Book Notification

Robyn Schneider Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Emry Merlin Books

The Other Merlin (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Future King (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The New Camelot (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Better Than Yesterday (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Beginning of Everything (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Severed Heads, Broken Hearts (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Extraordinary Means (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Invisible Ghosts (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Don't Live Here (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Social Climber's Guide to High School (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

Robyn Schneider is a young adult romance author best known for her novel “The Beginning of Everything.” The novel has gone on to receive tons of starred reviews, made several state reading lists and has been translated and published in different languages across a dozen countries. Robyn studied creative writing at Columbia University though she had previously graduated with a Masters in Bioethics from the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania. While “Extraordinary Means” was her breakout novel she has written several other novels including her 2007 debut “Better Than Yesterday.” She asserts that she has been influenced by the great authors of the classics such as Donna Tartt, JD Salinger, and F. Scott Fitzgerald. She has also been fascinated by books that tackle themes of the longings and fears of previous generations that she then compares with those of her generations. Schneider also finds inspiration from television scriptwriters such as the creator of “The OC” Josh Schwartz and the creator the “Gilmore Girls” Amy Sherman-Palladino. She currently lives with her husband and children in Los Angeles California.

Schneider believes that most good things that have happened to her came to her while she was in the airport. As a thirteen-year-old on vacation, she was given a copy of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. By the time the family landed, she was done with the book and was hooked into reading and writing. She looked forward to becoming a famous novelist just like J.K Rowling her new hero. Schneider spent the following year working and begging for money from relatives hoping to buy a laptop but, in the meantime, writing her stories in notebooks. As a high schooler, she joined a writing critique group where she learned how to write novels. By the time she was eighteen, she had sold her debut novel “Better Than Yesterday” to Random House. But the expected big breakout never came as the debut was not a commercial success with her publishing house canceling two of her other deals. Since she was at that time a junior studying English, she panicked and thought she did not have it in her to write. She switched and decided to study Pre-Med, which she believed was a more viable career choice. Nonetheless, he continued writing and would sneak off to the local coffee shop while still studying at the University of Pennsylvania school of medicine. It was during this time that Schneider penned “The Beginning of Everything.” She soon had an agent who helped her sell the novel at auction in less than a week. With success coming seemingly out of nowhere, she stopped her medical studies after getting a masters and moved to Angeles hoping to make it big as an author. She has never looked back since.

Robyn Schneider’s “Better Than Yesterday” is the story of Blake, Skylar, Charley, and Marissa who are seventeen-year-old friends. The novel is set in the summer before the friends embark on their senior year in high school, where they are to attend the Hilliard Preparatory School. In their freshman year, they had spent the summer sessions inseparable, and they hope to create such times. However, things are not the same as Skylar is regretting learning about love from Kyle who is the older brother to her best friend Blake. The fling with Kyle had not been good for her reputation. What nobody knew was that Charley had always crushed on Skylar but since he thought she was with Blake, he had never voiced his desire to have a romantic relationship. In the meantime, Blake is in shock after receiving the news that the family lost its fortune. Skylar’s conservative roommate Marissa is willing to risk everything to save another. It is a great learning experience for all the girls as they learn about the bonds of friendship and real love. They discover what it means to have the confidence to stand up for one’s convictions even if it means defying the dreams and wishes of parents and family. Despite their often unwise and crazy escapades, there are a lot of positive lessons to be gleaned from the story.

Schneider’s “The Beginning of Everything” is the thrilling narrative of Ezra Faulkner. He is the epitome of a parent’s wet dream until he loses everything. He is the most popular student in school, is a star tennis player, is doing well in his studies, and has the most beautiful girl as a girlfriend. But everything comes crashing down when he gets into an accident in a fit of rage after walking in on his girlfriend being unfaithful to him. In an instant, he shattered his knee and his dreams even as his friends cannot seem to wrap their heads around the fact that he is a different person. He can no longer play tennis or participate in their partying and pranking. To make matters worse, his ex-girlfriend had moved on to one of his best friends. He thought things could not get more complicated until he met Cassidy the mysterious new girl. She introduces him to a new he never knew existed as he plunges into debating, school work and rekindles, and old friends. He thinks himself lucky to have Cassidy help him cope with the accident by taking him along on her endless adventures. But it is only a matter of time before he discovers that life is all about living one’s own lie rather than to the expectations set by others.

“Extraordinary Means” by Robyn Schneider is a story set in Latham House. The house provides something of a morbid summer camp, where the sick can go for some good time to help them get better. The story is told from alternating points of view as the author first introduces Lane who is working towards his life long goal of getting admitted to an Ivy League school. He is a straight-A student but when he is sent to Latham, he risks losing his good grades that he has worked so hard to attain. It is incredibly heartbreaking to see him discover that he was never going to have the perfect future he was working for but still, it was the opportunity for him to explore other opportunities in life. Throughout the story, he experiences incredible character growth though there are also many sad moments even though he is not one to let them get to him or slow him down. He learns a lot from his troubles but also has the chance to live a life he never expected he would. On the other hand is Sadie, who has been a resident of Latham so long that she believes she will never go home. Moreover, she does not want to go home as she is not getting better and she is finally fitting in with the rest of the inmates. Together with her friends, they intend to make the best of their time in Latham though they break the rules, sneak out and take a lot of risks in their endeavor.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Robyn Schneider

Leave a Reply