Book Notification

Ross Greenwood Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dark Lives Books

Fifty Years of Fear / Survivor (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Boy Inside / Lifer (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chancer / Lazy Blood (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of DI Barton Books

The Snow Killer (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Soul Killer (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ice Killer (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cold Killer (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fire Killer (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Santa Killer (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of DS Ashley Knight Books

Death on Cromer Beach (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at Paradise Park (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in Bacton Wood (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Abel's Revenge / Hunter (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadows of Regret / Jail Break (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prisoner (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Canaries in the Coal Mine (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Ross Greenwood is an award-winning mystery and thriller author from Peterborough. Greenwood was born in Peterborough where he spent his childhood and most of his early adulthood years. After he left his hometown, he lived and worked all over the United States and across the world. Nonetheless, he found himself going back to Peterborough many times over the years when things went awry in his life. It was on one such occasion that he met his spouse while walking the family dog one evening. His debut novel “Fifty Years of Fear” was a story he started writing a long time ago but had to stop as work and family life took precedence. He worked a ton of jobs in his earlier years but it was at his last job as a corrections officer that he got the time to write his novel. He completed the novel in the early morning hours when he was battling with insomnia at his workplace in the prison. Ross is known for humorous and thought-provoking novels that have thrilled audiences for years. He now has more than eight novels in the “Dark Lives” and “DI Barton” series alongside several single standing novels.

Greenwood asserts that he always loved reading though academically he peaked at age eight. Given his love for reading, he was often found reading James Herbert when he was supposed to be studying Economics or Biology. He passed his A levels but lacked any sort of direction but soon found a job with an insurance company though he spent most of his earnings on drink. While he worked an office job, he always fantasized about earning a commission for novels he wrote even if it was only a few dollars here and there. Even though he acknowledged that writing a novel could take a year or more, he thought it was great that the trickle of money never stopped once the book was published. Ross had a lot of ideas swirling around in his head but working in prison gave him some interesting angles that he would incorporate into his “Dark Lives” series. Before working in corrections, he worked a range of jobs ranging from share trader, telesales, letter remover, envelope opener, manager at blockbuster, data input, Ladbrokes cashier, pensions adviser, and call center manager among others. He did four years as a corrections officer since he wanted something physical but could not get into the police given his CV. He started writing the manuscript for his debut novel “Fifty Years of Fear” in 2011 but it was not until 2016 that he decided to finish the project. He got some great help from colleagues and friends that critiqued the manuscript as he wrote and it was from them that he finally got the confidence and courage to publish his novel.

Ross Greenwood’s novels in the “Dark Lives” series of novels are set in Peterborough since he always wanted to write about his hometown. Even though there are several novels by other authors set in the town, he felt that most of them portrayed it in a negative light and he wanted to set things right. Since all of his characters are from Peterborough, they often pop up in the other novels though each one can be read as a standalone. Ross used his experiences working in the prison system to portray the humorous lives of his characters most of which flowed from memory.

Greenwood’s “Fifty Years of Fear” is the story of Vinnie who has been a victim all his life. His older sibling Frank is a school bully which makes his school life miserable while his mother is a chain-smoking hermit that is forced to care for her stroke disabled husband full time. These events in their family cause the boys to grow faster than they should, even though their parents can never be accused of not loving them. Frank who is the older sibling has always taken care of Vinnie but over time he starts to become weary and careless given all that has happened. Things always go wrong whenever Frank is around and hence Vinnie is not bothered when he goes missing. But then life throws all manner of bad things at him that he is about to resign himself to fate. He is an unconventional looking boy with strange behavior living under the ruthless and bullying ways of his brother and he just has to deal with it. But then he meets Clara and everything changes.

“The Boy Inside” by Ross Greenwood is the story of a fifteen-year-old named Ben. At the start of the novel, he has a great life given that he is the only child to his parents. While they are not by any means a wealthy family, his parents take good care of him. But then his father gets cancer and when he dies his mother loses it and becomes an alcoholic, leaving Ben to his own devices. He soon meets a local teenager named Jake who introduces him to petty crime and in no time, he becomes a pro. While he thinks that he is enjoying himself, what he is doing may just be the end of him. The story follows the two boys until Ben is twenty-one and goes to prison. But he does not last outside prison as he is soon back to his criminal ways and goes back to prison. It is a heartbreaking story that details the struggles of the boy which is an accurate reflection of many in his circumstances. With his mother an alcoholic, the combination of hanging out with the wrong crowd and not having the resources to survive outside prison means the odds are stacked against him.

Ross Greenwood’s “Lazy Blood” is the story of four boys that met as eleven-year-olds in Peterborough’s The Prince’s School. The four are an awkward bunch as Will does not like studying and school, Carl is a genius of intelligence thought a tragic figure. There is Darren a sharp- and keen-eyed boy who is seemingly emotionless though has a love for the martial arts and then there is Aiden, a big red-faced giant who has a lethargic face and slovenly grin. Darren is forever getting into fights and the others are forced to back him up though they do not like it. Nonetheless, they all hang out together and soon Freja who is Aiden’s sister also starts coming along, and soon Darren falls for her. It is a touching story of friendship as the friends hang out, get drunk, have fun though the realities of life are never far away.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Ross Greenwood

One Response to “Ross Greenwood”

  1. Tim Broughton: 1 year ago

    I love your books and am interested in the new series starting with Cromer why did you choose Cromer.
    Ps I live in Sheringham
    Tim Broughton


Leave a Reply