Book Notification

S.D. Tooley Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Chase Dagger Mysteries Books

as Lee Driver
The Good Die Twice (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Full Moon-Bloody Moon (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unseen (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chasing Ghosts (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fatal Storm (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Vaporizer (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nightfall (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Remy and Roadkill Mystery Books

Publication Order of Sam Casey Mystery Books

When the Dead Speak (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nothing Else Matters (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Restless Spirit (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Echoes from the Grave (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
What Lies Within (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Destiny Kills (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tunnel (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Mysteries to Die For (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

S.D. Tooley is the pen name of Lee Driver. She is an American novelist that writes fantasy and paranormal mystery novels. She was raised near Chicago, Illinois. She read Nancy Drew books voraciously as a young woman and as a teenager. As she got older, her taste in reading evolved and she found a new love in horror, devouring the books of Dean Koontz, Stephen King, and James Patterson. Tooley considers all of the three authors to be strong influences for her writing.

Lee Driver has worked in many different fields and jobs. She has worked as a sales assistant, a car salesman, an administrative assistant, a casino dealer, and a seminar coordinator. She is currently very happy as a published author and she says that her husband describes her as ‘strange’ if he has to use one word. Tooley has previously subscribed to the UFO reporter from Dr. J. Allen Hyneks. She describes her interests as all over the place.

S.D. Tooley is the author of the Chase Dagger series and the Sam Casey series. Chase Dagger is a private detective that according to Tooley (writing as Lee Driver), he seems to get the most unusual cases handed to him. This series combines horror, fantasy, and even science fiction sometimes.

The Sam Casey series has eight books and it features the Detective Sergeant Samantha Casey. This detective is tough and has an advantage that other cops certainly don’t have– she can speak to the dead. The deceased all decide frequently to come to her and she hears their secrets, both about their lives and their deaths. But sometimes, what you find out about others can get you killed. She says that the series is sort of like the television show Medium, but with a Native American Twist that combines the paranormal with mystery.

S.D. Tooley is also the author of the Remy and Roadkill series, a traditional mystery series that is directed toward teenagers and young adults. The Skull is the first book in the series and it is intended for people who are ages eleven and up. She is a fan of the television show C.S.I. and wanted to put an aptitude for forensics in each of the teens in her books.

She first became a published author in 1999. This is the year when she published When the Dead Speak as well as The Good Die Twice (the last one being written under pen name Lee Driver). Her books are available in the U.K., U.S., and E.U. in large print, audiobook, and eBook formats when they are not physically available. She has contributed to the Mysteries to Die For collection, which was published in 2011.

When the Dead Speak is the first of the Sam Casey mystery series. It was published in 1999. It stars the main character of Sam Casey, who works as a police detective sergeant. Not only that but she is part Native American. These ties that she has to her ancestry are the well-kept secret that she has, as it lets her hear what the dead have to say. And they do have quite a bit to spill, so Sam is always ready to listen.

When a body is found encased securely in a cement pillar, the hair on everyone’s neck in town goes up. But far more intriguing than a potential suicide or murder is the gold pin held in the victim’s hand. It is a male, and in his hand held tightly is a pin that is shaped like a lightning bolt. No one knows what it is, but the fact that he is holding it must mean something– it must be symbolic. Did this young man take a secret to his grave, and did he decide to take it there or did someone make this happen? Sam Casey is full of questions, and she’s not the only one.

When things start to come out about the deceased man found in the pillar, Casey has more than she can handle. With a plate that is more than full and the puzzle pieces adding up, The man was a soldier during the Korean War that was serving for the United States when he was reported as going A.W.O.L. When a state representative has a pin that is identical to the one that the dead soldier has, the plot thickens.

Sam is even more confused when she finds a pin that is identical to the ones that she is familiar with. But she doesn’t find it just anywhere; she finds it in the jewelry box her father has. Immediately Casey is full of questions. Did her father know the deceased? Her father had worked as an investigative reporter. Casey wonders what it was that he had been working on when he died years ago. She doesn’t know whether having the pin was tied to a story that he was doing or whether he was personally tied to this pin. What is the story behind it?

With more questions than answers, the Detective Inspector sets out to find out what happened. With some tips coming from the dead, can Sam Casey unravel the mystery and finally find out what the pin means? Or will it be a dead end? This fictional story involves cover-ups and more. Pick up this exciting novel and find out what happens and what that gold pin really means.

The second book in the Sam Casey mystery series is titled Nothing Else Matters. It was published in 2000 and won the Book of the Year Award from ForeWord Magazine for the category of Best Mystery. In this exciting sequel in the series, a man is discovered murdered on a riverboat. The boat is a floating casino, and the victim is Reverend Emmett Smith. He was a big-time opponent of gambling.

It was supposed to be a gun for hire that is known by the code name Sparrow. But someone kills his target before he can pull the trigger. On top of that, the Reverend had fifty grand on him– and the money is fake. Soon Sparrow realizes that he was paid a counterfeit fee, and he is mad. Someone is going to pay.

After her last case, Sam is having a tough time with some life changes. But the murder wakes her up and makes her suddenly become interested in the case. When she is hired by the casino owners to figure out who killed the Reverend so they can be cleared from involvement in the death, she’s got to figure out who had it out for the ‘religious’ man. Over and over she keeps hearing a phrase in her head that might be linked to the case. Can she solve it? Pick up this exciting murder mystery novel and find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » S.D. Tooley

One Response to “S.D. Tooley”

  1. Marilyn Sticht: 8 months ago

    Love your books


Leave a Reply