S.D. Perry Books In Order

Publication Order of Resident Evil Books

The Umbrella Conspiracy (1998) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Caliban Cove (1998) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
City of the Dead (1999) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Underworld (1999) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Nemesis (2000) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Code: Veronica (2001) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Zero Hour (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Timecop (1994) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Virus (1998) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wonder Woman (2008) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Summer Man (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Aliens Books

The Female War (1993) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Labyrinth (1996) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Berserker (1998) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Aliens vs. Predator Books

Prey (1994) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
War (1996) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Xena: Warrior Princess Books

Prophecy of Darkness (1997) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Star Trek: Deep Space Nine Books

The Avatar, Book One (2001) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Avatar, Book Two (2001) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Rising Son (2002) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Unity (2003) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Star Trek: Section 31 Books

Cloak (2001) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Star Trek: Terok Nor Books

Night of the Wolves (2008) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dawn of the Eagles (2008) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Aliens Books

Criminal Enterprise (2008) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Star Trek Books

Inception (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Lara Croft: Tomb Raider Books

Path of the Apocalypse (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

SD Perry
Stephani Danelle Perry (SD Perry), born in 1970, is a novelist living in Portland, Oregon. She lives with Myk (her husband) and two kids (Myk Jr and Cyrus), as well as their two dogs. Her dad is television and science fiction writer Steve Perry.

She prefers to be called Danelle or SD, and writes original horror stories when she is not on a deadline for contracted something.

She is best known for writing tie-in novels and novelizations of movies, based off works in the science-fiction/fantasy/horror genre, a job she has done for her entire adult life. Perry also writes under the pen names of Stephani Perry and Stella Howard.

Danelle has always written. Her first poem, which she wrote when she was eight, was about her cat. She began keeping a journal during her tween years, and wrote in it pretty much every day into her twenties. By that time, she had started getting published.

She has never tried to write a screenplay. Early on, she got a book about screenwriting, but felt the format was much too rigid for her. Plus, visuals are not at all her strong suit.

The author that is her biggest influence is Stephen King. She read “The Shining” at the age of ten, and has wanted to write ever since.

Danelle also got into writing because her dad is a writer, too, and he was nice enough to throw her some work. He had gotten backlogged while he was writing novelizations of graphic novels for Dark Horse, and offered SD the chance to co-write one with him. They wound up doing two together and she got work on her own after that. It is what she has been doing ever since.

Her favorite of the “Star Trek” television series is the original, with her favorite characters being “The Big Three”: McCoy, Kirk, and Spock. One reason she likes Spock is for his ‘pure animal magnetism’. SD has some fond memories from her childhood of Kirk and Spock.

In the original, there were quite a few big names doing the scripts, and, for their time, they were very original for television. SD admits there is a camp appeal, but she is still convinced that there is some very clean and highly risky writing.

She feels the show is an integral part of society. It is also an entertainment phenomena, much like Star Wars or the Beatles, and there is an awesome amount of talent that is associated with each form the show has taken.

She does find, though, that Deep Space Nine has more dimension to it, from a writing standpoint. At least in terms of running plot lines is concerned.

During the fourth season of “Star Trek: Deep Space Nine”, Perry began watching the show. Many of the characters on the show are some of her favorite Star Trek characters, including Quark, Elim Garak, and Weyoun.

She saw an early copy of “A Stitch in Time” by Andrew Robinson, a story that focuses on Garak. She described the novel as total genius without a ghost writer, and found the story adds a new dimension to a strange character.

Danelle got the gig writing for Deep Space Nine because a brilliant editor liked her video game novelizations she had done. When he began editing for Deep Space Nine, he asked her about writing a short story for the Dax anthology, which she did. After that, they began talking about books.

While writing something, she puts on her iPod and blasts the music loud enough in order to drown out her family. This way she can give what she is writing her total attention and block out all distractions.

Before she wrote the “Resident Evil” novels, she was a big fan of the first game, and was still inside the mansion when she got hired to write the first book. Her original contract was for a total of four books, two original and two based off of the first two games. This means she played the first two games extensively. Since she was such a fanatic for details, she got so that she could finish the first game in less than two hours.

The second game she played quite a bit, but not nearly as much as the first one. Then she found game guides. She played the other games, too, but would cheat to get through them, using the guides to outline.

A lot of character stuff she made up herself, although her editor helped her out, coming up with background stuff for some characters. It was also his idea to include the mysterious Trent character.

She wrote the “Resident Evil” novels during her mid-20s, slamming out a first draft over the course of just a few weeks, always late on her deadline. She was not all that great of a writer at the time, but she did not know it then. “Caliban Cove” is probably her favorite novel that she had written, since it was the first one she wrote that she was able to have some real creative control over.

She will only sometimes outline the books before she writes them. For one book, she knew the characters and the setting. While she was writing, the plot just played out. With her contract work, she usually outlines more, since she is on the clock and is unable to meander.

When she works in some shared universe, she is a fan of whatever the material is, and that is her job. Just be a fan and attempt to keep this feeling as she writes. This means that her favorite IP to write for is whatever she happens to be working on at the time.

Danelle enjoys capturing the flavor of the property and put it in her words. The she writes has got its fans for a reason, and she feels it is her job to locate that reason write like a fan. She likes working with characters created by somebody else, attempting to keep them all consistent, which is something of a challenge for her.

Looking back at her early work, she will cringe. However, she will cringe when looking at later work, too.


Book Series In Order » Authors » S.D. Perry