Book Notification

Rogue Submarine Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Rogue Submarine Books

Author John R. Monteith pens the “Rogue Submarine” series that stars Jake Slate, who is a former naval officer.

Monteith brings his service in the US Navy, where he served on a nuclear ballistic missile submarine, to write these books.

The books are titled in alphabetical order for easy reference. Each of the books is written to be enjoyed as a stand alone read, despite being best read in sequence.

“Rogue Avenger” is the first novel in the “Rogue Submarine” series, which was released in the year 2005. The accident changed it all. One moment, Lieutenant Jake Slate was just going about his duties on the USS Colorado (a ballistic missile submarine). The next thing he knew he was sprawled on the deck plates in a growing puddle of blood and hydraulic fluid. It was actually the rescue effort, not the injury that wrecked his life and made his military career doomed.

Now Jake gets thrown to the wolves so that the misdeeds of a superior officer can be covered up. Jake is not one to care about playing the sacrificial lamb.

He is unsure of what is next for him and blinded by his rage, and finds himself in the middle of a treacherous plot to steal the Colorado and sell off the nuclear warheads to some foreign power. Jake is now unsure of who he can trust. Or what his future holds. Only one thing is certain for him. He is going to have his revenge.

Fans of the novel find John R. Monteith has a strong imagination and is able to break the mould of common thrillers. He is able to build characters, and it is nice to see Jake’s motivations and roots throughout the book. There is non stop action the entire time, even as the characters themselves are growing. Some are instant fans of this series and will return for more excellent stories.

“Rogue Betrayer” is the second novel in the “Rogue Submarine” series, which was released in the year 2007. A rogue Pakistani sub commander that is bent on nuclear destruction. A betrayed CIA operative who has started doubting her own loyalties. A Chinese blockade of Taiwan. The stage has been set for global catastrophe and genocide.

Jake Slate is still wanted after a US ballistic missile submarine was stolen. He finds himself back in the action. He is partnered with Pierre Renard (an international arms dealer), and they must help apprehend a madman before he is able to set off a nuclear war. The chase has officially begun.

Fans of the novel find that John Monteith is able to put in enough technical information and still pen some incredible books. He combines characters, plot, and action to make for a highly entertaining read. This is full of intrigue and nail biting tension that keeps you wondering what is going to happen next.

“Rogue Crusader” is the third novel in the “Rogue Submarine” series, which was released in the year 2010. An unprovoked attack on a US Navy destroyer. A stolen Israeli submarine. A civilian oil tanker that’s got a secret cargo of nuclear weapons. Altogether, it makes for an ingenious plan to infiltrate the United States’ ballistic missile defenses.

The only defense America has is a group of mercenary submarine sailors that is led by Jake Slate, an ex-US naval officer. Slate is far from anybody’s idea of a hero, as he was exiled for some crimes that should have gotten him a military execution. He is all we have though.

Fans of the novel find these books to be highly consistent each time. The book is made authentic with the accurate details Monteith incorporates into the story from his years as a submariner. Coupled with stellar character development and you have another excellent story that holds your attention from the start until the end.

“Rogue Defender” is the fourth novel in the “Rogue Submarine” series, which was released in the year 2013. North Korea has crossed into the Demilitarized Zone, and the United States has been hit by some electromagnetic pulse attacks. The Middle East is falling apart. Has Armageddon actually begun or is there some mortal puppet master pulling everyone’s strings?

Whatever the answer is, the US military is far too overwhelmed by global events to keep protecting Taiwan. Chinese troops have gotten on a foothold in Taiwan, and the little island nation has no allies left to help her.

Fans of the novel found that these books are full of technical facts that is combined with some clever storytelling. The book has a swift pace that keeps you engaged from the start until the end.

“Rogue Enforcer” is the fifth novel in the “Rogue Submarine” series, which was released in the year 2014. Jake Slate is currently sliding downward into rage, alcohol, and self-pity. Ten years as a mercenary submarine commander has made him bitter, weary, and simply disgusted with the entire world. A drunken brawl leaves the person he was fighting dead in a seedy bar’s parking lot, and Jake has to run away. From it all: his crime, country, and himself.

Pierre Renard, international arms dealer, sees Jake’s problems as a good thing. Renard is plotting to start a war against a military power from a major European country. What he needs is for Jake Slate to light the fuse for him.

This is another wonderful story for this series, that once again combines action, deception, politics, and intrigue to make for an awesome read.

“Rogue Fortress” is the sixth novel in the “Rogue Submarine” series, which was released in the year 2015. A military tries to get control of the fourth richest oil fields on the planet. An highly clever commando assault against a snorkeling diesel sub. A high tech fortress that is armed with the best rail guns and point defense weapons that allow it to have mastery of the sea in over one hundred miles in every direction.

In the middle of all of this, is Jake Slate, looking desperately for just one more military victory. Behind the scenes, Renard is still pulling the strings like the puppet master he is. On a planet with dwindling fuel sources, the world’s fight for oil has just gotten started.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Rogue Submarine

Leave a Reply