Book Notification

Roma Sub Rosa Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Roma Sub Rosa Books

Roman Blood (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Arms of Nemesis (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Catilina's Riddle (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Venus Throw (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Murder on the Appian Way (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House of the Vestals (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rubicon (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Seen in Massilia (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Mist of Prophecies (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Judgment of Caesar (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Gladiator Dies Only Once (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Triumph of Caesar (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Throne of Caesar (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Ancient World Books

The Seven Wonders (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Raiders of the Nile (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wrath of the Furies (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Rome Books

If you start going through the list of fiction writers probably you will come across the name of Steven Saylor. Saylor was born on March 23, 1956 in Texas and he is a specialized historical fiction writer. Additionally, he also writes short stories and novels and mystery fiction stories. He graduated from the University of Texas that is situated in Austin.

Steven Saylor is married to Richard Solomon since the year 1967. At first, they registered as domestic partners but later they later married legally in 2008. They have their properties in Austin, Texas, California and Berkeley. He is now happily living with his wife.

The Roma sub Rosa series is one of the notable works by this author that has garnered the favor of many readers across the world. It is no surprise that the author has gained many awards including the writer’s league of violet in 2000.

The series was born in 1991 with the “Roman Blood” and it lasted up to 2014 when the “raiders of the Nile” was authored. These books have been translated into more than 21 languages. The whole series is set in the ancient Rome and it features detective Gordianus the finder who is the main character in the series. You will realize that Steven majorly focuses on compelling historical events and the way he puts down the facts is artistic. Let’s get directly into the series;

The series starts with the Roman Blood that was first published in 1991 by Minotaur Books. Steven introduces us to detective Gordianus the Finder who investigates a murder crime for Cicero (a very renowned lawyer.) we are told that Rome is ruled by a famous dictator known as Sulla.

Sextus Roscius (Filius) is accused of murder; killing his father (Pater). However, Cicero who is a lawyer steps in to defend this young man. Is the man guilty or not? Is he accused falsely? This is where detective Gordianus comes in. The reasons for the murder are not clearly defined and the detective is given the sole responsibility to investigate the real reason for this murder. The fact that there are many confliction stories surrounding this murder makes the whole situation complicated and hard to understand.

The author tells us that Gordianus understand well the class systems in Rome and that is why he opts to get the support of Cicero to reveal the truth. He also makes the acquaintance of Rufus (a nobleman) because of his close relationship with Cicero. It does not end there. He is introduced to a great member of the ruling elite in Rome; Caecilia Metella( former lover of pater.)

During the arrest of Sextus Roscius (Filius), it is speculated that he killed his father due to greed. To reveal the truth, Gordianus collaborates with the strata of the entire Roman society. He questions some individuals in pursuit for the truth including a prostitute in the house of swans and Polia (a young widow) in their apartment. Gordianus later travels to Ameria where he encounters with Titus Megarus( a local farmer) and befriends him. This is when this farmer tells him a significant story that will help in making filius free.

Suddenly, Gordianus finds himself in trouble. His slave is attacked; house vandalized and many treats of being murdered. However, he does not lose hope and as he progresses, more secrets reveal themselves which gives him hope of revealing the truth. Does he succeed in his mission? Get details in the novel.

This first novel has many turns of events. It shows how the world today operates and how people are killed secretly. However, the existence of people like Gordianus brings hope of getting justice of the innocent and prosecuting of the exact criminals.

Arms of Nemesis is the second novel in this series. This book can completely satisfy your curiosity if you are craving to know about the horrors of slavery. In the first novel, we realized that Gordianus encountered with Bethesda who becomes his slave. Surprisingly, in this second book, we find him comfortably sleeping with his slave in the same bed. In the middle of confusion, his adopted son, Eco taps him to wake him up because there is a new client (Marcus Licinius) who demands that the detective should accompany him.

The author tells us that Marcus Crassus is the richest man in existence and he summons Gordianus to his villa so that he can investigate a murder case of his cousin. The stakes in this case are very high and any delays will lead to the death of 99 slaves. Why? It is speculated that Zeno and Alexandros are responsible in the murder and the detective is given the responsibility to disprove the guilt of these slaves.

What is surprising is, Gordianus is given only three days to conduct the investigation and if nothing good comes out of it then all the 99 slaves will be executed during the funeral of the cousin. Will he manage to do this? Let’s see.

What makes the situation complicated is the fact that there is no clue of the murder apart from the blood-soaked cloak. To save the lives of the slaves, Gordianus decides to forego all that he loves. He even risks his life to save the innocent slaves from the hands of merciless masters. If you read on, you will realize how the detective managed to handle this difficult situation.

Indeed, once you start reading these books, the chances of getting off the seat before reading the last page are slim to none. The suspense used, turns and twists makes the plot lovable and interesting. However, if you are light hearted then you may find yourself shedding tears once, twice or many times before the end of each story.

It stands to reason that Steven Saylor’s book series are worth your consideration. They can guarantee you a reason to smile on a boring and uneventful day. The way facts are presented is outstanding and the language used is easy to read and understand. The author uses detective Gordianus the finder to show us how this society is rotten. He uses his integrity to reveal all the secrets surrounding murder to give the innocent freedom.

So, what are you waiting for? Get the series for your library today and start enjoying the wonderful plot of this story. It is worth your time and money!

Book Series In Order » Characters » Roma Sub Rosa

Leave a Reply