Book Notification

Russell Thorndike Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Doctor Syn Books

Doctor Syn (1915)Description / Buy at Amazon
Doctor Syn on the High Seas (1935)Description / Buy at Amazon
Doctor Syn Returns (1936)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Further Adventures of Doctor Syn (1936)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Courageous Exploits of Doctor Syn (1939)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Amazing Quest of Doctor Syn (1939)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shadow Of Doctor Syn (1944)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Slype (1927)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Master of the Macabre (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon
The First Englishman (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Vandekkers (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House of Jeffreys (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Plays

Tragedy of Mr. Punch (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Doctor Syn And Other Stories (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Wanderer with Shakespeare (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Children of the Garter (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Steps of Shakespeare (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sybil Thorndike, (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lilian Baylis, (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Six Against the Yard(1937)Description / Buy at Amazon

Russell Thorndike was a published author and English actor. He was well known for his character of Doctor Syn, which was made into a 1937 movie. A 1962 movie (Night Creatures) and 1963 movie (Alias The Scarecrow) also were based on the series. It was also featured in Magical World of Disney episodes.

He was a versatile artist and although he did not become as well known as his sister, the Dame Sybil, his first love was for writing. His full biological name is Arthur Russell Thorndike.

He was born on February 6, 1885, in Rochester, Kent. His father was recently offered a position at the cathedral there as a canon. He attended St. George’s School as a student and was a chorister as part of the Chapel.

He suggested to his sister that they should both try out acting. She agreed and in 1903 they both began attempting to pursue it as their career. As a result, the two of them attended Ben Greet’s Academy. Just two years down the line, the two of them were able to join the company members on a tour of North America. Russell enjoyed touring and would stay on with them for nearly four more years. He would also go on to tour Asia and Africa.

After serving in the first great world war, Russell Thorndike decided that he was going to devote his time to writing. Thorndike passed away November 7, 1972.

Russell Thorndike is the creator and the author of the Doctor Syn of Rodney Marsh series of fictional novels. The series kicked off for the first time back in 1915 with the release of the debut novel. It is of course titled Doctor Syn. Readers would have to wait nearly twenty years before getting their hands on the second installment. A third book would come out just a year later, however, and ultimately there are 7 books in this series.

Doctor Syn is the first novel in the series by the same name by author Russell Thorndike. If you are looking for a classic novel with plenty of action and adventure to be found on the pages, then check out this book for yourself!

When it comes to disguising your identity and fooling everyone, Captain Clegg is good at it. That is the true name of the Dr. Syn, a man who is pretending to be a vicar. No one would ever suspect that this respectable man in the town of Dymchurch is actually a retired pirate who used to captain ships and sail the high seas.

It is just about the turn of the eighteenth century, and Dr. Syn has been able to get away with all of this because people believed that the pirate Clegg was dead. They thought that the captain had been hanged and was by now dead in Rye. As a result, the authorities are not looking for him any longer as they do not intend to waste their resources on a pointless search.

With the person that he used to be now officially thought to be dead, Clegg had a clear path ahead of him. So he traded in the old identity and life that he had for a new occupation. If he was good at being a pirate captain, there’s no reason why he shouldn’t be just as able to adapt to being a religious authority. You would think that this quiet life would be somewhat able to occupy him, but it is just too quiet in the country.

Dr. Syn ends up taking on smuggling because he simply is just too bored living in this identity. It turns out that you can take the pirate to the countryside but you can’t rely on the fact that he is going to be able to embrace it all the way. There’s always going to be a little bit of that pirate impulse left. Such is the case with Clegg, who cannot help but just indulge his appetite for chaos.

Now the doctor and former pirate captain has taken on a new secret identity (that’s up to three now if the reader is counting along). Clegg has now become The Scarecrow as well. He needs a gang of people to back him up and recruits some smugglers to join his crew. They become known by the name of ‘Marsh Men’.

The gang ends up traveling at night, going across Romney Marsh on the backs of their horses. Sometimes they decided to use their mounts painted up with phosphorus. The glowing nature of it makes them take on an appearance that is ghostly or spectral in nature. This is very effective as the word of them spreads and gives them a supernatural reputation of being full of menace and evil.

Syn is a criminal, but he also wants to help out the people of the parish with the things that he has gotten. He is kind of like Robin Hood in that way, and becomes just as wanted. He has gotten back onto the radar and now the King is definitely sending men to find out where he is, catch him, and bring him back for punishment.

With a group of hardened thugs out on the loose, he has to get his gang out of the law’s way. If they all end up captured, he is going to be sorry. Full of action and rebellious fun, this is one of the top adventure books of the day. Pick up a copy of the debut book in this series and read to the end to find out what happens and why this series was so popular back in the day!

Doctor Syn On the High Seas is another tale in this iconic series by Throndike. Full of adventure and packed with action, check out this book if you’re a fan of classic fiction or just love a good fast-paced story!

Syn had his old life as a pirate, but that’s done now. He’s a doctor, and he’s doing his best to move on and resist temptation to raise trouble. Fate led him to the high seas, but what is in store for this captain? Read this book to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Russell Thorndike

Leave a Reply