Book Notification

S.E. Hinton Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Outsiders (1967)Description / Buy at Amazon
That Was Then, This Is Now (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rumble Fish (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tex (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
Taming the Star Runner (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hawkes Harbor (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Children's Books

The Puppy Sister (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Picture Books

Big David, Little David (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Some of Tim's Stories (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

S. E. Hinton, who started writing during her schooling days and went on to produce an acclaimed book, was inspired by two rival groups. Meet her.

S. E. Hinton is an American woman of letters. Hinton, who is a sexagenarian, was born in July 1948. Her birthplace is Tulsa upon Oklahoma; incidentally, a considerable number of her books are set in the backdrop of Oklahoma. Her birth name is Susan Eloise Hinton. She studied at Will Rogers High School and is an alumna of University of Tulsa. Hinton was an ardent reader even during her formative years, and, when she came of age, she developed a soft spot for the literary works of especially American scribbler F. Scott Fitzgerald, and English authors Jane Austen and Mary Renault.

S. E. Hinton penned her first book while schooling at Will Rogers High School. There were two rival groups in yonder place: one of them was a subculture called the Greasers while the other one was an upper social class called the Socs. Hinton sided with the Greasers and her book was fronting for the said group. Hinton’s writing ambition is three-pronged: she writes to convey her opinions, improve her imagination, and to cash in on her writing skills. She was prompted to truncate her name by her publisher who thought that her feminine name might have warranted her book’s outright dismissal by male critics.

Descriptions of Two Early Books
S. E. Hinton debuted in 1967. Her debut book is called The Outsiders. There are over 145 editions of this book. However, the first edition was initially published in 1967 and the book is shelved as young adult literature, juvenile literature, realistic fiction, classic, coming of age, and historical fiction genres.

Incidentally, S. E. Hinton had a damnable writer’s block coupled with depression hard on the heels of the fame resulting from the instant hit of her debut book. Her partner, then merely a boyfriend, encouraged her to write a couple of pages daily to surmount her situation. And thus her second book was produced; presently, there are over forty editions of that book but the first one was initially published in 1971 and it is classified under the same genres like the first one.

On the one hand, The Outsiders, which is set in Oklahoma, revolves around two social statuses. Based on protagonist Ponyboy’s opinion, basically, the world comprises of two groups: the Socs and the Greasers. The former are the “haves” while the latter are the “have-nots”. The Socs see material wealth as the gateway to anything and everything while the Greasers are somewhat social outcasts of the Socs and they have to watch over their shoulders constantly. Ponyboy proudly associates himself with the Greasers and is even willing to sacrifice his comfort at the altar of their welfare. Unfortunately for Ponyboy, a Soc is murdered by a fellow Greaser called Johnny. It is a painful reminder that whether one identifies with either the Greasers or Socs, it is vanity where a human life is concerned.

By the same token, her second book revolves around two childhood friends called Bryon and Mark who are teenagers. Both of them have been leading criminal lives wherein they mugged to get money. But an unfortunate nightly incident wherein a bar proprietor was killed drives a wedge between their relationship.

S. E. Hinton Awards
Author S. E. Hinton has clinched some awards. For instance, in 1988, she clinched the Margaret A. Edwards Award, which was proffered by American Library Association’s young adult division. She was awarded for the books written between 1967 and 1979.

In 1991, S. E. Hinton clinched the Anne V. Zarrow Award, wherein Tulsa Library Trust rewards notable works in the Young Readers’ Literature category. In 1988, Oklahoma State University inducted Hinton into its Oklahoma Writers Hall of Fame.

S. E. Hinton Books into Movies
There are several film adaptations of this scribbler’s books. Her 1967 book The Outsiders was adapted and is similarly titled; it was produced in 1983 and starred C. Thomas Howell who played as Ponyboy Curtis. In 1983, the 1975 book titled Rumble Fish, Hinton’s third book, was adapted for the screen; it retained the title and the starring actor is Matt Dilion who appeared as Rusty-James.

Hinton’s forth book titled Tex, initially published in 1979, was produced in 1982; the starring was Mat Dillon and co-starred Jim Metzler, who appeared as siblings Tex McCormick and Mason McCormick. Lastly, Hinton’s 1975 book named was produced in 1985; the starring actors are famed American actor Estevez alongside Craig Eric Sheffer who appeared as Byron Douglas and Mark Jennings, respectively.

Best S. E. Hinton Books
The scribbler’s first three books are the best books in her bibliography. The first two have been described previously. Rumble Fish was initially published in 1975 and the featured protagonist is Rusty-James. Rusty-James is a rough and tough high school student; he is not clever at school but is street-smart, and is inspired by his elder brother who has a penchant for high motorcycles. Rusty-James also looks up to the brother when he gets himself into mischief. By and by, his brother’s unavailability leaves Rusty-James to his own devices.

Other Book Series You May Like
Voracious readers this penwoman’s books also checked out these series of books. The first one is The Pigman series penned by Paul Zindel. This chronicles the life of protagonist Angelo Pignati, who has a penchant for animal statues. The second one is the Tillerman Cycle series authored by Cynthia Voigt. This features child characters that learn how to be independent after they stop living sheltered lives. The subtext is stoicism in the face of problems.

The third one is the Chocolate War series penned by Robert Cormier. It is all about a quick succession of power plays wherein an administrator of a high school, whereby protagonist Jerry Renault is schooling, wants to make Renault his pawn. But when Renault, whose mother passed on and his father is still grieving, chances upon a thought-provoking quote on his school locker, it prompts him to stand up against a deeply rooted tradition where school authorities manipulate the learners for their own selfish needs.

Book Series In Order » Authors » S.E. Hinton

Leave a Reply