Book Notification

S.D. Smith Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Green Ember Books

Publication Order of Green Ember Archer Books

The Last Archer (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The First Fowler (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Archer's Cup (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Jack Zulu Books

with J.C.Smith
Jack Zulu and the Waylander's Key (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jack Zulu and the Girl with Golden Wings (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Tales Of Old Natalia Books

The Black Star of Kingston (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wreck & Rise of Whitson Mariner (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prince Lander and the Dragon War (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Found Boys (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

S D Smith
S D Smith is an inspirational author who was in the runner’s up for Children’s Book of the Year with World Magazine, the Fiction Award in West Virginia, and Audiobook of the Year with Audible’s kids. The West Virginia native is also a husband and a father of four. When he is not writing, Smith enjoys spending time with family or touring Africa, the Caribbean, and other parts of the world.

The Green Ember
The Green Ember is the first book in The Green Ember series. The book stars Heather and Picket, two rabbits who get caught up in the struggle between good and evil. Heather and Picket are siblings, and they are just beginning to learn about their family history through their father’s bedtime stories when their home is attacked. The wolves’ attack separate the rabbit family. Heather and Picket find themselves in an expected adventure where they will have to fight against many odds and transform into better versions of themselves.

After the separation, the two siblings are joined by an uncle who guides them into safety. In their safe warren, they make many loyal friends, but they also have a few enemies. As the siblings find their place in the new community, they discover some family connections that only fuel the rising tension. There are also rumors about a looming wolves’ attack, the politics surrounding King Jupiter’s heir, and everyone in the community yearning to have a safe home. All these conditions collide, and Picket and Heather’s loyalty and character are put to the test.

Through these characters, the author highlights the consequences of bitterness, betrayal, and the importance of fighting for our homes. To sum it all up, this is an epic drama featuring rabbits with swords, a missing heir, and wicked wolves who will not let the rabbits live in peace. You will enjoy watching Picket as he struggles with resentments and his journey to self-discovery as other significant characters transform.

The author puts a lot of emphasis on art by highlighting how important every rabbit’s craftmanship skills benefit the community. Away from all the action are some thought-provoking ideas, and it helps that this story glorifies whatever is true, good, and beautiful. The characters are well fleshed out, and it is admirable how they handle betrayal, danger, and frequent drawbacks. Despite the battles, there is always hope, and it is admirable how the older generation is keen to pass some wisdom to the young ones. This story comes with many slogans that will easily stick to your mind.
The Green Ember is a beautiful story that is often referred to as the Children’s version of Lord of the Rings. This story will not only hold your attention but also teach you a thing or two about life, friendship, and adventure. If you are looking for an intriguing story that is perfect for both children and adults, this here is a great choice. The book comes complete with fantastic furry animals, enough lessons, and a beautiful ending. Any kid from 4th grade going upwards should be able to read and understand this story. While the book is designed with the children in mind, the content is excellent, even for adults. This is a great book the whole family can read together.
Ember Falls
Ember Falls is the second book in The Green Ember series. The stage is prepared for war, and Morbin Blackhawk is threatening to end the rabbit resistance for good. While Picket and Heather have formed an alliance with other like-minded individuals, all indications are that this alliance will fail. What can these two siblings do to save the day? Can they win against rivals who see advantaged in every way? Once again, we get to follow the rabbits on their adventure as the war between good and evil rages.

In this story, we see Picket grow to become a capable leader with his elite squadron. It is sweet how he loves and cares for Heather and Emma. While he still has some flaws, Picket has evolved comparing with how he is introduced in the first book. Heather is also lovable, and you will like how she cares and spreads hope in situations that seem desperate. Uncle Wilfred continues to spread his wisdom, and the advice he offers on inner battles will leave you sniffing. Other characters who develop a great deal in this story include Lord Ramnor, Lord Rake, and Helmer.

This plot is thickened with self-sacrifice, betrayal, and conflicted loyalties. The rabbits will be involved in fierce battles, and death will come crushing in their door. With severe injuries and fatalities to deal with, hard decisions will have to be made. Pickett and Heather are in the middle of it all, and while they have seen many victories, the Mended Wood remains a dream. The situation looks hopeless, and the hero and heroine must make a decision to quit or continue with their quest and watch as their friends die.

This book, just like its predecessor, is filled with action and adventure. The sword-wielding rabbits are still in plenty, but there is also a good number of unforeseen twists and turns. This second book is a bit longer and complex than the Green Ember, mostly because the characters are also growing. That said, the book still points the reader to the truth, and there are many things young readers can learn from the rabbits’ experiences.

Like the first book in the series, Ember Falls will fill your soul with goodness, truth, and beauty. While the main characters are rabbits, this story tells how it feels to be human. Life comes with fear and struggles, but there is also hope and love. The characters in this story have the same choices we get. Each one of them can choose courage, sacrifice, loyalty, betrayal, or selfishness, but they have to remember that these choices come with consequences. This is yet another intriguing story that will leave you yearning for more. Join the rabbits on their adventure and get to see how they are willing to fight for the good of everyone else.

Book Series In Order » Authors » S.D. Smith

Leave a Reply