Book Notification

Russ Tobin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Russ Tobin Books

The Sewing Machine Man (1969)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Debt Collector (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Courier (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
Up Tight (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon
Come Again Courier (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tobin Takes Off (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tobin in Trouble (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tobin on Safari (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tobin In Paradise (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tobin in Las Vegas (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tobin For Hire (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tobin In Tahiti (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tobin Down Under (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
Russ Tobin's Bedside Guide To Smoother Seduction (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
Here Comes Tobin (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hard Up (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Russ Tobin In Hollywood (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tobin Among The Stars (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tobin Goes Cuckoo (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Russ Tobin” series is a set of thriller novels by thriller and comedy author Stanley Morgan. Morgan was born to Thomas Morgan and Annie in Liverpool where his father managed a transport company. The Liverpool native then went to school at the “Liverpool Institute High School for Boys.” He got his first job working for a bank in Merseyside before it got too small for him. He moved to Canada and then Zimbabwe then called Southern Rhodesia. During the intervening period before he became an author, he was a debt collector, salesman and accountant for a tobacco farm. It was when he was working for the farm that he got his first big break. His employer was impressed with his radio play-acting that he sponsored him to go back to London to give professional acting a shot. During the 1960s, he got several roles in several British films that included “Séance on a Wet Afternoon” in 1964, “The L-Shaped Room” in 1962. His most notable movie was the 1962 film “Dr. No,” where he was the concierge that introduced our most favorite villain James Bond to the world. He was also a voiceover artist for a ton of adverts during this time and in fact, got a Bafta nomination for voicing a short documentary titled “Mullardability” for Mullard an electronics company. Since acting had a lot of downtime, he began to write during the times when he did not have work.

Stanley Morgan’s first novel was the 1968 published “The Sewing Machine Man” that was the debut novel of the “Russ Tobin” series. The novel was something of an autobiography as the lead just like Morgan was a bank clerk who later became a sewing machine salesman. The novel immediately became a bestseller and he went on to write seventeen titles in the series that sold more than 10 million copies across the globe. Stan went on to write more thrillers such as “Michael Morgan,” “Fly Boys” and “Randy Comfort” series. Morgan died in the US in 2018 aged 88.

The “Russ Tobin” series features Russ, a good looking brown-haired, blue-eyed, six feet tall, good looking man. At the start of the series, he is a twenty-two-year-old master seducer that can woo up to four women in every book. He hates serious relationships and lives for one night stands though he met one or two women that nearly got him to fall in love. However, his Don Juan lifestyle is fuelled by his love of travel which means he can never have monogamous, permanent or serious relationships. He meets and seduces all manner of women while traveling and as such he sees no need to be with one woman. Throughout the series, Tobin holds a variety of jobs as he starts out as a sewing machine salesman, gets a job selling TV ads, and becomes a debt collector before he goes abroad. Tobin moves to Majorca in Spain as a tour guide, works as a male escort in Australia, manages a retirement in England, Santa Claus in Canada, safari guide in Kenya and stars in a film in Hollywood. Tobin makes several friends in the series including Buzz Malone the Australian tennis player. Alongside his friends, He often gets into trouble from fighting in bars, speeding among other trivialities. They usually pick up girls and are known to help each other whenever they get into scrapes or trouble with the police.

“The Sewing Machine Man” introduces Russ Tobin as a charming, lusty zip-along young man who is looking for a purpose like many of his generation. He works on the docks in Liverpool and is bored with his dull job in the grime of Liverpool. All he wants is to find fortune in switch selling where he also believes there is much adventure to be had. Right from the start, he achieves success but to his initial confusion and later delight realizes that many of his customers are more interested in his charms than in his product. He interprets the phrase “The Customer is Always Right” in a very bizarre way and is determined to ensure that every one of his customers is satisfied. Full of downright kinkiness, laughter, wit and sadness it is a great tale that tells of Russ’s exploits as he meets sexually frustrated housewives and leaves them well satisfied.

“The Debt Collector” the second novel of the “Russ Tobin” series opens to Russ having quit his sewing machine job and is now working as a debt collector for Karefree Kredit Inkorporated. Just like with sewing machines job, he meets a lot of frustrated women that are more interested in him that in his services. A standout client is the widowed twenty-nine-year-old named Joanne, who pays her debt ten times over in ways that are not in any way monetary. He was loving his job until he fell down a flight of stairs and ended up in the hospital. His employer got impatient and fired him while he was still recuperating. The only positive of the whole debacle was that he met Tony Dane who calls himself The “King Of The Swingers” who works in commercials. He invites him to join him in London where they have a lot of fun around town. In London, his life starts all over again as he gets a job in commercials and gets all the women he could ever want.

In “The Courier” the third novel of the series, Russ moves to Majorca the fabled resort for sex, sea, and sun. He is now a tour guide on the island but has lost none of his Don Juan touch with the ladies. He is now a 24-year-old and has worked all manner of jobs though his most enjoyable has been in commercials. He was enjoying hanging out with at the Kum Kum Club with his friend Tony Dane and doing adverts until he met Vicki Hurst. She works as a Holiday courier in Mallorca and after talking with her, Russ believes it is something he would love to do. After all, he had worked on a TV advert just recently, which has made him unemployable for a while and he could think of no better job. He gets the job as a courier but as is his custom, he only works for a few months before he is tired of the job. Still, he has a lot of adventures in Mallorca, particularly when he meets Patrick Holmes a girl crazy Irishman. It gets even better when Tony Dane the real Don Juan says he is coming down to vacation on the island.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Russ Tobin

Leave a Reply