Book Notification

Roger Taylor Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Chronicles of Hawklan Books

The Call of the Sword (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fall of Fyorlund (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Waking of Orthlund (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Into Narsindal (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Return of the Sword (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Chronicles of Hawklan Sequel Books

Publication Order of Nightfall Books

Publication Order of RogerTaylor Standalone Novels

Publication Order of RogerTaylor Non-Fiction Books

Aikido - More than a Martial Art (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Roger Taylor was born in Heywood, Lancashire in the year 1938, and lives in Wirral. Taylor writes both fantasy novels and non fiction. He shoots rifles, pistols, and shotguns, and is enthusiastic about playing the piano (although he is a bit inaccurate at it). He is also chartered to be a civil and structural engineer, and is both a student and instructor of aikido.

Between the years 1983 and 1986, he wrote a total of four books and was able to get a pretty big file of rejections. The third was finally bought and became the opening two books in his “Chronicles of Hawklan” series. These two books were published in 1988 (“The Call of the Sword”) and 1989 (“The Fall of Fyorlund”) respectively, and serve as his breakthrough in fiction.

“The Call of the Sword” is the first novel in the “Chronicles of Hawklan” series and was released in the year 1988. The castle of Anderras has just been sitting all majestic and abandoned since everyone can remember. Hawklan (a healer) comes out of the mountains with no memory of the past. He has come to take possession of the keep along with the only companion he came with, named Gavor.

Narsindalvak is a great fortress that stands on the other side of the country and is a constant reminder of the big victory that was won with help from Ethriss. He had help from the alliances he had with Riddin, Orthlund, and Fyorlund against Sumeral (a dark lord) centuries ago. Rgoric, who is an ill king of Fyorlund, has fallen under Lord Dan-Tor’s evil influence, and there are rumors coming from a bleak place known as Narsindal. Mandrocs, rumor has it, are abroad once more and the Dark Lord may be coming back. In Anderras Darion, Hawklan senses deep in his body some ancient power which is unknown but somehow familiar calling to him. It would seem to be a call to arms.

There is some good writing in this book, say some readers, and like how the story pulls them right in, right from the beginning and never lets them go. Fans of the novel found this to be well written and the story and the characters have been built wonderfully. The novel does a great job setting up the story and people in it. Some are able to read the book pretty quickly, despite it not having that fast of a pace to it.

“The Fall of Fyorlund” is the second novel in the “Chronicles of Hawklan” series and was released in the year 1989. A darkness that comes from ancient times is spreading itself all over the land of Fyorlund. It is making the Great Harmony of Orthlund rancid too. Ill King Rgoric has imprisoned four respected and much loved lords; including Hreldar, Eldric, Arinndier, and Darek. He has also suspended Geadrol’s ancient ruling council, and formed his own High Guard, putting unruly and overall violent men in it. More Mandrocs have been seen in Orthlund.

Maleficent Lord Dan-Tor, adviser for the king, is at the center of all of this corruption. He is determined to destroy the peace that Ethriss and the Guardians fought so hard for many years back. The plan is once the peace is off, to give the land to Sumeral, the Dark Lord.

The people look to Hawlan to confront Dan-Tor here, but is he really a soldier or a healer? Deep inside, he feels an ancient power in him, and when someone threatens him, he fights like a warrior. He knows that he has to face Dan-Tor before the land falls until the end of time to the coming and eternal night.

Another well written novel that was well thought out. It serves as an awesome follow up to a strong novel that kicked this series off. Fans of the novel found that this had quite a strong ending to it. Some felt hooked on what was going on, feeling they needed to find out what happened next in the story.

“The Waking of Orthlund” is the third novel in the “Chronicles of Hawklan” series and was released in the year 1989. The town of Fyorlund has fallen. Vakloss has felt Lord Dan-Tor’s Power as King Rgoric is dead, after being killed by Dan-Tor himself. Dan-Tor is also the master of Fyorlund and is ready to set loose Sumeral’s power on the lands.

He has been injured by an arrow from Hawklan, and it means that not all of their hope is gone, swallowed by Darkness. Sylvriss (who is Rgoric’s Queen) escaped the ruined City to get the Lords in exile rallied. Orthlund (which is peaceful place) is relearning all about the art of war. Sumeral’s ancient foes in the East remember all of their vows.

All of them look to Hawklan to lead them. Since he faced Dan-Tor the last time, he has been in a coma; walking around a world that no one can call him back from. There is an ancient race in the mountains that is stirring, but no one knows which side it is on.

This series is for fans of good action yarns and like how Robert E. Howard writes. Fans of the novel found this to be just as well written as the other two books in the series. It is obvious that this one sets up the final showdown between the good guy and bad guy. Roger Taylor obviously thought this world out quite well and wrote some interesting characters to boot.

“Into Narsindal” is the fourth novel in the “Chronicles of Hawklan” series and was released in the year 1990. Dan-Tor has been pushed out of Fyorlund, and retreated back to Narsindal, where his master, Sumeral is. Hawklan and allies have only gotten breathing room and nothing more, because Dan-Tor gathers his forces to bring slaughter upon the free lands.

The free people have to join forces, even peaceful Orthlund, just to stand against Sumeral and his dark forces. Dwellers of the air and those that live under the mountains have to do their part too. It is a brave alliance, but Sumeral has powerful forces that it only delays the hour of the free people’s defeat.

Hawklan and Gavor (the raven) have a lonely road ahead, one that they do not what is coming. They have to face Sumeral, and find out the secret that lies deep inside of Hawklan’s very soul.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Roger Taylor

Leave a Reply