Book Notification

Rosie Archer Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bluebird Girls Books

The Bluebird Girls (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
We'll Meet Again (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Forces' Sweethearts (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Victory for the Bluebird Girls (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Bomb Girls Books

The Munitions Girls (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Canary Girls (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Factory Girls (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gunpowder and Glory Girls (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Ferry Girls Books

The Ferry Girls (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Picture House Girls Books

The Picture House Girls (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
I'll Be Seeing You (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Timber Girls Books

The Timber Girls (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dream a Little Dream (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Girls from the Local (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Narrowboat Girls (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Rosie Archer was born in Hampshire, a region where she still resides. Before she became a writer, Rosie Archer has worked a variety of jobs including fruit picker, waitress, a market trader who specialized in selling second-hand books and barmaid as well. Apart from penning down novels and book series, Rosie Archer has also written various short stories in some of the leading women’s magazine.

Rosie Archer Best Books

The Canary Girls is the second book in the Bomb Girls book series by Rosie Archer. It is a sequel to the Munition Girls, which was the first book in the Bomb Girls book series. The cover of Canary Girls is not only bright but also exceedingly inviting. It displays a carefree attitude from 3 girls, despite living in an exceedingly troubled era. Set in the year, 1944 in Gosport town, Hampshire. The girls are employed in the munitions factory and are referred to the canary girls, due to the type of the chemicals that they are handling. The chemicals not only turns the color of their hair but also their skin as well. In this book, Archer introduces the reader to Rita, Liz, and Gladys. Gladys, Rita, and Liz do some exceedingly dangerous work by placing TNT into shells. The three ladies understand that this type of work is exceedingly dangerous, but they know that it is exceedingly essential in the war against Hitler.

The type of work that they do is not only full of danger but also anxiety as well, and one small mistake could lead to disaster. Furthermore, while performing their day-to-day duty, the war between America and Germany is still going on. They try to live an exceedingly normal life, but the threat of the bombing is real. Rita is dating one Blackie, a man who was not successful in enlisting with the army. Blackie deals with black market goods and most of the time; he usually showers Rita with various luxuries and gifts. Despite the fact that Rita believes that there is something about Blackie that she does not know about, her heart still tells her to go with the moment. With that said, you are definitely going to love Blackie’s character; he is far from perfect and was created to appear as the most despicable and hateful person that the readers should loathe.

From the very first moment that we get to meet him, he appeared to be a person with a great and kind heart and was more than determined to ensure that Rita was more than comfortable. All the little gifts that he gave Rita were appreciated and thoughtful. He was hoping that he would never have to break Rita’s, heart. On the other hand, Rita was a fantastic character, who was more than determined to perform well at work and earn money that would assist her during the exceedingly tough times. Rita was not only caring but also kind and compassionate as well. She always wanted to assist and support her friends both in the bad and good times. Rita’s storyline was exceedingly heartbreaking considering the sacrifices that she had made and why she had made them.

The other women, who had been featured in the story, were all engrossing and exceedingly strong as well. Em is the overseer of the factory and is currently suffering at the hands of her spouse who had returned from war after being wounded badly. Despite the fact that her heart is currently somewhere else, she still feels from the man whom she had married. For how long is she going to cope with what awaits her behind the door, each night she comes home from her place of work? Is Rita going to convince to successfully convince her friends that there is a much better life out there? Munitions Girls is the first book in the Bomb Girls book series. This is the story about three great friends, Emily, Pixie, and Rita, who have been employed in a munitions factory. Their day to day job involves the production of bombs. The three girls are more like family to one another. We get the chance to meet them one by one, and as later revealed in the book, their lives at home are not perfect.

However, despite the challenges that they face each and every day, the munitions girls still support each other in time of happiness and sadness. In Munitions girls, it is clear that Pixie is the protagonist since she narrates her story. Despite working hard every day, she still gets the chance to have a great time. As you follow her story, you will soon indulge in her life and the world that she lives in. However, her mother was faced with various problems and challenges. With that said, Munitions Girls is an excellent read. You are definitely going to enjoy each and every page that you are going to read. One of the main strengths of Munitions Girls is that the characters are not only believable but also relatable as well. Despite having their hearts broken, they still have a chance to stand and fight against Hitler.

In Munitions Girls, the reader gets to see some of the Hazards of Life. With some of the fittest and best men away representing their countries at war, the unqualified ones have been left in charge. Some of the men regard Ladies as easy targets. The lack of education and the high levels of cynical poverty, which comes from the constant war and the bombings and also the need to work, is undoubted, the driving force of the Munitions Girls. Some of the other hazards include the night bombings and the plants where the girls were handling explosives with unprotected arms. From time to time, their arms changed color and explosions may happen at any given time.

The Factory Girls is also another great book in the Bomb Girls book series. This book is the story about the three women, who work in one of the bomb factories, which is located in Phoenix. Just like the other two books, the story of the three women has been interwoven with that of the men who were busy fighting.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Rosie Archer

One Response to “Rosie Archer”

  1. Lorna coomber: 4 months ago

    Please can you tell me if there will be a sequel to The Timber Girls as a reader after finishing this wonderful story wondering what happened to them, did Cy survive and reunite with Trixie and what was the next stage in Sunderland. All your books are brilliant as have read so many now, hard to put down once started and feel transported to time past, wonderful writing and imagination
    Thank you again


Leave a Reply