Book Notification

Roger R.N. Morris Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Porfiry Petrovich Books

A Gentle Axe (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Vengeful Longing (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Razor Wrapped in Silk (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cleansing Flames (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Silas Quinn Books

Summon Up The Blood (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mannequin House (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark Palace (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Red Hand of Fury (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The White Feather Killer (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Music Box Enigma (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Taking Comfort (As: Roger Morris) (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Psychotopia (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fortune's Hand: The Triumph and Tragedy of Walter Raleigh (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Roger R.N. Morris is an English author as well as a copywriter for advertising. His real biological name is Roger N. Morris. Morris’s fiction and short stories have been published in a variety of literary publications as well as different mainstream publications.

His short story The Devil’s Drum appeared in Darkness Rising, a horror anthology. It has been transformed into an opera. It is performed on the South Bank in London in the Purcell Room by the Solaris Musical Theatre Company.

He was born in Manchester on January 1, 1960. He also goes by the pen name of Roger Morris. He first became a published author in 2006 with the publication of his full length novel, which is titled Taking Comfort.

This compelling first novel is read friendly and totally unique, exploring the interaction between comfort and discomfort in today’s modern society as well as how we take refuge in things such as products as a buffer between a world full of random nature and tragedy that we can barely control. The main character in this book starts to fracture over a few days and when bad things keep happening, he must try to take comfort where he can or face up to the problem (a murderer with a hammer in the area) once and for all.

Morris is the author of the Porfiry Petrovich fictional series of novels. The series kicked off in 2007 with the publication of the first book in the series, titled The Gentle Axe. It was followed a year later by the sequel, which is titled A Vengeful Longing. There are two more books in the series. The fourth was released in 2011 and is titled The Cleansing Flames. Porfiry Petrovich is a police inspector with a knack for not only solving murder cases, but attracting them too.

The Gentle Axe is the first book in the Porfiry Petrovich series. The setting is 1866 in St. Petersburg, Russia. The time is just shortly before Christmas, and now this police investigator is taking on a murder case that is more challenging than ever. This case may even be more complex than the one in Crime and Punishment, and this case shares a number of dark parallels.

The implications are already very dark, and Petrovich is concerned. When an old woman is walking through the park one early and cold morning, she finds a horrible discovery. She just wanted firewood, but now she has to deal with something that she will see forever: a body twisting in the wind from a tree limb.

He has a rope around his neck and an axe with blood on it in his belt. That’s not all. The burly peasant hanging from the tree has a suitcase packed nearby with the corpse of a dwarf inside. He has sustained a deep wound from an axe that has effectively and horrifically cleaved his skull in two. The investigator is known for being good at his job, but the crime scene for this job is as confusing as it is troubling.

Petrovich is still recovering from a past case that focuses on the student Raskolnikov. He thinks that maybe the truth in this case might be complex and more difficult than a crime scene might tell him about. When so many paths are leading him to the same place– a house of prostitution and a porn ring– it seems like the further he gets, the deeper he seems to be in.

The investigation leads him to believe that there may be some powerful people that don’t want him to get very far. He conducts an investigation that takes him to the deepest and shadiest parts of the city, from the brothels to squalid tenements to drinking dens in the Haymarket district and more. As the connections start to add up and he gets increasingly intrigued as well as anxious about what he’s discovering, it’s time for Petrovich to find out who this killer is once and for all.

This murder mystery meets crime novel is set in the past and absolutely involving. This book is both atmospheric and packed with thrills and suspense every step of the way. If you’re looking for a great mystery novel that might even keep you up at night because you’re so involved, this is the one to check out. Can the investigator crack this case and save the citizens of St. Petersburg? You’ll have to read it to find out.

A Vengeful Longing is the second book in R.N. Morris’s Porfiry Petrovich series. In this novel, readers are reunited once more with the best detective investigator in Russia. The talent and the experience that Petrovich has make this police man a detective unlike any other.

Set in the nineteenth century, this man never fails to attract the most interesting of murder cases. These novels are rivaling the best in the crime genre, so you need to check them out if you want to get every inch of historical detail and all of the action for yourself.

When a woman and her son are killed, a box of chocolates is found to be responsible. The box of chocolates were delivered by her doctor husband, but they contained a poison within that would have caused an agonizing death. Of course, her husband is the main suspect in the case. Now it is up to Petrovich and his novice pupil Virginsky to find out the truth.

Just when the people in this city thought that they were safe, the citizens of the area once more have reason to fear for their lives. Russia in the nineteenth century is brought to life in totality, and the intrigue of an ongoing murder investigation will keep readers turning the pages long into the night.

This work of modern crime and murder mystery of fiction is worth a read for sure, but can the main character solve the murder and capture the killer? One thing’s for certain: Russia’s best investigator is about to work overtime. Pick up A Vengeful Longing by the expert author R.N. Morris in order to finally find out for yourself!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Roger R.N. Morris

Leave a Reply