerned about,” he adds, “I wrote the novel to address stem cell issues, which the public actually does not know about. Aside from entertaining the readers, my chief aim is getting public interested in such issues, because it is the public which ultimately really needs to decide which route we ought to take in some things like ethically questioning like the stem cell-research.” To this day, he has explored many issues like organ donations, genetic engineering, fertility-treatment, invitro fertilization, research funding, managed-care, medical malpractices, medical tourism, drugs research, and organs transplantation. Cooks says “I joke that in case my novels stop selling or flying off the shelves, I can always fall-back to the brain surgery,” he adds. “But I’m still much interested in it. In case I was to do this over again, I’d still study or be in the medicine field. I think-of myself more as doctor who writes, instead of a writer who basically happens to be doctor.” Cook explained the popularity-of his work saying: “The key reason is, we should all realize that were at risk. We are all at one time or another going to become patients,” Cook says. “You may write about the great white sharks and/or the haunted houses, & you may say I am not going near a ocean or/and I am not going into haunted places, but you cannot say you aren’t going to the hospital.” Cook said he decided to write the medical thrillers because that forum gives him the opportunity to get public interested in certain things about medicine which they did not seem to know or care about. Cook believes his books or novels are actually teaching and educating people.

Robin Cook admits that he never thought he would have such-compelling material with which to work with after he started writing fiction books in the year 1970. Cook said, and i quote, “If I had tried to become the writer I’m today a couple of years ago, I’d not have had very much material to write about. However, today, with pace of the change in the biomedical research studies, there are a number of different types of issues, & new ones are still to come.” Many of Cook’s books revolve around the hospitals (both the fictional and the non fictional books) in Boston, which might have to-do with fact he underwent post grad training at the Harvard University and also had, still has, residence in Boston.

The Year-of the Intern, the 1st novel written by Robin Cook & very different from most of his other thrillers, follows journey of intern Doctor Peters through his year-of placement. It’s an insider’s perspective-of the medical field. As Doctor Peter becomes the doctor, he’s destroying himself as an individual due to the extensive work and the concerns. Cook began writing this book whilst serving on submarine, and he based it on the experiences as the medical resident. After it didn’t do particularly very well, he started an extensive study-of other books in that genre so as to see what exactly made a bestseller. Cook decided to mainly concentrate or focus on the medical suspense thriller, mixing intricately plotted murders & intrigue with the medical technology. Cook also brought some controversial ethical & social issues which affect the medical profession or world to attention of general public.

Coma was Robin’s first major published book, published by the Signet Book in the year 1977. Coma was basically preceded in the year 1973 by Robin’s lesser known book, The Year-of the Intern (which was also published by the Signet Book) The book Coma literary awards & notations include; New York Times-bestseller (reaching its’ highest position “No. 6” in fiction category as-reported on October 6th, the year 1977). Coma was also included in Fiction category of “New York Times Most Outstanding Book of Year” listing (the forerunner to New York Times current “100-Notable Books of the Year” listing) where the “Best Book-of the Year” gets selected. Although not basically an official award, the book, Coma was called 1977’s “no. 1 thriller of year” by New York Times’ Book Review.

Coma was made to a successful feature-film (which was directed by doctor and author Michael Crichton), just like Sphinx, starring Lesley Anne Down & Frank Langella. Various other Cook’s books have been made to TV productions. In Dec. the year 1993 the CBS network aired Robin’s Harmful-Intent; in Nov. the year 1994, NBC network aired Mortal-Fear; In May of year 1995, NBC network aired Virus based-on Outbreak; & in Feb. of year 1996 NBC also aired Terminal. In the year 2008, a prequel of Robin’s then forthcoming book Foreign Body got produced as a 50 episode web series by Michael-Eisner Vuguru & Big Fantastic, creators of the Prom Queen. Finally, in addition to The Invasion, NBC has 2 other Cook’s books in production.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Robin Cook

6 Responses to “Robin Cook”

  1. Richard Bowhall: 3 months ago

    I love your book, especialy the Jack and Laurie series! I just finished reading Night Shift, loved it!
    Now I’m waiting for Manner of Death price to go down so I can afford it!😞
    Or wait for the paperback to come out.

  2. Ken Lucas: 7 years ago

    He is starting to write another book now.
    Its going to be called CHIMERA .
    I am reading Charlatans now, just started on it.
    Thanks for your reply Barbie.

  3. Ken Lucas: 7 years ago

    What is the name of the new book he is writing ?

    • Barbie Garrett: 7 years ago


  4. Bozo.: 8 years ago

    When is his next book coming out?

    • Graeme: 8 years ago

      He’s in the process of writing it just now. I’d expect it mid-2017.


Leave a Reply