Book Notification

Roger Maxim Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Long Gray Target Books

The Long Gray Target (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadow on the Sea (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fangs of the Wolf (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sun Sets Westward (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
After The Guns Are Silenced (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
WOODSIDE Returns (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Asian STALEMATE (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Watson Saga Books

Aluminum Rain (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mosquito Bites (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Legend of White 19 (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Red Flight, Break! (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pacific on Fire (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Roger Maxim has always been interested in the history of World War II after growing up listening to his father’s war stories. While serving in the military, he visited famous historic sites like the Philippines, Pearl Harbor, and Japan.

Most of his stories revolve around aviation as he tries to recall his memories of looking at and seeing an airplane magically pass. His main goal is to entertain his fans while teaching them the historical details.

Aluminum Rain
Aluminum Rain is the debut in the Watson Saga series. Roger Maxim has written a World War II Pacific action-adventure that opens up with a young naval officer graduating from college and looking forward to joining the USN to become a naval aviator.

Dave Watson joins combat as a U.S Navy ensign during a mission in the dangerous skies over the Pacific during World War II. He arrives for the training, and upon completion, he’s assigned carrier in the southern west side of Pacific.

Watson climbs into the cockpit of the plane fighter while preparing to get from the deck of an carrier.

After leaving his hometown, he discovers that he’s the newest member of the massive aircraft and barely knows the names of his squad members. He realizes he has just arrived at a time of the most significant battles of the pacific air battles.

Watson meets a lot of enemy fighters at a time when he’s still dealing with his fears and uncertainties. He quickly discovers that the actual combat keeps on becoming potentially lethal on-the-job training despite his top-notch training.

The author lets the reader experience the air battles through Dave Watson’s eyes in the story. Roger Maxim throws in some excitement in the various turns of the story. Be sure to get the World War II aviation actions at their best.

Aluminum Rain is a well-written story in a military opera where the main characters are interesting and well developed. Roger Maxim has done an excellent job of researching history to give correct details. The story is fast-paced and will leave the reader wanting to learn more. The storyline and the characters are all realistic and well crafted.

The descriptions of the flying actions seem realistic enough for the story.

Red Flight Break
The novel is a gripping fright over Europe during World War II. It follows the story of Thomas Peters right from his graduation to the fatal skies above Europe during World War II. The story is told from Tom’s point of view as he shares his transformation right from being a college boy to advancing into a qualified fighter pilot.

Thomas is so keen to learn from the best Luftwaffe has to offer. Thomas gets both excitement and surprise while getting the best experience. He also experiences the worst, the ruthless enemy and his military.

Be sure to go on the journey with Tom as he ranges from a patient flight instructor to a psycho. The author allows the reader to join in the shocking realization of what war means. Tom and his mates face the heartbreak and devastation they never thought of before.

Becoming the high-speed fighter escort for the increasing number of eight air bombers places him at the center of the critical transformation air war period. He’s an American pilot trained as a combat fighter in military and civilian environments. After he begins becoming successful, Watson is sent to England to join the fighters in the war with his fellow officers and some enlisted men and ladies.

Red Flight is a great story that takes the reader through the inner stories of the war in London and the hazards involved in the attacks. There’s some hidden emotional battle between the allies as the American Military gets along with the Brits as it joins the war. War is not only experienced by those in the military but also the civilian citizens.

Even though the story is fiction, its history is so real. Roger Maxim has crafted military aviation with action and adventure that happened during World War II around London, England. The author’s insight into the challenges people faced during the battle added more flesh to the story.

Using a retired army officer and the son of a retired navy pilot as the protagonist makes the novel more interesting, with the characters being more authentic. Maxim lets the reader learn through the horror, history, and the glory of the period of World War II.

The story flows so well that you feel like not putting the book down.

Mosquito Bites
Mosquito Bites is the second in the Watson Saga series. A U.S Navy Lieutenant, Dave Watson, is an experienced fighter pilot after surviving the pacific war. However, he’s left wounded after the great Marianas Turkey shoot, which forced him to return to the naval hospital located in San Diego for treatment and recovery.

He meets his old friend in the hospital, who means a lot to him. While Dave is healing his body, he keeps on losing his heart, and once he goes back to the pilot duties, he receives the eagerly waiting orders.

He’s so surprised after realizing that the new orders are far from what he expected. Be ready to follow Dave up as he gets a strange turn of events that later gives him new friends, a new danger, and new experiences.

The story is so touching that you wouldn’t think of putting the book down once you start. In this new installment, you meet the air warrior some weeks after physical training after his injury. Once he gets better, he asks for permission to fly a spitfire, and Hawker, after which he flies the Mosquito.

The story ranges from the actions in the Pacific to medical Angels who take care of the novel’s hero to a developing romance in San Diego. A Mosquito Bite is a wonderful story about an amazing airplane flown by the British during World War II.

It’s more of a love story than a war story, and be sure to get hooked right from the beginning. The story also involves the aerial excitement and surprises in the lethal skies of World War II.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Roger Maxim

2 Responses to “Roger Maxim”

  1. Steve Mathis: 1 year ago

    Dear Sir, I have enjoyed reading your Navy Destroyer Series and the two Red Flight Break series. Will you be publishing Alluminium Rain, The Legend Of White and Mosquito Bites in Paperback format. I cannot read the books on the current formats.

    Kind regards

    Steve Mathis

    Ex Royal Navy Veteran

  2. JohnB: 1 year ago

    I found this author and his works to be intreging.
    He is well versed in most things aeronautical, naval,and Army to be credibly fluent and able to tell , to this audience, a credible tale or ten.
    His insight into female emotions was interesting and , to me , suggested he co-authored these works with an unacknowleged female collaborator.
    No matter, it changed the pace of the novelsand did not detract from my readers enjoyment.
    I shall continue to purchase this author’s work via Amazon, until either of us is exhausted.


Leave a Reply