Book Notification

Rohinton Mistry Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Such a Long Journey (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fine Balance (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Family Matters (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Tales from Firozsha Baag (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Swimming Lessons (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Scream (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The New Oxford Book of Canadian Short Stories(1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
From Ink Lake(1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rotten English: A Literary Anthology(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Scotiabank Giller Prize 15 Years: An Anthology of Prize-Winning Canadian Fiction.(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Freedom(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Rohinton Mistry

The Canadian writer Rohinton Mistry is well known for his unique and intricate style of writing that’s immediately arresting to the reader. Largely focusing on literature that draws from his Indian cultural heritage, Rohinton has a way with words that fully draws the audience in. It’s proven to be hugely successful as well, seeing him become world renowned for many, leading to him making a name for himself with readers far and wide. There’s a lot of underlying themes and ideas prevalent throughout his novels that really stands out, as it’s both engaging and entertaining in equal measure.

Known for his sense of realism, he really lets his writing speak for itself, often looking at the Parsis, and their influence on modern society. This has given his work a completely different and often overlooked perspective, bringing his ideas to a mainstream audience. He’s definitely got a lot to say, as he really makes the most of his material and each of his ideas, getting a lot out of them. The stories themselves are expertly paced, moving along with a real sense of style, keeping the reader guessing the whole way.

His characters are also very well established too, as they essentially leap off of the page for the reader, speaking almost directly. Leaving an impression on the audience, they stay with them long after they’ve put the book down, along with the underlying message as well. Winning numerous awards, he’s also not without critical acclaim either, as his many peers and contemporaries alike sing his praises. With a lot more to follow in the years to come, he isn’t finishing up any time soon either, as his writing career continues upwards and onwards.

Early and Personal Life

Born in 1952 on the 3rd of July, Rohinton Mistry was born and raised in Bombay, India, where he would grow up. His family were Parsi, and his brother was also the famous writer and playwright Cyrus Mistry, as they would grow up surrounded by literature. Earning a BA in Mathematics and Economics, he would attend St. Xavier’s College in Bombay, which he’d graduate from later.

Emigrating to Canada in 1975, he would move with his wife Freny Elavia, and he would go on to work in a bank there. Following this he’d go back into academia, this time attending at the University of Toronto, gaining a BA in English and Philosophy. Still working and writing to this very day, he continues to be recognized as a successful author, with a lot more to follow yet.

Writing Career

During his time learning in Toronto he would win two literary competitions, as he’d have short-stories published in the Hart House Review while there. Then, in 1987 three years later, he’d have a collection of short-stories published titled ‘Tales from Firozsha Baag’ seeing him make a name for himself. He’d quickly follow this up one year later in 1988 with his second short-story fiction collection titled ‘Swimming Lessons.’

In 1991 he would go on to write his first full novel called ‘Such a Long Journey,’ which would gain a nomination for The Man Booker Prize. Then, in 1995 not long after, he would release another stand-alone novel titled ‘A Fine Balance,’ along with ‘Family Matters’ in 2001. Gaining a lot of plaudits over the years, he’s come to be recognized around the world, with his audience continuing to grow.

Such A Long Journey

First brought out in 1991, this would be the debut release from Rohinton Mistry as an author, introducing him to the public for the first time. Delivering a strong story, it would be a stand-alone work of non-fiction, really engaging the reader on a number of different levels. Capturing a distinct period of history, it shows great attention to detail, making it a wholly immersive experience throughout. As a sign of things to come, it paved the way for his following books, showing what Rohinton had to offer as an author.

Taking place in Bombay 1971, this would be set in the time that India went to war over the region that would come to be Bangladesh. Dealing with a world changing around him, Gustad Noble watches as his daughter falls ill, and his son defies his wishes, going against the ambitions of the family. Everything and everyone is changing around him, and now Gustad has received a letter from an old friend, as he sees himself heading off on a heroic mission. Is it really though, can he possibly ever to make full sense of it all, and what will become of him as he finds himself heading on such a long journey?

Family Matters

Originally published through Vintage on the 18th of November, this would first come out in 2003, being the third full novel in Rohinton’s literary career. A stand-alone novel, this would be an extremely well told story with a lot to say, looking at family situations and dynamics grounded in reality. Setting itself apart it would manage to capture a real feeling of a place and time, showing Rohinton as a fully confident and developed writer.

This time set in present day Bombay, the story follows Nariman Vakeel at the age of seventy-nine, as he finds himself suffering from Parkinson’s Disease. After breaking his ankle he becomes wholly dependent upon his family, as he goes to live in Château Felicity, where his two step-children Jal and Coomy live. They find it too difficult to take care of him though, so he heads off to live with his younger daughter Roxana and her family, as their family kinship is put to the test. Can they all make it work in such a cramped house, will they be able to overcome this together, and what will become of family matters?

It’s a clever book with a lot to say and offer, really carrying along its story with a down-to-earth quality that’s endearing. Understanding the reader, Rohinton lets them into this world with expert precision, regardless of their background and where they’re from. It has a universal quality with its message of family and kinship that really rings true on multiple different levels.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Rohinton Mistry

Leave a Reply