Book Notification

S.J. Morden Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Down Station Books

as Simon Morden

Publication Order of Frank Kittridge Books

Publication Order of Samuil Petrovitch Books

as Simon Morden
Equations of Life (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Theories of Flight (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Degrees of Freedom (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Curve of the Earth (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Heart (As: Simon Morden) (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Another War (As: Simon Morden) (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Art (As: Simon Morden) (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Arcanum (As: Simon Morden) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bright Morning Star (As: Simon Morden) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gallowglass (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Flight of the Aphrodite (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

At The Speed of Light (As: Simon Morden) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Macsen Against the Jugger (As: Simon Morden) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Red Planet (As: Simon Morden) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Simon Morden Short Stories/Novellas

as Simon Morden
At The Speed of Light (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Macsen Against the Jugger (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

S.J. Morden is a bestselling author of science fiction thrillers that he has been writing since 2002. He went to Newcastle and Sheffield, where he graduated with a degree in planetary geophysics and geology.

Unfortunately, despite having masters and doctorate degrees in science he did not have it so easy when he started looking for work.

For several years,s he held a number of odd jobs that included being a personal assistant to a financial advisor, a school caretaker, a part-time teaching assistant at a primary school, and an administrative assistant.

He now combines his duties as a househusband and a busy writing schedule while trying to ensure that his beloved masonry pile does not come crumbling down. This is further complicated by the fact that he also has to provide a warm place for his family kittens to sleep and wrangle two kids to bed every night.

Morden’s journey toward becoming a journeyman writer kicked off when he sold “Bell, Book, and Candle,” a short story to a well-known anthology. It was not long before he was writing a mix of horror, science fiction, and fantasy.

S.J. Morden would soon become a critically acclaimed author with several of his novels getting nominations for prestigious awards. During this time, he was writing as Simon Morden, until he decided to get a lot more serious.

In addition to being an author of fiction, he has also been an editor of “Focus” the magazine published by the British Science Fiction Association. He has been a Greenbelt Arts Festival speaker on matters of fiction and faith and an Arthur C Clarke awards judge.

He was part of the Rolls Royce Science prize-winning team and also won the Philip K Dick Award.

S.J. Morden’s novel One Way is a brilliant story that offers one man the choice between life imprisonment and a one-way trip to Mars. Frank had committed murder trying to save his son but he knows that whatever his choice it will be a raw deal.

However, he decides that instead of going to prison for the rest of his life, he would rather head to Mars, where he can do some impactful things. As such, he opts to go to Mars to live on the base built there by some contractor.

But even though he has become an astronaut, he is still a prisoner that is guarded and watched at all times. Things are not so great on the Martian base as the contractors have been cutting corners among other shady practices. Mars is a dangerous enough place and the contractors are just making it worse by supplying faulty equipment.

Moreover, with their strained supplies and resources, it is not long before there are several accidents ultimately resulting in the death of one man. In time more of the inmates start dying and Frank thinks these are not normal accidents but rather foul play.

It does seem that there is a killer among them and the only way Frank will get home is to find him.

“No Way” by S.J. Morden sees Frank Kitteridge all alone on Mars with no way of getting home. The people that had sent him there now want him dead, even though he is a resourceful and practical man that is determined to survive.

Frank now contemplates whether he needs to destroy the entire base as he hates the guts of the greedy, treacherous company that had sent him there. Since NASA astronauts will shortly be arriving on Mars, the corporation wants him dead as soon as possible, since he knows too much about their evil machinations.

Frank is in a state of loneliness, despair, and hopelessness brought on by the death of colleagues and the deceitfulness of the company. Ultimately, he comes to an agreement with the company which agrees to let him keep his base and make it ready for the arrival of the astronauts.

On his part, he is to get rid of all evidence that he was once a part of a team. If he complies, they promise him a way back to Earth but he does not know if he can fully trust them.

Things get dicey when he learns of a dark secret the company had kept for him while he is on his daily excursions to find supplies for the incoming NASA astronauts. He wants to go home badly but he has a duty to inform the astronauts of what type of people they are working with.

Book Series In Order » Authors » S.J. Morden

Leave a Reply