Book Notification

S.L. Huang Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cas Russell Books

Publication Order of Russell's Attic Books

Half Life (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Neurological Study on the Effects of Canine Appeal on Psychopathy, or, Rio Adopts a Puppy (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Examination of Collegial Dynamics as Expressed Through Marksmanship, or, Ladies' Day Out (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Root of Unity (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Plastic Smile (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Water Outlaws Books

The Water Outlaws (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The River Judge (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Little Homo Sapiens Scientist (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
As the Last I May Know (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder By Pixel: Crime and Responsibility in the Digital Darkness (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Ghost of Workshops Past (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

People of Color Flash Anthology(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Haunted Futures: Tomorrow is Coming(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twelve Tomorrows(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Uncanny Magazine Issue 24 September/October 2018(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shades Within Us(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Year's Top Hard Science Fiction Stories 3(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
It Gets Even Better: Stories of Queer Possibility(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

S.L. Huang is a published American author of fiction.

In addition to being an author in print, there is so much more to S.L. Huang. She attended MIT, where she graduated with a degree in math. She now puts that degree to good use by writing superhero stories where the protagonists often have mathematical abilities.

Huang is known for writing the science fiction thriller series titled Cas Russell. She has also been the winning recipient of the Hugo Award. Some of her shorter fiction has been published and featured in publications such as Analog, Daily Science Fiction, Nature, Strange Horizons, and more.

Besides being a math whiz and a writer, S.L. also says that she works as a professional stunt woman in Hollywood and is a weapons expert. She has worked on a variety of productions and has made appearances on shows such as Battlestar Galactica and Raising Hope. She has worked with many different actors doing this, but her proudest moment as a ‘geek’ was working with Nathan Fillion (and having her character get killed by him). She is a female armorer and has been a weapons expert on shows like Auction Hunters and Top Shot.

Her first kiss ever was actually not in real life but in theater for a stage production. She enjoys the exotic food known as durian and doesn’t mind the occasional explosion. As part of her job as a stunt woman, she’s been lit on fire. Huang has also been on the stage numerous times, including as a storm trooper from Star Wars that tap dances.

Huang likes math textbooks, with a particular favorite being Topology by Munkres. The author has also taught computer science in China when she was in college one summer, then going backpacking later across China. She has also been to Costa Rica, where she volunteered to work as a member of a field research team, and also discovered a scorpion there in her sleeping quarters in the dark.

She says that she is semi-fluent in Spanish and can speak conversational Japanese while she is quite bad at speaking Mandarin and has forgotten most of the Italian that she acquired. She says that she has unusual toes that could let her be part of the circus and her choice of handgun would be a Browning Hi-Power in its nine millimeter format.

S.L. Huang is the creator and the author of the Cas Russell series of fictional novels. The debut novel first came out for readers to enjoy in 2018 with the publication of Zero Sum Game. The sequel would come out in 2019 and is titled Null Set. The third novel in this exciting series was published in 2020 and is titled Critical Point.

Zero Sum Game is the first novel in Huang’s Cas Russell fictional novel series. It has been named as a book club pick by the Mary Sue Book Club and was called one of the ‘best debuts’ by Library Journal. Book Riot, The Verge, Kirkus, SYFY, and Unbound Worlds all named it one of their monthly best books. If you have been looking for some new science fiction to check out, be sure to give this creative book a try!

This debut novel of the Cas Russell series introduces readers to main character Cas Russell. She’s an individual that happens to be more gifted than others when it comes to doing math to the point where it’s scary. This math genius is able to run vector calculus through her head. While it’s useful in many ways, it’s most useful when it comes to her being a mercenary.

Thanks to her mathematical mind, Cas can judge situations and it gives her a verifiable super power. She’s able to go through men that are bigger than her and even dodge bullets in gunfights. When it comes to work, she’s willing to take on just about anything as long as it’s priced right for her. She uses her math powers to take on gigs and make some cash in the process.

When it comes to her knowledge about having special powers, Cas thinks that she is the only individual that has this type of ability. Then she’s forced to examine her assumptions again when she finds out that there’s another person out there that has powers. It turns out that their powers might even rival her own and are far more dangerous.

This person has the ability to get into people’s heads and mess with their brains. Even worse still, they have the goal of using their power to become the puppet master of everyone around the globe. Cas thinks that the best idea in this situation would be to run away, which would be her usual exit mode of choice.

The only problem is that she’s involved in this situation and might have to go through if she wants to get out. Even more chilling still is the fact that she’s no longer certain whether her thoughts belong to her alone anymore. Can she figure out if this new mastermind can be stopped? Or is it already too late? Read this thrilling science fiction book, the first in the series, to find out!

Null Set is the second novel in the science fiction series Cas Russell by S.L. Huang. If you liked the first story, be sure to check this book out to get more of the action and thrills!

Cas Russell, math wizard and mercenary, is back once more. Now she’s had a change of heart and has chosen to use her powers in order to fight crime. She is the perfect candidate. Her math skills make her capable of taking on an army or dissolving bombs.

The cities of the world are now experiencing a full break out of violence, and Cas is responsible. After all, she helped to get rid of the telepath organization that was working to keep one of the most dangerous people in the world controlled.

Her power comes with a past, and she can’t control it or remember it. It’s messing with her sanity. But Cas has bigger problems to take on. The only question is whether she’s capable of doing it. Can Cas get her powers under control? Read this book to the end to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » S.L. Huang

Leave a Reply