Book Notification

Rosemary Aubert Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ellis Portal Mystery Books

Free Reign (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Feast of Stephen (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ferryman Will Be There (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Leave Me By Dying (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Red Mass (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Don't Forget You Love Me (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Firebrand (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Thousand to One (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Judge of Orphans (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Terminal Grill (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Light in Trieste (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

The Midnight Boat to Palermo and Other Stories (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Thirteen(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
World Enough and Crime(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Grave Diagnosis(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Spirit of 13(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Rosemary Aubert is an American born Canadian author of mystery and thriller novels famously known for her Ellis Portal Mystery series. She was born in January 1st, 1946 in Niagara Falls but currently resides in Toronto Canada where she frequently lectures at various, universities, colleges and conference groups on novel writing. In 1999 her crime novel won a Arthur Ellis Award.

The author’s work includes books and poems which are praised by many readers. She is the writer of the Ellis Portal Mystery that is a combination of six books produced from 1997 to 2014. Apart from that series a couple of poems such as the Two Kinds of Honey (1977) and Lenin for Lovers (2012) are also attributed to her. She campaigns on the use of individual talent combined with hard work and imagination.

Free Reign

Free Reign is the first book in the Ellis Portal mystery by Rosemary Aubert produced in 1997. The story introduces us to Ellis portal the main character that at the beginning is at the top as a judge. The same scale of justice that he uses find him guilty and is cast out dropping from high places to the ground.
The author juggles with the life of a character, and this is seen at the beginning of a fall of an individual who was once respected but now is at the grassroots. Further down the story, the reader is introduced into a mystery about an individual that has a black hand but has a ring that he and his friends used thirty years ago who were all white. The story takes a turn when Elliot decides to investigate the course of this death. The urge to find out the course of this confusing occurrence pushes him to join facts to solve the matter.

As Elliot is searching for the truth, more unfolds and also discovers that someone is stalking him. The most of this book is suspenseful and draws much attention as the reader is forced to think along with portal in an attempt to solve the issue at hand. However, as you approach the end, it becomes happy endings, and fantastic events seem to happen all around.

Rosemary’s style and plot are excellent as it points the issues that face the society from the life of this main character. It helps the reader to get a closer look into the operation of society and especially when it comes to matters of justice, homosexuality, and prostitution. It is a great piece and has excellent language.

The Feast of Stephen

The Feast of Stephen is the second book in the Elliot Portal series. Again we meet Ellis Portal who once had a great life as a judge but now lives together with the homeless and in poverty in a government building. The story revolves around investigations of a series of murders happening in the area and which happen to the poor.

While the police identify the cause of this death as a result of poor weather portal is after unraveling the real cause after a friend happens to hitch on him the possibility of foul play in the murder. He is forced to take the role of a detective and uses his skills to unearth the actual cause of these deaths in this part of Toronto.

Elliot’s suspicions are correct, a serial killer is on the loose, and his primary targets are street people. He uses all the tools at his disposal to unravel the mystery of the serial killer as more bodies start piling and everything becomes more alarming. It is interesting how the judge becomes the helper of those that are defenseless which brings out the picture of what happens at the bottom and the injustices committed.

Aubert has a skillful way of describing characters and identifying the state that each of them lives in this story. She gets to describe the harsh truth about the struggles of people who are down and entirely out which portal is also made to understand. The numerous characters introduced such as young Gothic; Ellen makes one turn more pages as you try to understand their motive and contribution to the story. The way rosemary describes places and people makes the reader visualize them making it more interesting.

The Ferryman Will Be There

The Ferryman Will Be There is the third book in the Ellis Portal mystery. Once again we meet Ellis Portal a former and renowned judge who now leaves poor and homeless and works to help the poor in solving murder cases as he tries to redeem his life from the ashes.

In this one, Rosemary Aubert puts a film director and his daughter in this story. The director is murdered at the same time his daughter disappears creating a mystery for the reader. Ellis is called in to help in solving the murder by Matt West as by now he has already been identified as an expert when it comes to such murder mysteries. His knowledge of the underworld is highly useful in this case as he has a comprehension of how desperate individuals survive and the places to find them. The new role that Portal is in is one that seems to fit more as it is something that he seems to do from deep inside him as he searches for not only the lost girl but more in an attempt to find out who killed the film director.

Looking closely at the events and characters that are involved here the readers have a lot to learn from the book. The characters, mysteries, and places make you feel and understand the plight of people in such places. Aubert has given a masterpiece on this one from the way she structures events and puts various characters in the book. Each character comes at a particular time has a specific contribution which makes it fascinating as you read along. The change of characters and settings is one that is well planned and easy to follow and understand.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Rosemary Aubert

Leave a Reply