Book Notification

Russell Kirkpatrick Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Book of Remezov Books

Publication Order of Broken Man Books

Path of Revenge (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Heart (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beyond the Wall of Time (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Fire of Heaven Books

Across the Face of the World (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Earth Abides the Flame (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Right Hand of God (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Bateman Contemporary Atlas New Zealand (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon

Russell Kirkpatrick is a science fiction and fantasy author born in Christchurch, New Zealand, in 1961. He holds a Ph.D. in geography for the University of Canterbury and is a lecturer at the University is Waikato Hamilton.

In the 1990’s he worked on two huge atlas projects holding the position of Deputy Editor of the New Zealand Historical Atlas. He was the Montana Book award finalist in 2000. He has been involved in other published atlas projects and still works on them when he gets the chance.

His first novel, Across the Face of the World, was published in 2004 by HarperCollins Voyager Australia.

Across the Face of the World
Across the Face of the World is the debut in the Fire Heaven series. From the small snow-covered village of Loulea, five men and women are going on a journey that will entirely change their lives and destiny.

For 2000 years, Kanwar, the immortal Destroyer, has been plotting revenge on the Most high. He was cast out from Dona when he drank from the forbidden fountain of everlasting life, and his vengeance plans appear to be nearing, and he’s ready to destroy anything that stands in the way of his mission.
He stole the secret of eternal life from the Most High, and in the intervening years, he has learned more, won and set back, and is ready for the next blow. This time he is planning to rule the land as he is sure that he will outdo the Most High this time round.

However, against his dominating plans, the Most High has formed an unlikely group of heroes, comprised of men and women from the village that isn’t recognized by the rest of the world. The group is determined to save the ones they love while breaking the shadow covering the world.

When Mahnum, the trader, escapes the Destroyer’s prison, the Lords of Fear are sent to hunt him down. Mahnum makes his way to his hometown, Loulea, but unfortunately, he is caught and captured together with his wife.

His children Leith and Hal and a group of villagers embark on a quest to free Mahnum and Indrett while warning their world of the war coming. It’s a great novel about the good and the evil with an epic adventure on the road through the varying lands. Hardships are faced, battles fought, and challenges overcome.
It’s about a great evil that was said to be more myth than truth as many nations were restless. But they are back to planning to rebuild its empire even though it died a thousand years ago. A group of unlikely heroes has taken charge to stop the being that is older than most cities.

Kirkpatrick is a real map maker who created imaginary maps and brought them to life with the characters in the story showing his passion. In one way, the story plot gives overwhelming descriptions of nature.

From the mountain peaks are the villagers who live the short summers and eight-month winters, farmers in the valleys, and the people of the moor. Each terrain has its habitants even when the people conquer their terrain.

The author has detailed information with the well-marked maps and descriptions of the forests. The characters are well developed as far as history and geography are concerned in this great fantasy fiction.

Path of Revenge
Path of Revenge is the debut in the Broken Man series. Seventy years have passed since the company from Firanes saved Faltha from an invasion, and not Kirkpatrick’s vision is to expand to cover the three continents.

The Husk is the split shell of a once magician who was imprisoned in the dungeons of Andratan by the leader of Brudwho, the undying man. A magician fought many years back by the undying man is in Andratan planning his vengeance mission. He needs blood, the stone, and a hand of hate.

The people he has been manipulating are to take the things to him are coming to deliver. They have no idea what is in store for them. Even though the War might is over, the war of immortality has just started in the three great continents and their gods.

The magician controls 3 of the characters, namely, ‘The angel, The Brash Captain, and the Falthan Spy’ so that he can get the blood, stone, and a hand of hate. The story is narrated from his perspective. After years he thought he had gotten the way to killing the immortals, but he couldn’t accomplish it without specific tools.

These tools are scattered and aren’t found in the same place; different people hold each: a fisherman, a queen, and a young scholar. Having been a sorcerer, Husk has exerted some mind control over the rest traveling with these three people so that he can keep them safe.

The author shows how they begin their journeys by seeing why they feel encouraged to keep moving. As the fisherman runs fearing for her life, the other seeks to rescue his kidnapped family by the government recruiters. The third is placed on the road by an emperor to look for a hole threatening to sweep the world.
The story is fast-paced from the beginning as danger overwhelms the characters. The long journeys taken by the characters are enough to keep the reader engaged to the end. The more the story opens up, the more tension heightens each section dealing with a single character.

Kirkpatrick is among the few authors who can pull off a truly epic scope. He is a fantastic world builder, and this novel allows him to explore more of his crafted world. He gives enough details to quench the thirst of the reader.

The world-building is vast and exquisite, and the characters are complex and carry believable ambitions and motivations. The craftsmanship of the path of revenge is off the charts. It focuses on three characters, the fisher man who is more than meets the eye, the cosmographer who seed the world in numbers, and a queen escaping her kingdom. Their paths rent clear because they’re being controlled by a force they don’t know.

The characters are engaging, and the plot is fascinating and easy to read and understand.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Russell Kirkpatrick

Leave a Reply