Book Notification

Ruth Jones Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Ruth Jones is a romance and general fiction author that was born in the south Wales town of Bridgend and spent most of her childhood living in Porthcawl on the coast. She was born to a very comfortable family as her father was a lawyer and her mother was a general practitioner.

She has three brothers and sisters and remembers that she loved participating in yearly theatre and musical productions in school. It was this that fostered her creative spirit during this time.
Later on, she attended the University of Warwick, after which she moved to Cardiff to study at the Royal College of Music and Drama.

Following her tour in 1989, Ruth suffered a severe lack of work and ultimately had to settle for a job as a Kensington clerical assistant on a temporary basis, so that she could get money to fund her passion.

For some time, she believed she would never achieve her dream until things changed in 1990. It was in this year that Stan Stennett a comedian producer invited her to perform at the Porthcawl Pavilion in Dick Whittington.

It was a venue that reminded her of musical performances during her childhood. It was this that paved the way for all manner of acting gigs and TV roles.

After getting her drama degree and with a lot of experience working in TV and acting, Ruth Jones finally got a job working in radio comedy and TV at BBC Wales.

She would then get into theatre and in 1999 made her debut on the silver screen as she made an appearance in “Fat Friends,” the popular ITV series. It was while she was working there that she met James Corden, her future comedy partner.

In 2004, she got roles in “Nighty Night,” the black comedy series in addition to acting in “Little Britain,” the smash TV show.

After she was cast in Saxondale as Steve Coogan’s wife, she teamed up with James and together they wrote and starred in Gavin and Stacey the Bafta Award-winning work. Rob Brydon her old friend for years who also worked as a comedian starred in the work.

The talented Welsh performer would then decide to get into costume drama in 2008 as she worked on “Litle Dorrit and “Tess of The D’Urbervilles.

In 1999, Ruth got married to David Peet her partner and together they have three children. She would, later on, create and write the “Stella” series alongside her husband, using money from their Tiny Productions company.

The show was broadcast between 2012 and 2017 and Ruth played a leading role. The very successful series had guest appearances from the likes of Tim Rhys-Jones, Craig Bellamy, and James Corden.
Jones won the prestigious BAFTA award as Best Screenwriter and later on, was awarded an MBE for her work in entertainment. Ruth Jones made her debut in fiction writing when she penned “Never Greener,” a novel that was published in 2018.

After the work got a lot of popularity and became a Sunday Times bestseller, she was offered a two-book deal.

Over the years, Ruth has won many accolades and awards that include three BAFTA Cymru awards, the Ultimate Women of the Year Award by Cosmopolitan, and the British Comedy Award.
Together with her husband and children, Ruth Jones currently makes her home in Cardiff.

“Never Greener” by Ruth Jones is her debut novel that combines the tales of two marriages. One of these is a couple that has been enjoying their union while another is not having such a great time given that an old affair was rekindled and is not threatening to destroy everything they built.

Callum has been married to Belinda for several years and they have been blessed with two children and are expecting another. Everything has been going so well and the affair Callum has two decades ago with Kate the aspiring actress seems to have been forgotten.

The affair had threatened to destroy their marriage and hence when Kate and Callum are reunited once more, lives and marriages are on the line once again. They just cannot stay away from each other and trouble is not far away from them.

Leaping forward and backward, it details the story of Callum and Kate and also that of their partners. It also comes with exceptionally strong and well-written characters who are easy to relate to and love.

Ruth Jones’ novel “Us Three” is a beautiful novel that is an exploration of the glue that keeps women together in lifelong friendships. Catrin, Judith, and Lana make their home in a small town in Wales and could not be better friends.

As eight-year-olds, they had sworn an oath on a curly wrapper vowing to always be friends. A decade later, we see them about to celebrate graduating from their A levels and the start of their adult lives with a trip to several beautiful islands in Greece.

The two women could not have been more different as they have different ambitions and backgrounds, even though they are bound by friendship and loyalty.

Following their holiday in Greece, their lives experience monumental change. Judith looks into the family history of her Cypriot father and finds some disturbing truths.
As for Catrin she gets her heart broken by a local man and it is not over yet. Still, Catrin remains the great glue that keeps them all together in this well-crafted story.

“Gavin and Stacey” is Ruth Jones’ most popular work that introduces Stacey and Gavin. Stacey happens to be your everyday girl from South Wales while Gavin is your everyday boy from Essex.
This combination made for a BAFTA award-winning comedy that would soon become one of the biggest shows in the United Kingdom right behind Little Britain. For the first time Stacey, Gavin, and their friends go on a journey from Billericay to Barry.

The author pens a beautiful story that includes an exploration of the family trees of the two leads, their character profiles, and maps of Billericay and Barry with key landmarks and key sights.
It also comes with some delicious vegetarian recipes, Nessa’s secret diary. We also get a look into how Nessa met John Prescott, while also getting insights into Stacey and Gavin’s relationship from way back.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Ruth Jones

Leave a Reply