Nick Petrie Series

S. Qiouyi Lu Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

In the Watchful City (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Mother Tongues (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Anything Resembling Love (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Some of the Best from Books

Some of the Best from 2019 Edition (By: Elizabeth Bear) (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Anthology series.

Publication Order of Anthologies

Strange California(2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The WisCon Chronicles, Volume 11: Trials by Whiteness(2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
People of Color Take over Fantastic Stories of the Imagination(2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Sunvault: Stories of Solarpunk and Eco-Speculation(2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Transcendent 2(2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Best of Uncanny(2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Transcendent 3(2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The New Voices of Science Fiction(2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Best Vegan Science Fiction & Fantasy 2019(2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Best Horror of the Year: Volume Twelve(2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Some of the Best from 2020 Edition(2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Speculative Los Angeles(2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Best of Abyss & Apex, Volume Four(2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Professor Charlatan Bardot’s Travel Anthology to the MostHaunted Buildings in the Weird, Wild World(2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

S. Qiouyi is an author, writer, and translator who does her work between the two Pacific coasts.

She made her debut when she published “In The Watchful City,” her debut novel in 2021. Since then she has written several other works including several collections of short stories and a number of novellas.

Her work has won several awards over the years. She is an editor of microverses and “Arsenika” magazine.

“The (Other) F Word” tells the story of fat, plus size, chubby, fluffy, and curvy people. Combining fashion tips, personal essays, poetry, prose, and art to create an attractive and relatable guide about body positivity and body image.

It is a young adult cross-over anthology that is intended to tell the stories of people of all sizes who want to be heard and seen in a culture totally sold to the narrow definition of beauty.

It brings together the talents of middle-grade authors as well as renowned fat young adult authors. Other authors include fat creators and influencers as the work offers activists and teenage readers of all ages a guide to navigate the world with courage and confidence.

It is an essential read for teenagers across the weight spectrum that is part raw confessional, part self-empowerment, and 100 percent fat power that will change minds and hearts.

Throughout the story, the editor makes it clear that this is the work of people of all stripes. They are survivors of rape, trans, Mexican, nonbinary, indigenous, queer, Asian, bisexual, and back people in recovery from eating disorders.

“Uncanny Magazine Issue 15” by S. Qiouyi is the story of a clone named Harry Lee.

He is one of about fifty copies of famous leader Kuan Yew that almost singlehandedly managed to bring prosperity to his island nation. He is a very useful resource in the modern world given his exceptional skills and hence, the Academy clones tens of him and other famous individuals.

These clones are then given simulated experiences that are similar to that of their original to make them just as good as their progenitors. The most proficient clones graduate and are sent out to groups and nations who purchase them while the lower quality ones are killed off.

But Harry Lee the fiftieth clone baffles everyone by doing the most unexpected things. But his displays of individuality and leadership may just doom him.
S. Qiouyi takes a fresh perspective on the idea of how lives diverge and how minor events and decisions can shape lives. He also asserts that sometimes doors may not be fully closed even when we think they are.

S. Qiouyi’s novel “The Watchful City” is an exploration of diaspora, power, transformation, and borders. The Asian-inspired novel combines the magical realism of “Palimpsest” by Catherynne M. Valente and “Central Station” by Lavie Tidhar to make an exceptional creation.

The story is set in Ora, a city that makes use of the “Gleaming,” a complex living network that maintains harmony and surveils the residents.

One of the people tasked with surveilling the citizens is Anima. Even though her world is nothing more than seeing and experiencing the world through Gleaming, she takes a lot of pride in the fact that she is responsible for keeping her city safe.

But everything changes when a mysterious visitor comes to Ora with a cabinet of curiosities from across the globe each with its own story. Her world is expanding beyond Ora to possibilities and places she never imagined existed.

Book Series In Order » Authors » S. Qiouyi Lu

Leave a Reply