Book Notification

Roy Huff Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Everville Books

The First Pillar (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The City of Worms (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rise of Mallory (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fall of Brackenbone (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Seven Rules of Time Travel Books

Seven Rules of Time Travel (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trouble With Time Travel (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Time Travel Tribulations (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Time Travel Universe (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Think Smart Not Hard (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Roy Huff is a fantasy and science fiction author from Hawaii who was born in Virginia and spent much of his early childhood in Kentucky.

When he was four, he wanted to become a meteorologist even though his mother believed he would make a very good clown.

As a six-year-old, he moved to Charlotte North Carolina which is where he met Ray Boylan one of the very first men to ever fly into the eye of a hurricane. He can still remember 1989 when Hurricane Hugo went directly over the family apartment.

Since Ray the history-making meteorologist had gone to the Unversity of Hawaii, he started dreaming of moving to Hawaii too. When he was seventeen he went to college in Hawaii and has been living there ever since.

Initially, Roy’s dreams were derailed but when he was thirty he went back to college and within six years had earned five degrees. When he was taking his fourth degree which had an English course, he fell in love with writing.

It was this that would later become the “Everville” fantasy series. In his mid-thirties, he would become a University of Hawaii research meteorologist and even got grants from NOAA and NASA.
Roy Huff now works a day job as a science teacher in high school.

Roy Huff has always been a huge fan of fantasy and science fiction which he read a lot when he was growing up.

He has said that he was brought up in a very poor home and hence speculative fiction was often something of an escape and an opportunity to view the future from a very different perspective.
When living in Kentucky, it was all about “Ultra Man,” “Wonder Woman,” “The Incredible Hulk,” and “The Million Dollar Man.” He would then graduate to “Star Trek,” “The Twilight Zone,” and “Amazing Stories.”
As for fantasy, he loved reading the likes of Jules Verne, Madeleine L’Engle, and C.S. Lewis. Roy still enjoys dystopian, dark fantasy, and good horror stories such as the “Hunger Games.”

He believes fiction is for the most part a reflection of society and as such, he used it to make a social commentary. He has also used his fiction to test what is possible when there are no technological or societal constraints.

For Roy Huff, reading and writing fiction makes it possible to escape and explore a range of possible realms.

It is partly for this reason that he gravitated towards optimistic science fiction and fantasy when it comes to watching, writing, and reading.

As for authors that have had the most influence on his life, the biggest has to be Stephen King. Roy Huff has watched, read, and studied many of his works including his seminal how-to-write guide “On Writing.”
He has gleaned from his minimalist approach and just like King he happens to be a pantser even if he is not a situational writer. As for plot and theme, he has for the most part been influenced by Gene Roddenberry, C.S. Lewis, and J.R.R. Tolkien.

When he is not writing his novels, he loves traveling, hiking, writing, watching movies, reading, and audiobooks. Huff is thankful that he has had the opportunity to achieve most of his dreams as a research meteorologist and science fiction author.

Roy Huff’s “The First Pillar” is a beautiful story that introduces emblematic college freshman Owen Sage of Easton Falls University. He had a lot to worry about as a freshman in college but what will come next will completely throw him off balance.

His life is upended when he unexpectedly found himself in another dimension. He is now living in Everville the beautiful land, and could not have been happier.
But then he realized that there is a darkness forged between the new land and the natural world that he had come from. He will need to come up with a plan to save the two worlds, even as he joins forces wuith the race of The Keepers and Fron.

Both of these have hidden secrets that he needs to understand if he is to overcome the evil between the worlds.

He is in a dangerous race against time to save the natural world and the new world and he was not so prepared to face the dark and evil forces, given that he was only at Easton Falls for a short time.

“The City of Worms” by Roy Huff is an imaginative and mesmerizing work that is just as good as the first novel.

In this outing, Owen and Anika’s friend Dante is in the earthly realm lying in a coma. His life can only be saved by the destruction of some magical artifacts.

Meanwhile, Oldrik of Evervile and several of his accomplices have managed to escape from where they were being held and have joined with some evil darkness in between the worlds.

They had escaped with some sensitive secrets that could potentially make them some of the most powerful beings in the universe. However, this is just the beginning of a clash between some powerful armies.
In the meantime, the dark horde is relentless in its quest for power while Owen is summoned to help decipher a mysterious secret that could determine the fate of two realms.

It is a well-written work that explores themes of self-sacrifice, friendship, and commitment in the midst of violence and chaos that besets the world s where evil and good coexist.

Roy Huff’s “The Rise of Mallory” picks up right from the events of the second novel of the series. Owen and several of his friends have been getting ready for Christmas as they are recovering from the events of the previous outing.

Mallory now has in her possession a powerful dragon she intends to use in fighting The Keepers. Owen and his allies in Everville know that they have to prepare for an imminent attack even though they are not so sure of when it will be coming.

It is the responsibility of everyone to prepare for what will surely be a huge fight. The thing is it is not only the good that have to prepare, as Mallory and his underlings need to be prepared for an attack that will come from an unexpected and new direction.
If The Keepers are the most formidable force in the universe she will need to assemble a force that is even stronger.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Roy Huff

Leave a Reply