Book Notification

Sage Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sage Saga Books

The Last of the Sages (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark Kingdom (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hail to the Queen (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Of Heroes and Villains (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sage Academy (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Legendary Warrior (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The End of the Fantasy (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rise of the Sages (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ancient Knights (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last War (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The End of an Era (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hail to the King (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ancestors of the Sages (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The King's Apprentice (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Legend of the Sages (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Julius St. Clair pens the “Sage” series of fantasy novels. The series began publication in the year 2012, when “The Last of the Sages” was released. There are both novels as well as short stories in the series. It is also known by the names of “Last of the Sages” and the “Sage” Trilogy.

“The Last of the Sages” is the first novel in the “Sage” series, and was released in the year 2014. In the Allay Kingdom, Sages are born.

Powerful warriors with supernatural abilities that would rival the strength of whole entire armies. There is an academy that trains these warriors, forging them right out of ordinary and young students. Few of them survive, but if there is to be any hope for this now desolate kingdom, the tests have to be given to everyone that enters its walls.

James is one such student, and he is a self-proclaimed slacker that was forced to go to the academy by his dad. If he plans to live to see tomorrow, he is going to have to weather through the four lessons of life. Trust, determination, love, and maturity.

Readers enjoyed seeing the main character develop over the course of the novel. He goes from a lazy farm kid that cares about just himself to a guy that cares about his kingdom and all the people in it. Readers found they were captivated throughout and could not set the book aside for too long. There is a fast moving plot that keeps things moving and overall the novel was well written.

“The Sage Academy” is the first novella in the “Sage” series, and was released in the year 2016. Training has started and James has to do all he is able to in order to prepare for the great journey that lies ahead of him. With Catherine being distracted in her duties as the Princess, he must rely on just himself to get through the Sage Academy. And he still has a lot left he must do.

In these stories, James has to find the strength inside of himself in order to persevere, while his Sage training is found to be a lot more difficult than he ever thought possible. Catherine struggles in her relationship with Dominic, her fiancee. She is unsure if she should follow her heart or her duty.

“The Dark Kingdom” is the second novel in the “Sage” series, and was released in the year 2014. Their Kingdom has recently been devastated. The mission has to go on, however.

A Princess and her seven Sages, who are haunted by the past, go off to stop a sinister and mysterious enemy. In order to succeed, they will need the five stones of legend. None of the Kingdoms are willing to give up their one source of power without giving them a mighty fight.

Fans liked this one for its smooth storytelling and they enjoyed seeing James start to grow up and learn more. Readers found they cared when bad things started happening to these characters, who they have grown a strong connection to. This is an interesting world Julius takes you to with a lot of moral ambiguity.

“Hail to the Queen” is the third novel in the “Sage” series, and was released in the year 2014. The Sages have been scattered every which way, and their mission has been tossed aside. Princess Catherine and James struggle for their survival against terrifying and hostile forces that rival that of the gods. It is just a matter of time before the four other Kingdoms realize that they are next to be exterminated.

The King of Zen-echelon has shown up, and he brings with him a plot to bring about a dark age that is so unimaginable, even the Sages foes have started to seek out their help. Powerful beyond all belief, it seems that nobody is able to topple this King on their own. It quickly becomes obvious it is going to take nothing less than a leader as well as a Queen to unite all of them against this common enemy.

“Of Heroes and Villains” is the fourth novel in the “Sage” series, and was released in the year 2015. The Age of Peace has now arrived. The Kingdoms are united, for the first time in history, and Sages are being born. However, there is a new horror that is on the horizon.

The evil remnant from a long time ago threatens the newfound stability, and those who survived the ordeal with Thorn now find they are facing an enemy that is far beyond their own powers.

At the same time, a young Sage haunted by his childhood, named Bastion, finds a destructive power that grows inside of him that is desperately trying to find a release. With all of the new problems that face Allay, and he is unsure if his teachers are going to be able to help him control this power. Pretty quickly, he finds that he is wondering if the darkness inside should be embraced or if it should be purged.

“The Legendary Warrior” is the fifth novel in the “Sage” series, and was released in the year 2016. The battle for Bastion’s soul and heart has already started.

In this game of death and deception, Lakrymos and James attempt to persuade the young Bastion to join their side whatever the cost, even if they should die in the process. Catherine looks for the truth about the Yama, and hiding in the background, is an invisible enemy that lies in wait, just watching it all while alliances over the land start crumbling down.

The threat of invasion looms over everything, and a new King in power’s rule, there isn’t much time for any games and fun. Bastion finds himself being torn between his foes and his friends and evil and good, while all start vying for his rather incredible strength. He looks to escape his destiny somehow, however he quickly learns that for one as powerful as him, no relief is going to come to him without some kind of consequence.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Sage

Leave a Reply