Book Notification

Roderick Gordon and Brian Williams Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Tunnels Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Highfield Mole (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Summerhouse Land (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Roderick Gordon was born in the year 1960 and grew up and went to university in London. Until the year 2001, he worked in the field of corporate finance in the City. Working this job, he thought this was all the future had in store for him, until he was made redundant.

During his time at university, he dabbled in the field of genetics and listened to Joy Division. After he graduated, having zero idea what he wanted to do for the rest of his life, he spent time out in the wilderness when he played in some bands.

He counts many poets and writers among his ancestors, some of which include Philip Doddridge, RD Blackmore, and Matthew Arnold. There is also Frank and William Buckland, two paleontologists and celebrated eccentrics.

Gordon surprised himself, penning a book with help from Brian Williams, an old friend from university, and they self-published it as “The Highfield Mole” in 2005. In 2007, the book was republished as “Tunnels” after some editing.

The novel was a New York Times Bestseller, and published in close to forty countries.

Brian Williams grew up in Zambia before moving off to Liverpool with his family during the seventies. He went to the Slade School of Fine Art, and after he graduated still paints, writes and makes films, which encompasses his own movies, and working as an art director and actor for some UK productions. He lives in Hackney with his invisible dog.

In his teenage years, he engaged in his three main passions: high-speed car chases, amateur boxing, and experimental art. After this, he went to The Slade School during the early eighties, and bizarrely earned the title of “A dynamic group of performance artists”. The fire brigade had to be called out, bringing a premature end to one of his more inflammatory installations. He was given advice to see the intervention as part of his piece.

The two writers write young adult fiction together. They write the “Tunnels” series.

“Tunnels” is the first novel in the “Tunnels” series, which was released in the year 2007. Will Burrows, age fourteen, does not have very much in common with his odd, dysfunctional family. Matter of fact, the only bond he has with his eccentric dad is a passion they both share for archaeological excavation.

His dad mysteriously disappears, and Will is compelled to go dig up the truth behind his vanishing. He uncovers the unbelievable: one subterranean society forgotten by time. “The Colony” has existed for an entire century unchanged, but it is not a benign time capsule from a bygone era. The colony is ruled by the Styx, a merciless overclass. Will has to free his father, could he also be close to igniting a revolution?

This is a scary and violent read that keeps you on the edge of your seat from the suspense. The book is gorgeously written and has an ending that messes with your mind. Even though these are young adult books, any one, regardless of age, can pick these books up and enjoy them.

“Deeper” is the second novel in the “Tunnels” series, which was released in the year 2008. Will is now wandering the hot, dark bowels under the Colony with his best buddy Chester and his brother Cal, Will comes across the Styx’s evil plan to exterminate all of the Topsoilers by unleashing a deadly plague. Slowly but surely, he starts to piece together the plot. How can Will save all of the Topsoilers from being annihilated when his life is at risk, too. And his his murdering stepsister is still at large?

The book keeps you engaged for every single one of its pages. Some like the book because it is not like any other young adult book out there. It is a far more grim and realistic world these authors have created.

“FreeFall” is the third novel in the “Tunnels” series, which was released in the year 2009. Will and Chester have been sent into FreeFall. They are tumbling down through the subterranean Pore with the evil Rebecca twins hot on their trail, both carrying vials of the lethal Dominion virus. Where, when, will are they ever going to land?!

Right when the drop seems infinite, the boys hit the bottom. And find they are in a realm of almost zero gravity on top a giant fungus that is stuffed with some artifacts that come from a lost golden age. They aren’t alone. Above ground, black clad Styx are sprouting just like poison mushrooms, determined to spread their plague.

These authors do a fantastic job of reopening our minds as to what could potentially lie beneath our feet. The book does a great job of continuing the story started in the first two books. New discoveries and explorations keep you floating along with Will and his buddies. Fascination in the subterranean world increased with each turn of the page.

“Closer” is the fourth novel in the “Tunnels” series, which was released in the year 2010. Will thinks he is safe at the very center of the Earth, in a world that no one even knows exists. His foe, the Styx, are right behind him. They will follow him right to the ends of any world. After getting revenge, there is Dominion, which is their original plan to destroy mankind.

On top-soil, unexpected allies are getting ready to fight back. While they uncover secrets of the Styx, are they any closer to winning or getting killed?

The books feature strong description and vocabulary, allowing the reader to continue to learn new words in the books. This is another roller coaster ride, and it seems that these books are getting better with each book.

“Spiral” is the fifth novel in the “Tunnels” series, which was released in the year 2011. If you thought the Limiters were a nasty bunch, think again. They have brought their women with them. Will and his friends are all that stands in their way, as well as a rag-bag group of retired commandos. The whole thing is a smoking spiral of chaos that not everybody will make it out alive from.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Roderick Gordon and Brian Williams

Leave a Reply