Book Notification

Sally John Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Family of the Heart Books

Between Us Girls (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heaven Help Heidi (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of In a Heartbeat Books

Publication Order of Safe Harbor Books

with Gary Smalley
A Time to Mend (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Time to Gather (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Time to Surrender (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Side Roads Books

Publication Order of The Beach House Books

The Beach House (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Castles in the Sand (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Other Way Home Books

A Journey by Chance (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
After All These Years (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Just to See You Smile (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Winding Road Home (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

In the Shadow of Love (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Surrender of the Heart (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Dream Again (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sally John

Sally John is an author of romance and inspirational books. She is also a bestselling author of more than twenty books including the Safe Harbor series, the Side Road series, The Beach House series, The Other Way Home series, and In a Heartbeat series. She has been a finalist for the Christy Award. Sally writes contemporary inspirational books that give hope to the readers in their faith and relational journeys. She enjoys lecturing in writing workshops and spending time with her family- husband, children and grandchildren.

A Journey by Chance

A Journey by Chance is the first book in The Other Way Home series. It’s a touching story set in a rural Midwest town which lends it some charm. We meet Dr Gina Philips who heads from Southern California to the small Midwest town of Valley Oaks to attend her cousin’s wedding. Her plan to heal and move on from a failed relationship and also escape from a job she lost is, however, interrupted by the continuous attention of a local named Brady and the quirkiness of the small town.

But when Gina thinks that she has all her life figured out, a dark secret from the past is revealed that will forever change her family and her budding relationship with the mysterious Brady.

Gina’s journey towards Christianity is heartfelt, and the author effortlessly and beautifully weaves humor and some fantastic convictions into the story. The characters, from the main character and supporting cast aren’t complicated, but the trials each has to go through to become the good people are realistic such that any reader would relate to them. Gina feels unworthy for people to consider her an equal to Brady because of her dirty past even as she is converted to a Christian. Her past keeps her overwhelmed by guilt.

Similarly, even though Brady is a Christian surrounded by a truly wonderful support system through friends and family with deep-rooted beliefs, he discovers that he’s yet to learn a lot through his newly found friendship with Gina. His past has a few skeletons in closet for him some of which he is not ready to share with Gina when he should as their friendship blossoms. Through their friendship, he gets to know her better, and he can open his heart again to love even though he experiences some frustrations at her expense, he cares so much about her and steps back to let her pursue her dream. Also blended into the story is a subplot that involves Gina’s parents who are as well re-examining their marriage and love for each other. Their story too is approached with caring and touching sentiments.

A Journey by Chance is a tale of four people looking into their hearts trying to find out what’s most important in their life. The results here are special and they unfold in a typical romantic-comedy style to reunite the couple- involving a cop car, too. If you need to find out what happens next, it’s recommended you read the books and the sequels that follow.

Between Us Girls

Between Us, Girls is the first book in Family of Heart series by Christian fiction author Sally John featuring new beginnings, broken lives and romance.
Welcome to the picturesque Casa de Vida- eleven elegant bungalows situated three blocks from the Pacific Ocean in the small Seaside Village in California. The owner never advertises for vacancies beyond little letter sign opting to trust God that he will send the right tenant to the premises at the right time.
Meet the young and beautiful Jasmyn Albright, who’s had more than enough share of bad breaks in the past, starting with the tornado that destroyed her house. Feeling utterly alone and emotionally fragile, Jasmyn travels west hoping to get over her heartbreaks. And she does not stop until she comes across a small sign that reads “Vacancy” and before she’s aware of how it all happened, she finds herself the latest tenant at bungalows of Casa de Vida. She rarely dares to hope that her fortunes are almost about to change, of course, when the Lord is at work, anything is bound to happen, and new beautiful beginnings are one of His unique specialties.

Between Us, Girls is a humble novel full of secrets of the universe. The book addresses that yearning and the need each of us has for fellowship with each other and the God of the world. But don’t worry, despite having all this information this is not a preachy book. Instead this is the kind of novel that sits on that particular special shelf built for your keeper books, the ones that you read over and over again because you need its information at different stages in your life.

A series of disasters befall the main character, Jasmyn, who was born and raised never knowing who her father was and living with her to strict grandparents. She was always teased by age mates and her mother who always chased after anything in pants. Disasters that occur her include her both grandparents dying, her mother dying of cancer and her farmhouse destroyed by tornado.

The tornado is the final disaster that finally pushes her out of her comfort zone and forces her to take her vacation to San Diego, California. Thinking that she’s got everything covered and those troubles are over- or is it? Troubles follow her there. While visiting a small town that feels like a home to her, her rental car and luggage are stolen. An old woman living in some cottages befriends her and allows her to live in her cottage. After several months, she is travelling to the airport when she gets the sad news that the elderly woman had a heart attack and so she ends up taking care of the cottages until the woman is better.

The seaside cottages feel like a real home to the heroine but so does the tiny town in Illinois, where she was born and raised. As she gets ready to leave California, her heart is broken. Where does Jasmyn truly belong?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sally John

One Response to “Sally John”

  1. Brenda Maddox: 3 years ago

    I love your books. Thank you


Leave a Reply