Book Notification

Robin Jarvis Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dancing Jax Books

Publication Order of The Deptford Mice Books

The Dark Portal (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crystal Prison (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Final Reckoning (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Deptford Histories Books

The Alchemist's Cat (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Oaken Throne (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thomas (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Deptford Mouselets Books

Fleabee's Fortune (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Whortle's Hope (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ogmund's Gift (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Hagwood Trilogy Books

Thorn Ogres Of Hagwood (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Waters Of Hagwood (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
War in Hagwood (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Intrigues of the Reflected Realm Books

Publication Order of Tales from the Wyrd Museum Books

The Woven Path (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Raven's Knot (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fatal Strand (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Whitby Witches Books

The Whitby Witches (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Warlock in Whitby (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Whitby Child (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Witching Legacy Books

The Power of Dark (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Time of Blood (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Devil's Paintbox (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Legacy of Witches (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Robin Jarvis is a bestselling English illustrator and author who is best known for the “Deptford Mice” series of novels.

Most of his works are about small mammals and anthropomorphic rodents, particularly mice. Many of his novels are set in London in and around Whitby, Greenwich, and Deptford where he used to live.
The author was born in Liverpool and was born on a sofa three weeks late the youngest of four siblings.

From a very early age, he used to come up with characters that he would then draw onto sketch pads and then make stories to accompany those illustrations.

Robin would ultimately make use of that method in coming up with his novels as he made his characters first and then developed a story around them.

It was in 1988 that he began writing and in 1989 he published “The Dark Portal,” his debut novel and the first of the “Deptford Mice” series of novels.

Since that time, he has become a prolific author with more than two dozen works of fiction to his name across the “Deptford Mice,” “Whitby Witches,” and “Wyrd Museum” series among many others.

As for his early beginnings, Robin Jarvis spent much of his childhood in Warrington, where he attended Penketh High School.

While he was in high school, he loved English and Art and he would ultimately attend Northumbria University then known as Newcastle Polytechnic, where he studied graphic design.
During his time there, he discovered that he loved making monsters of latex more than he loved doing graphic design.

After graduating from college, he left Newcastle and moved to London where he got a job working in advertising and television industries making models.

He still loved making sketches and when one of his friends saw some mice sketches, he suggested that he submit them to a publisher. The publisher loved the sketches and asked him if he by any chance had written any stories for them.
It was at that time that he began writing “The Deptford Mice” series. He initially intended to only pen a single novel but since it was too long, the editor suggested he make it a trilogy.
His debut novel “The Dark Portal” was designated a Booklist Editors’ Choice and made the shortlist for the Nestle Smarties Book Prize in 1989.

She has since expanded the “Deptford Mice” universe with “The Deptford Mouselets” for younger children, “The Deptford Mice Almanack,” and the prequel trilogy “The Deptford Histories.”
He currently makes his home in the South London suburb of Greenwich.

“The Dark Portal” by Robin Jarvis is a novel that enthralled kids from the late 1980s and will still be a blast for kids in the modern era.

This is a novel that follows several anthropomorphic mice who make their home in a vacant house in Deptford.

They are relatively happy with their living situation and the only thing they hate is that in the cellars below their home is an old piece of ironwork known as “The Grill,” that leads into the sewers.
In the dank severs live some rabid and vicious rats who are led by Jupiter a dark god. The latter usually presents as a pair of red glowing eyes that look like they are burning out of a portal.
At the beginning of the novel, the father of two mouse children named Albert Brown has wandered into the sewer, as he has been supernaturally drawn into the dark enchantments inside there.
Unfortunately, he loses his life but his death becomes the trigger for much of what happens in the rest of the novel.
It all makes for an increasingly fascinating read that will have you on the edge of your seat.

Robin Jarvis’ novel “The Crystal Prison” is the second work of “The Deptford Mice” series of novels. In this outing, Audrey who was introduced in the first novel makes a deal with a mysterious Starwife.
She will be leaving for the countryside and will take alongside her Madam Akkikuyu a mad rat who will be exchanged for the Starwife and in the process save the life of a loved one.

The two of them leave alongside Twit their friend and Arthur her brother to go visit Twit’s family and live with the Fennywolde fieldmice.

Once they arrive in the countryside, they find it to be not as idyllic as they had hoped. The country mice do not like strangers but it is not long before they have to deal with an even greater evil.
Robin Jarvis does a great job making a society of fieldmice very different from that of the city in Deptford. While life is slower out in the country, the fieldmice have to deal with a lot more danger.
The field mice have to constantly post guards around their home which is very different from city mice whose danger only comes from outside their domain and only hurts those who actively seek it out.

“The Final Reckoning” by Robin Jarvis is a fascinating work of fiction that will have you intrigued.

In this outing, the malevolent cat is back from the dead and has some very bad intentions. The only people who could stop his evil plans of freezing the world by extinguishing the sun are the Deptford Mice.
The rodents, the bats and squirrels who are their allies, and wicked rats who are their enemies make their home in modern London.

Given that they live in the heart of the city, their epic battle will have far-reaching consequences since ships, parks, and buildings are the setting for what has to be one of the darkest animal fantasy works ever written.
It is work with a lot of action, a truly evil antihero, a large cast of characters, and lots of gore.

At the top of his game, Jarvis brings back villains long dead, kills half of our favorite characters and you will reach the halfway point without knowing what will come next.
All in all, it is an awesome work that will enthrall just about anyone.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Robin Jarvis

Leave a Reply