Book Notification

Ruth P. Watson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Carrie Parker Books

Blackberry Days of Summer (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Elderberry Fall (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cranberry Winter (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Strawberry Spring (2050)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Hard Lessons (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Right Worthy Woman (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Ruth P. Watson

Ruth P. Watson is a highly regarded American novelist known for writing historical fiction set in the US. Her books, including titles like ‘Blackberry Days of Summer,’ ‘Cranberry Winter,’ and ‘An Elderberry Fall,’ stand out for their engaging plots and well-crafted characters. Living in Atlanta, Georgia, with her family, Watson juggles her time among various roles: she’s a business owner, an educator, and a writer. With a master’s degree to her name, she’s continues to release work at a rapid pace, along with documentaries. Her first book was even turned into a musical stage play, ‘Blackberry Daze,’ showing her stories can captivate audiences in more ways than one.

Watson’s talent lies in her ability to tell stories that readers find both entertaining and meaningful. The adaptation of her book into a stage play, ‘Blackberry Daze,’ highlights her skill in creating narratives that are as compelling on the page as they are onstage or on screen. She’s dedicated to her craft, constantly working on new projects, whether it be a novel or a documentary, proving her versatility and commitment as a writer.

What makes Watson’s writing special is how she creates characters that readers are drawn to and stories that fully immerse them in another time and place. Despite her busy life managing business, writing, and teaching duties, storytelling is clearly her passion. As fans continually look forward to her next project, it’s evident that Watson has much more to offer, promising future stories that are sure to engage and entertain her audience.

Early and Personal Life

Ruth P. Watson lives in Atlanta, Georgia, with her family, showcasing a strong dedication to both her writing and her role as an educator. Born and raised in Virginia, her background has undoubtedly played a role in shaping her interests in history and storytelling, traits that are evident in her work as an author. Watson’s engagement with writing is complemented by her efforts to educate others, particularly through her involvement in Atlanta’s film and television industry with her Step Up and Pitch It Summit.

Watson’s commitment extends beyond her personal projects to actively contribute to her community. She particularly focuses on educating people about the growing opportunities in Atlanta’s entertainment scene, bridging her love for storytelling with practical industry knowledge. This initiative not only underscores her passion for writing but also her desire to uplift and inform her community.

Furthermore, Watson has contributed to the cultural landscape of Atlanta through her work with the Fulton County Arts Council and her membership in Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. These roles highlight her commitment to cultural advocacy and education, serving as a source of inspiration and growth both for her and those around her. Watson’s life, interwoven with personal dedication and public service, reveals the depth of her involvement in the literary and educational fields.

Writing Career

Ruth P. Watson has made significant strides in her writing career, contributing notably to the literary world with her compelling narratives that span both series and standalone novels. Her ‘Carrie Parker’ series, beginning with ‘Blackberry Days of Summer’ in 2012 and extending through to ‘Strawberry Spring’ in 2018, explores vivid storytelling that has resonated with a diverse readership. Additionally, her works such as ‘Hard Lessons’ (2009) and ‘A Right Worthy Woman’ (2023) exemplify her versatility and skill in crafting stories that inspire and engage both children and adults across various genres.

Her noteworthy achievements include the adaptation of ‘Blackberry Days of Summer’ into the musical stage play ‘Blackberry Daze,’ which not only premiered on Alexandria Virginia’s Metro Stage in 2016 but also earned a Helen Hayes award nomination and a Suzi Bass award nomination. Watson’s talents have been recognized internationally, as evidenced by her receipt of the Caversham Writer’s Residency based in KwaZulu, South Africa, and her distinction as the 1st runner-up for the Frank Derby Literary Award.

With a continuing passion for writing, Watson’s career is far from over, promising more captivating stories for her audience in the years to come.

A Right Worthy Woman

Ruth P. Watson’s historical novel ‘A Right Worthy Woman’ was published on June 13, 2023. The book was published through Atria Books, seeing Watson continue her tradition of crafting engaging narratives that captivate readers.

This engrossing novel, set against the backdrop of Virginia’s Black Wall Street, celebrates the life of Maggie Lena Walker, the first Black woman to establish and lead a bank in America. Born to a formerly enslaved woman, Maggie’s early experiences fueled her determination to bridge the economic gap she witnessed between the Black community and the affluent white clientele her mother served.

Transitioning from a schoolteacher to a seminal figure in business, she founded a newspaper, a bank, and a department store that honored Black customers with dignity, supported by the likes of W.E.B. DuBois and Mary McLeod. Her story, richly detailed and emotionally potent, paints a vivid picture of a woman whose contributions profoundly shaped Richmond.

Watson masterfully celebrates Walker’s determination and achievements, making her historical contributions come alive. This book not only entertains but also educates, making it a must-read for those interested in America’s rich, yet often untold, history.

Blackberry Days of Summer

‘Blackberry Days of Summer,’ authored by Ruth P. Watson, was first introduced to readers on June 19, 2012. This captivating historical mystery was brought to the public by Strebor Books. Watson’s engaging narrative style and authenticity would once again make an impact.

As the echoes of The Great War fade, the peacefulness of Robert Parker’s funeral is disrupted by Herman Camm’s arrival, marking the start of significant upheaval for Mae Lou Parker, her daughter Carrie, and Pearl Brown. The drama escalates on Christmas Eve when Carrie uncovers a harrowing secret, setting off a chain of events that entangles them all with Herman, a man desired by many but truly known by few.

The tension peaks with Herman’s death by shotgun, leaving a cloud of suspicion over the women he wronged, despite a lackluster investigation by local authorities. ‘Blackberry Days of Summer’ intricately weaves a narrative of secrets, betrayal, and the redemptive power of forgiveness.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Ruth P. Watson

Leave a Reply