Book Notification

Roger Brook Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Roger Brook Books

The Launching of Roger Brook (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shadow of Tyburn Tree (1948)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rising Storm (1949)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Man Who Killed the King (1951)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark Secret of Josephine (1955)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rape of Venice (1959)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sultan's Daughter (1963)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wanton Princess (1966)Description / Buy at Amazon
Evil in a Mask (1969)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ravishing of Lady Mary Ware (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Irish Witch (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
Desperate Measures (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Roger Brook series is a series of historical fiction novels written by one of the famous British novelist named Dennis Wheatley. The series consists of a total of 12 books published between the years 1947 and 1974. All the novels of the series feature the fictional character of Roger Brook as a secret agent and a gallant of the Napoleonic Wars Era. Later in the series, he goes on to be recognized as the Chevalier de Breuc. The novels of the series are set around 12 years before the beginning of the French Revolution up to the fall of the Napoleon, and are historically accurate. Author Dennis Wheatley has written the Roger Brook series from the point of view of aide de camp to the Napoleon himself.

Dennis had written the books of this series as a consequence of being a member of the Joint Planning Staff of Winston Churchill during the time of the Second World War. At that time, Author Dennis Wheatley had gathered a vast knowledge about the distinctive matters related to the politics and war. However, he was not allowed to make use of the knowledge in any of his books because of an act named Official Secrets Act. After discussing the matter with Kenneth Collier, an Air Commodore, author Dennis Was suggested by him to set the stories in the Napoleonic times. Hence, he began collecting information about the accurate historical details of the Napoleonic era. He used his extensive experience and wartime knowledge to complete the books of this series. Finally, after completing the writing work the last novel of the Roger Brook series, author Dennis Wheatley took retirement from fictional writing.

The first novel of the Roger Brook series written by author Dennis Wheatley was published under the title ‘The Launching of Roger Brook’. It was first released in the year 1947 and was re-released by the Gainsborough Press publishing house in the year 1996. The plot of the novel is set during the time between the years 1783 and 1787 and deals with the happenings in the life of the main character named Roger Brook, along with several others such as Prime Minister Pitt, Georgina Thursby and Athenais de Rochambleau. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, it is shown that Roger Brook makes his way in becoming the most resourceful secret agent of Prime Minister Pitt. During the time of the year 1783, the era in which the scene of the France of Marie Antoinette and the England of King George III is depicted. Roger Brook is introduced during this time as having a blue eyed and tall personality, and sets out to earn fame and fortune or himself. As the plot of the novel progresses, it is learned tat Roger Brook might not have set out at all ever if it not have been for the ravishing and wicked creature named Georgina Thursy. Also, if it not had been for the help from the fair Rochambleau, Roger Brook might never have been able to get involved in the secret foreign policies of the French government. But, as he sets out on his way, he provides an immense amount of entertainment adventures for the readers.

The second novel of the Roger Brook series was published in the year 1948 under the title ‘The Shadow of Tyburn Tree’. It was later published again in the year 1976 by the Arrow publishing house. The plot of this novel is set in the time between the years 1787 and 1789, and continues to revolve around the happenings in the life of the secret agent named Roger Brook as well as that of a few others named Catherine, Prime Minister Pitt, Queen Matilda, King Gustavus, and Georgina Thursby. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, it is depicted that Roger Brook continues to work as the most resourceful undercover secret agent of Prime Minister Pitt. He is asked by Prime Minister Pitt to go on a secret mission. The mission involves Roger Brook to go to Russia, which was then ruled by the licentious and beautiful woman named Catherine the Great. When she sees Roger Brook for the first time, she begins to fall for his charm. She chooses him to become her lover and forces him to remain so for as long as she wishes him to be. Due to this, Roger Brook is compelled to take his next steps with great care. The situation would become immensely dangerous for him if anyone comes to know that he was spying for two countries at the same time and that he was playing the game of love with another lady named Natalia, who was as vicious and sadistic as Catherine.

Roger Brook was very well aware of the fact if any of the ladies came to know about the secret game of affairs that he was playing with them, he would certainly meet his death in the strange country. The mission becomes even more dangerous for Roger Brook when he realizes that his own secret organization will not be able to help in the country of Russia if he lands in the smallest of troubles because of his activities. In the later parts of the series, it is shown that the story of the secret activities of Roger Brook moves to Denmark, where he gets involved in helping Queen Matilda in trying to get over the tragedy of her life. After that, he goes to Sweden to help King Gustavus in an amazing ride to save Gothenburg. Finally, Roger Brook comes back to England, where he returns to meet the great love of his life named Georgina Thursby. Just like the first novel of the series, this novel too was very well appreciated by the readers. They praised author Dennis Wheatley for the way he depicted the unique and colorful characters of the novel. Author Dennis Wheatley was also praised by the critics and his fellow writers at that time for his excellent style of writing. The success of the novel helped author Wheatley to receive enormous encouragement and motivation, which helped him to write the further novels of the series in the similar exciting manner.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Roger Brook

One Response to “Roger Brook”

  1. Joe Majury: 1 year ago

    Having read the series of Gregory Sallust and the Duke De Richeleau also by Dennis Wheatley, totally out of sequence, due to having them listed out of order on other sites, I look forward to reading this series IN ORDER. I like to do my research before reading a series but I was totally thrown by the mis-information that is out there. I read all of Wheatleys books when I was in my early 20’s, I’m now 70, and just got the urge to read them all again. Thanks for the list.


Leave a Reply