Book Notification

Rx for Love Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Rx For Love Books

The Doctor's Baby (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Love with John Doe (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Christmas Proposition (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
If the Ring Fits (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jackson Hole Valentine (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Doctor's Not-So-Little Secret (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
His Valentine Bride (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Doctor and Mr. Right (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Jackson Hole Homecoming (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
One Night with the Doctor (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Husband List (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ready, Set, I Do! (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The M.D.'s Unexpected Family (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Doctor's Valentine Dare (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Doctor's Runaway Fiancée (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

RX For Love is a series of contemporary romance novels written by Nebraska, USA resident Cindy Kirk. Kirk wrote the first novel in the series “The Doctors Baby” in 2014. The novel was well received among contemporary romance fans, and it was not long before it spawned the series that is still ongoing. The series of novels while having the same title does not have one unifying character or characters, with the plot lines and characters changing from novel to novel. Nonetheless, even with their varied characters and plots, the series of novels are all set in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, where the heroes and heroines try to find reconcile the fact that they have a baby together without intending to. The lead characters are typically people that never wanted to get children or get involved in one night stands only to find out later that their romp had resulted in a child. Cindy Kirk has always been a lover of romance, and she has been a voracious reader and writer of romance that loves to see the characters in her novels learn and grow from their mistakes. Despite asserting that she does not appreciate romance from her husband, preferring more practical expression of love, she is an eternal optimist and hence love that ultimately results in happy endings is one of her trademarks, that is especially prevalent in the RX For Love series.

The heroes in the series are engaged, involved, and strong men that rise out of adversity to turn compassion into heroic action. They have unique leadership abilities that set them apart from the typical men. Even as they are very different ranging from David Wahl the doctor to Nick Delacorte the lawyer, who go through traumatizing events only to re-emerge stronger. However, what is important to note is that even as they are strong they have their weaknesses and are far from perfect. Nonetheless, given these are men that have either been damaged by devastating events in their lives, they have a lot of internal conflict and imperfections which the heroines will help them overcome. For the most part, the role of the heroine is to help the men believe in life, family and love, an aspect of life that they had lost hope in. Similarly, the heroines have intense internal focus and resourcefulness that is typically challenged when they meet the hero. From heroines such as Kate who comes to Jackson Hole to fulfill the need of seeing her daughter only to find rekindled love much the same happens to other heroines. The female characters have an unfulfilled needed and a sense of purpose in their lives that they hardly know they have until they run into the strong men who reveal to them their deepest desires. The hero in turn after feeling unwanted and overwhelmed at first, comes into his own filling the void in the woman’s heart. Of course, it is important to remember that for the RX For Love series it is the aspect of having a child together and coming to that knowledge that is the catalyst that spurs the two characters onto a journey that culminates in happily ever after.

The RX for Love Series is a gripping read of contemporary novels, and one of the best novels that Cindy Kirk has ever written. The novels have a little of the cozy romance interspersed with a little Christian Romance, which means that the sex is not as explicit as you would find in a pure contemporary romance. Unlike many of her contemporaries, Kirk includes many themes and settings in her novels including the community, men cooking at home, country clubs, small town life, and the church among others to make for very well balanced narratives. Conflict, emotion, and passion offered in accurate historical context of the small American town make for a thrilling ride. But where the novels really excel at is the depiction of ardent romance that are full of heart string tugging sensations that will get to any contemporary romance. Getting the characters to maintain the intrigue and fascination throughout a novel is hard work and Cindy Kirk does this very well by keeping the main secret of the baby hidden for as long as possible. After the secret is revealed, she maintains the tension for as long as possible as the characters deal with their internal conflicts, which makes for one exhilarating ride and a hugely satisfying happy ending.

“The Doctor’s Baby” is the charming first novel in the Rx For Love series of love. The novel is about David Wahl a doctor, and July Greer a photographer. The story opens to a heavily pregnant Julia in labor with David as the attending doctor delivering the baby. Even as David is delivering the child, he has a feeling that he knows the woman, until he suddenly remembers her from the one nightstand he had about nine months back. He reckons that the baby boy he has just delivered may just be his. Confronting July, she lies to his face telling him the child is not his, given that she has heard reports that the doctor is a married man. But what she does not know is that the David had been married but had lost his wife a year before their meeting, leaving him a widower. Now that she has all the information, she finds it hard to tell David that he is the father of her child. Moreover, given an abusive upbringing at the hands of her mother, she has issues with confrontation and apologizing. She folds in on herself and does not have the courage to tell David the truth every time she tries. Will she get over her issues and give their relationship a chance and her baby a family.

“In Love with John Doe”, the second novel in the series presents irresistible charm, smarts, and potent sex appeal. Lexi Brennan the social worker has been assigned to one of the most unusual of patients. The man she is supposed to take care of has everything but an identity – he does not know who he is. He had been skiing when an avalanche took him down, and in the process buried his ID and memory leaving him stranded in the town. For Lexi who had once upon a time believed she needed no one but herself to be happy, she is starting to have second thoughts. The man in the hospital room happens to be Nick Delacorte, a successful Dallas attorney who had been drawn to the warmth and wit of Lexi the moment he had been wheeled into his room. Now that he is getting close to her, he is afraid the memories he is trying so hard to get back may just uncover other ties he never knew he had. He had opened his heart to Lexi and her daughter and all he wanted was to make room for them in his life. Will his memories allow him to do so, or will they destroy his chance at love?

Book Series In Order » Characters » Rx for Love

Leave a Reply