Book Notification

Ross Montgomery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Finney Island Files Books

Alien Invasion (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Disco Disaster (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Town Hall Horror! (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Alien Attack! (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Alex, the Dog and the Unopenable Door (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tornado Chasers (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Perijee and Me (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Christmas Dinner of Souls (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Max and the Millions (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Midnight Guardians (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Chime Seekers (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Chapter Books

Publication Order of Picture Books

Ten Delicious Teachers (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Building Boy (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Space Tortoise (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hurly Burly (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Ross Montgomery is a fiction and children’s writer. He grew up reading anything that came his way and taught him many things. Before becoming a writer, Ross was once a postman, pig farmer, and primary school teacher. His novels include The Midnight Guardians, Perijee, and Me.

The Midnight Guardian
The Midnight Guardian is a middle-grade novel about Col set during World War II. Col lost his father six months ago and was forced to leave war-torn London to live with his aunt, Claire. His mother left when he was of tender age and his elder sister, Rose works in London , so she isn’t able to live with him due to the war.

One night while at his aunt’s home, Col finds out that his imaginary friends are real. When he’s let down just some days before Christmas he opts to run to his old family’s home, where he meets the old buddies. The friends are Pendlebury, a tiger, Mr. Noakes, a badger, and King of Rogues, a knight who had not lost hope.

The friends inform him that his sister Rose is in danger and they’ve to go to save her. They have to reach to her before London is attacked. The attack is planned by the midwinter king so that he can acquire all the power he desires over the spirit world.

However, the friends are not supposed to be in the real world. Mid-Winter King rules the land for only two seasons a year, needs the other two seasons back, and has placed spies on every spot. He is searching for them as he suspects that they are planning to save the Green Man, who rules the land for the rest of the two seasons of the year.

Accompanied by a tiger that can change sizes and forms, an argumentative knight, and a badger in a waistcoat, Col comes across a lot of danger on his journey to London.

The Green Man had expatriated him to have winter and rule all year round. Will they travel through the land to London to save Rose in time without getting caught?

This story is magical and beautiful and brings the family together through love and friendships. It’s so imaginative and inviting, and it’s hard to put down to the last page. The characters are relatable, and the imaginary friends have behaviors you find in some people.

Even though Col is a young boy, he has so much wisdom that is far beyond his age. It also appears that most children living through the war had to be resourceful and learn to live, getting used to destruction, death, and the pain of being separated from family.

The story has two plots that interconnect to form a single solid story. There are so many adventures that happen along the way as the friends go to London. Mid- Winter King is so obsessed with power and doesn’t care how he gets it and what pain or mayhem he causes, including banishing The Green Man to have the chance to rule throughout the year.

Col is a likable character, while the rest of the cast make the story outstanding. The tiger cracks awful jokes at the worst moments while the badger prefers to die than go without his seasonings, and the knight can’t go for long without starting an argument or complaint.

The midwinter king is a determined and frightening character which made him scary. Ruth, the mysterious girl they meet on the way, shares her sad story with them. She was so intelligent and often got them out of challenging situations.

While reading, you can never guess what will happen next, and if you do, Ross may prove you wrong as the travelers stumble from one obstacle to the next, both humankind and magical.

The book’s whimsical, beautiful and other times terrifying, and it will make you laugh then cry. The drama happening through the chapters makes the story fast-paced and engaging to the end. The historical elements are enhanced by the snippets of the newspaper articles that stand on sides with a fantasy element.
It’s a beautiful story of hope, kindness, friendship, love, and fighting for light in the land of darkness.
Christmas Dinner of Souls
The story begins on a Christmas Eve at the dining area of Soul’s College. Lewis, an 11 years old boy, gives a hand in preparing the unusual meal made with new ingredients and cooked by a mysterious cook.

He’s held in the Soul’s College on that Christmas Eve when the dean calls upon a meeting of lecturers to look for the Dead man’s Jabberers, which happens to be magical teeth that can give every kind of power.

He feels messed up because he was the only one caught among all the students. The college dean and Lewis’s mom agree that he must spend Christmas eve working on his punishment. His mother had no idea what kind of punishment he would be given, so he is given the duty of being a serving boy at the dinner of souls of a group of misfits.

During the dinner, the guests drink a lot of wine as they fling cutlery making sounds like banshees until they all become silent. When the Dean of Soul’s College arrives, they all get ready to start the ceremony.

The book is a collection of short stories, some of which have Christmas themes and others don’t. However, they have one thing in common: the teller is a visitor at the Christmas Dinner of Souls. Every guest enjoys Christmas, and the main agenda is to narrate a terrifying story as they compete to get a chance into the catacombs beneath Soul’s college.

Will Lewis manage to escape while the guests are busy listening to the stories?

This is usually an annual private club meeting for people who hate happiness, warmth, children, and, most importantly, Christmas. Every member has to try as much as possible to challenge the others through narrating the most disgusting story they know.

Each of the stories narrated that night is creepy and all different from one another. Even though you’ve got a choice reading a single story at a time, you might find yourself reading more on how the dinner ended.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Ross Montgomery

Leave a Reply