Book Notification

S.A. Barnes Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Bitter Pill (As: Stacey Kade) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
For This Life Only (As: Stacey Kade) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Finding Felicity (As: Stacey Kade) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Silence (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghost Station (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cold Eternity (2025)Description / Buy at Amazon

S.A. Barnes is an award winning science fiction author best known for her 2022 published work “Dead Silence.”

A high school librarian by day and author by night, Barnes has written in many genres over the years under his other pseudonym Stacey Kade. After writing in all manner of genres, she finally decided to try her hand at horror as she grew up reading the works of Stephen King.

The master of horror had him having nightmares for weeks following her reading of “Pet Sematary” when she was in high school. As such, when she was writing about her lead character’s encounters, she drew on those memories and the fears she had after reading it.

In school, S.A. Barnes was a shy nerdy kid that often read “Star Trek” novels in class. Given how frequently her family moved, she often found himself the new kid in class without friends.

She would often script interactions and conversational lines in her head and it was not long before she was exhibiting OCD. She was lucky to discover horror novels when she was in middle school as she found them a great escape.

She remembers reading the works of Dean Koontz, Stephen King, Steven Charles and Christopher Pike over and over again. She believes she was drawn to horror as he could relate to the characters who were out of their depth and terrified to death with anxiety just as she was.

It took her years of professional help but her experiences battling anxiety have significantly impacted her work even if it has been in a positive way. Her obsessive focus on detail makes for some very detailed scenes and plots, even as she focuses on characters who do not particularly trust themselves.

S.A. Barnes does not particularly know where she got the idea for her blockbuster. She believes that it was a product of piecing together several items from her loves and experiences.

For much of her life, she has been obsessed with the Titanic and this is clearly seen in this work. It is also no secret that she always held a fascination with shipwrecks, even if she was sad at the loss of life.

Another thing she also loved was abandoned spaces. She finds places the most frightening spaces to be where there are signs of people, signs of life but hardly any living human being.

The teacup found still upright on the ocean floor, the single jacket left at the Eilean Mor lighthouse and the piece of bread frozen in time in Pompeii. She also wanted to know about the people who used those items last and how they had lived their lives.

S.A. Barnes’ novel Dead Silence shows why she is a critically acclaimed author whose novels are read by audiences across the world. The novel combines horror and science fiction as the reader is led through a horrifying journey, featuring a doomed crew right from the get go.

It first introduced Claire Kovalik, the protagonist and heroine, at a corporate rehabilitation facility where she is being interrogated. She is being pressed to provide information about the amazing discovery of the aurora and her missing colleagues.

The Aurora happens to be the most unique luxury star liner that had disappeared and not been seen for more than two decades. The story then goes back and forth between the past and present converging in an epic final act.

It is a perfect combination of science fiction and horror that will have you on the edge of your seat.

Book Series In Order » Authors » S.A. Barnes

Leave a Reply