S.B. Divya Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Machinehood (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Runtime (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Microbiota and the Masses (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Loss of Signal (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Contingency Plans for the Apocalypse And Other Possible Situations (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

Escape Pod(2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

A saying soberly pipes thus: nothing ventured, nothing gained. This is the subtext of S.B. Divya’s debut novel wherein the main character is egged on to pursue a career that she is not interested in at all, prompting a career switch. The character sacrifices nursing education at the altar of her aspirations, albeit a worthwhile gamble.

Author S.B. Divya’s occupation is a melting pot of professions. Why, S.B. Divya is a writer, blogger, and an experienced electrical engineer, all rolled into one! Divya, who is a quadragenarian, was born in 1975. Divya is a science enthusiast, Mathematics lover, and has a soft spot for literature and grammar rules. She previously rummaged through the slush pile before a promotion came her way in Escape Pod; presently, Divya’s role is that of an assistant editor. For her university education, S.B. Divya pursued Computational Neuroscience plus Signal Processing, and she is a past master at those sectors.

S.B. Divya, who has worked as an engineer in a career spanning two decades, prefers to write especially short fiction. Divya’s work has appeared in notable publications among them the science fiction-oriented online magazine named Daily Science Fiction, the weekly journal called Nature, and the online magazine called Lightspeed.

S.B. Divya has coauthored literary works with various authors among them M. Darusha Wehm, archivist Beth Goder, poet Barry Charman, short story writer Amy Griswold, and Russell Reed among many others. Divya, who disregards stereotypes and her literary works particularly revolve around feminism, family life, and futurism.

Section on Books
Author S.B. Divya debuted relatively recently. Presently, there are three editions of the first book authored by Divya. The first edition was initially published in May 2016, titled Runtime. This book, which a standalone novel, is shelved under the science fiction (especially cyberpunk sub-genre), novella, and speculative fiction genres.

Mary Margaret Guinto or, better still, Marmeg Guinto, is the featured protagonist in the S.B. Divya’s novel Runtime. Meet Marmeg Guinto, an American national of Filipino ancestry. There are many adjectives that can describe Guinto, a youthful woman; Guinto, who thinks beyond her limits, is ambitious, determined, laudable, optimistic, selfless, creative, adorable, somewhat naive, twelve, and defiant. Guinto, who has a progressive mentality, is a risk-taker, independent minded, and gives scant credence to old norms and practices. She was a bouncer at a regional club, is a computer expert, and loves the thrills and spills. On the flip side, Guinto’s family is not financially stable.

Marmeg Guinto’s mother prompted Guinto to attend a school of nursing and go into formal employment thereafter. However, Guinto’s believes that the gateway to a successful life both for her and her siblings is not education. She prefers to be at the coalface which, in this context, is a nerve-wracking contest.

The turning point in S.B. Divya’s first book, which is a novella titled Runtime, is the said contest. Incidentally, the contest is a sort of computer-aided sports adventure wherein the participants are clad in exoskeletons. The rough and tough contest, which is dubbed Minerva Sierra Challenge and is daylong, takes place in a Californian mountain range called Sierra Nevada. There is no discrimination and anyone can participate in the contest. However, the participants are being sponsored by companies and
have technical support. As such, Guinto, who is self-sponsored, has neither equipment nor the necessary support; she sticks out like a sore thumb. Fortunately for her, she can adapt and improvise. She improvises things collected from garages to get the desired equipment.

Hoping to win the challenge, Marmeg Guinto diverts her tuition fees from the initially intended purpose to preparations for the contest. Guinto is inspired by several factors. First, she is angling for breaking the yoke of poverty wherein the downtrodden cannot cater for the basic requirements including basic education and healthcare services. Secondly, she is looking forward to winning and, subsequently, making a positive impact on the life of her sibling who is readjusting to civilian life hard on the heels of being discharged from military service. Lastly, Guinto, an amateur competitor, hopes to become win the event, become a professional and, consequently, attract sponsors in the future.

The ensuing story as Guinto tackles a plethora of problems including a difficult landscape, infighting among the contestants, and situations necessitating desperate measures, is out-and-out delightful. S.B. Divya expertly tackles socio-technology in this futuristic novella, albeit fleetingly, a stamp of approval that it deserved being nominated for the prestigious Nebula Award.

S. B. Divya Awards
In 2016, S.B. Divya was nominated for the Nebula Award. Divya’s nomination was in the Best Novella category and she was nominated courtesy of her novella titled Runtime.

Best S. B. Divya Books
The following are the best books authored by S.B. Divya. The first one is Runtime, by virtue of being nominated for the Nebula Award. The said novella has been described in a previous section. The second one is Microbiota and the Masses. This short story which was first published in early 2017, features protagonist Moena Sivaram; Sivaram is a youthful, intelligent and prosperous Indian scientist. Wary of the extensive pollution in India, Sivaram stays away from the mainstream society. But when she finds Rahul, her heartthrob, Sivaram disregards her fears and risks her well-being to get him.

The third one is a short stoty entitled The Boy Who Made Flowers which is contained in a 2016 collection called Mothership Zeta, fourth issue. S.B. Divya’s story revolves around Charlie Kim, a child character that is tackling a problematic and good-for-nothing superpower.

Other Book Series You May Like
Readers who liked the books authored by S.B. Divya also liked the following series of books. The first one is called The Indranan War series, authored by K.B. Wagers. This trilogy features empress and orphan Hail Bristol, formerly a gun-runner. Bristol’s parents are killed, prompting her to look for allies to quell a looming war and reassert her authority. The second one is called Assassin series, penned by Tim Lebbon. This is also a trilogy and features protagonist Gabriel, a handicapped and injured fighter who is on the quest for killing a malicious demon.

The third one is called Daedalus series, authored by Michael J. Martinez. The protagonist is Shaila Jain, an experienced lieutenant commander; the trilogy is about manned interplanetary missions wherein various nations have a vested interest, leading to conflicts and prompting uprooted aliens to invade Earth.


Book Series In Order » Authors » S.B. Divya

Leave a Reply

No Responses to “S.B. Divya”