Book Notification

S.M. LaViolette Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Academy of Love Books

The Music of Love (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Figure of Love (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Portrait of Love (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Language of Love (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dancing with Love (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Story of Love (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Bellamy Sisters Books

Publication Order of The Masqueraders Books

Publication Order of The Seducers Books

Melissa and The Vicar (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Joss and The Countess (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hugo and the Maiden (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Time Control Books

Publication Order of Victorian Decadence Books

Publication Order of Lightner and Law Mystery Books

as S.M. Goodwin
Absence of Mercy (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crooked in His Ways (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Rebels of the Ton Books

as Minerva Spencer
Notorious (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Outrageous (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Infamous (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Audacious (As:Minerva Spencer) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Outcasts Books

as Minerva Spencer

Publication Order of The Wicked Women of Whitechapel Books

as Minerva Spencer
The Boxing Baroness (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dueling Duchess (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cutthroat Countess (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Minerva Spencer Short Stories/Novellas

as Minerva Spencer
A Second Chance for Love (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Hale Family: Americans in London Books

Balthazar: The Spare (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shrew (With: MinervaSpencer) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Bachelors of Bond Street(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Duke in a Box(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Shantal Marie LaViolette who usually goes by S.M. LaViolette is a bestselling author of paranormal romance, gay romance, and historical romance fiction. Her fiction has received starred reviews from the likes of Publishers Weekly, Booklist, Library Journal, and Kirkus.
The Canadian transplant who now makes her home in the New Mexico mountains began writing in 2013 when her business running an 8-room bed and breakfast went under.

S.M. LaViolette penned “The Music of Love,” the debut novel of the “Academy of Love” series of novels which came out in 2019. She now has at least eighteen novels to her name spread across several series.

She currently pens sexy and smart historical mysteries and historical romances full-time. She also runs a four-acre hobby farm where she hosts rescued poultry and dogs.

S.M. has made a reputation for penning some dryly witty, angst, dark, and spicy historical romances. Her works usually come with heroines and heroes who do not fit the traditional mold.

Many are heroines that do not necessarily have to be virgins and heroes that are often ordinary men rather than dukes. Her uncommon protagonists usually have to face all manner of unusual and situations and exciting challenges.
Under the name, Minerva Spencer, she usually pens some bestselling historical romances. Writing as S.M. Goodwin she is known for her historical mysteries that have captivated fans over the years.

The author’s brief biography usually tells anyone interested that she operated a B&B, worked as a history teacher in college, and as a criminal prosecutor. However, most sources fail to mention that she also worked as a motel maid, dock worker, and reader for the blind and ice cream manufacturer.

While she sometimes lies about being a bounty hunter, she has other very interesting talents too. She can rebuild an American Rambler from 1959, hypnotize a Dungeness crab, juggle, knit a frog hat, and sew Regency-era clothing that she sometimes wears, particularly when she is playing RPG games.

“The Footman” by S.M. LaViolette is an intriguing story that introduces Lady Elinor. She is a woman that has no desire for love. Any romantic notions she may have had were erased by an ill-fated but glorious kiss with a gorgeous footman and an arranged marriage.
At the opening of the story, she is a widow looking to rebuild her life but wants to do it all on her own with no man. She certainly never intended to fall for the tempting and charming American now determined to win her hand.

It has been years and Stephen Worth is no longer the poor footman that all those years back nearly lost everything after he got involved with a beautiful but reckless young woman. He has reinvented himself and now wants to have his revenge and to get his pound of flesh from anyone that wronged him over the years.

If that would mean he would harm Elinor the lovely widow, he is prepared to do it. However, it is not long before the lovely widow Elinor feels intensely attracted to Stephen despite her resistance. Stephen is also beginning to wonder if starting a romantic liaison with Eleanor would be worth more than revenge.
Will Elinor and Stephen be able to leave their painful past behind and have a go at second chances in love? Maybe trust is a cost too high for any of them to pay.

S.M. LaViolette’s novel “The Postilion” is another interesting novel in “The Masqueraders” series of novels.

This is the story of Benedicta de Montfort the Duchess and Jago. The Duchess is set to inherit a fortune but only if she does not die at the hands of her guardian. The only way to escape the dangerous guardian is to hide until she is of age.
Working with a faithful family servant she turns herself into a postilion seeking employment named Ben Piddock.

Benna knows all about horses and all her life she has been mistaken for a skinny and tall boy. But things turn complicated when she falls for the new Earl of Trebolton named Jago Venable who is also her new employer and a devastatingly handsome man.
On his part, Jago had been going about his duties as a doctor in the country when he learned he had been named Earl. But with the title he also inherits a raft of impoverished and needy relatives coupled with a royal mess.

It does seem that the only silver lining in the whole thing is Ben Piddock his new employee who is a dedicated, clever, and unexpectedly witty lad. Soon enough, he realizes that she is no lad but a delicate beauty who he is intensely attracted to.
He does his best to stay away from her given that she is his servant but he just keeps failing.

“The Bastard” by S.M. LaViolette is the charming love story of John Fielding and Cordelia.

He is a man whose face many women saw in their nightmares and not their fantasies. Fielding had a brutal past that left his body and mind scarred and made him the farthest thing from a gentleman. However, he believes that his scars are an important reminder of what is important in his life.

He lives for vengeance and revenge, particularly against one man. His father abandoned him when he was but a kid and he intends to make the entire family pay for the sins of his father no matter what.
On the other hand is Cordelia who is a loving, generous, and kind woman and an overall good person. She deserves better than having to live with her cruel sister and all her evil deeds.

With all her goodness she certainly does deserve someone better than John but that will not stop her from desiring her. Cordelia lights up his soul and makes him question his purpose in life.
The only thing he is now sure of is that Cordelia’s love is what could save him. But maybe his quest for revenge may just destroy him.

Book Series In Order » Authors » S.M. LaViolette

Leave a Reply