Book Notification

Ryan La Sala Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Anthologies

Faeries Never Lie(2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Ryan La Sala
Ryan La Sala spent his childhood in Connecticut, however, only physically. He grew up in a quaint neighborhood with his three siblings and three parents. Mentally, he spent much of his time in the worlds of “Xena: Warrior Princess” and “Sailor Moon”, which possibly explains all of the twirling.

Ryan studied Neuroscience and Anthropology at Northeastern University before he became a project manager specializing in digital tools.

Technically, he lives in New York City, but has transcended material reality and just takes up a human shell for certain special occasions such as brunch, and to watch anime (something that is banned on the astral plane). He loves CATS the musical in an unironic way.

He lives in a house festooned in decorations from theme parties of the past, where television alternates between Sailor Moon, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and Kingdom Hearts. When not writing, he does listens to NPR while cooking, arts and crafts, or lounging on gym equipment like a pampered heiress.

For anybody wondering, he writes about drag queens, however is not regularly in drag himself. He doesn’t have the nose for it, and that is okay.

Ryan worked on “Reverie” for a decade. It is a story that he told himself in high school, when he was the same exact age as the characters, and wrote the novel as a reaction to all the predominantly heterosexual focus of books meant for him during that time.

He finished writing the first real draft of the novel shortly after he finished college in the year 2014. He queried it, failed, then queried again, failed, and again, before he found the time to re-write a significant amount of years later. Finally, he got a draft he was happy with. He queried this, and everybody hated it.

Growing up, he spent a lot of his summers as a little kid running around Provincetown, a popular performance spot for queens, and he was enamored with each and every queen he saw. Drag queens are very powerful, just by the nature of their ability to create a whole fiction around themselves. They are the collision between power, fantasy, and self-possession, and Ryan admires the raw individuality it takes to create yourself each day.

“Reverie” has a lot to do with having the guys to manifesting the sorts of things you believe in, and for him there is nobody more prepared to do that than a drag queen. Anybody else could command the forces that Poesy commands, but like the novel shows, nobody is nearly as willing, or anywhere as determined.

Writing Kane was something that was familiar to Ryan. Like him, Ryan was outed at a super young age, and he knows the peculiar loneliness that a life apart enforces even when you’re surrounded by people that love you. Ryan hopes Kane is a character that finds a home in the hearts of readers that know what it is like to keep whole worlds inside your head.

In college, his studies took him away from creative writing. He found his way back, however, after graduating college and resumed his job working as an ice cream scooper back in his hometown. It was during the winter since he graduated one semester early. He had enough sugar and the time. So he finished the novel and it became his one and only book.

“Reverie” was selected as the January YA Book Club selection for Barnes & Noble, a Kids’ Indie Next List pick, a YA Book of the Month selection, and was a Readerlink Book Buzz pick for December.

Ryan’s debut novel, called “Reverie”, was released in the year 2019. His work is from the young adult fantasy genre.

“Reverie” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2019. This is a story about what happens when the secret worlds people keep hidden inside themselves come to light.

All that Kane Montgomery is sure about is that the cops found him half-dead in the river. He is unable to remember anything since the accident that robbed him of his memories a few weeks prior. The world feels different, reality, too, appears to be different.

When three of his classmates claim they are his friends, and the only ones able to tell him what is really going on, he doesn’t know who he can trust or just what to believe. He and the others get dragged into unimaginable worlds that materialize out of nowhere, the gym warps right into a subterranean temple. One historical home close by blossoms into a Victorian romance rife with sorcery and scandal. It is then that he realizes that not a single thing in his life is really an accident, and he is the only one able to stop their whole entire world from falling apart.

“Be Dazzled” is the second stand alone novel and was released in the year 2021. Raffy has got a passion for bedazzling. As well as stitching, sewing, pattern making, and draping for creation. He has always picked his art over everything, and everybody, else. Now he is determined to make his mark at this year’s largest cosplay competition. If he is able to wow there, it might lead to sponsorship, then art school, and finally earning some real respect for all of his work. There is just a tiny problem. Luca, Raffy’s ex-boyfriend, is his main competition.

Raffy attempted making things work out with Luca. They just about made the perfect team the previous year after serendipitously meeting at the local craft store in the rhinestone aisle. Raffy thought they did, anyway. Raffy’s insistence to craft perfection and Luca’s insecurities caused their relationship to crash. Raffy is going after the perfect comeback. One that not even Luca cannot ruin.

When Raffy is required to partner with Luca on his most ambitious build to date, he is going to have to juggle unresolved feelings for the guy that broke his heart, and his own intense self-doubt. This is in order to get what he has ever wanted: choosing his art, and do so his way.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Ryan La Sala

Leave a Reply