Book Notification

Sam Bourne / Jonathan Freedland Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Maggie Costello Books

as Sam Bourne
The Last Testament (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Chosen One (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Kill The President / The Plot Against the President (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Kill the Truth (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Kill a Man (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Righteous Men (As: Sam Bourne) (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Final Reckoning (As:Sam Bourne) (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pantheon (As:Sam Bourne) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The 3rd Woman (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Bring Home the Revolution (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jacob's Gift (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Escape Artist (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jonathan Freedland was born February 25, 1967. He writes under the pen name Sam Bourne, where he publishes most of his work. He is a broadcaster and an award winning journalist.

Jonathan is the only son of a Jewish couple and the youngest of three kids. His mom, Sara Hocherman, born in Israel, and Michael Freedland, a journalist and biographer. Jonathan was educated at a boys’ independent school in Hampstead, London.

During his childhood, Jonathan would accompany his dad on his broadcasting work. One time, his dad was interviewing Eric Morecambe, who comically believed the ten year old Jonathan was married.

Jonathan started his Fleet Street career at the short-lived Sunday Correspondent. In the year 1990, he joined the BBC as a news reporter across both television and radio, including Today and The World at One on Radio 4.

Jonathan was named the Columnist of the Year during the annual What the Papers Say Awards of 2002. “The Righteous Men” was a number one bestseller and a Richard and Judy Summer Read.

He writes thriller novels and non-fiction books. Jonathan’s debut novel, called “The Righteous Men”, was released in the year 2006.

“The 3rd Woman” is a stand alone novel and was released in the year 2015. China and the United States have struck a stunning bargain. In return for forgiving trillions of debt, the People’s Republic of China, which has now become the world’s dominant global superpower, has been allowed to establish their permanent military presence on American soil. Years of decline has left America vulnerable economically, and there is evidence of China’s political and cultural dominance is everywhere.

Madison Webb, a journalist, is obsessed with exposing all the corruption and the lies that corroded her formerly great society. Her sister gets brutally killed, the cops believe that it is some isolated crime. Madison thinks the cops could be hiding something.

Digging to find some answers, she finds that her sister’s death could be one of many and actually just a part of a dangerous conspiracy. Her life might be on the line, but Madison refuses to give up on this story. Sooner or later, she is going to have to confront the consequences of exposing the powerful forces that are intent on keeping the truth hidden.

“The Last Testament” is the first novel in the “Maggie Costello” series and was released in the year 2007. April of 2003, while the Baghdad Museum of Antiquities gets looted, an Iraqi teen boy finds an ancient clay in some long-forgotten vault. He takes off with it, running into the night.

Many years later, during a peace rally in Jerusalem, the Israeli prime minister is close to signing a historic deal with the Palestinians. A guy approaches from out of the crowd and appears to reach for a gun, the prime minister’s guards shoot and kill the guy. In his hand was just a note, one that he wanted to hand over to the prime minister. This shooting sets off a series of tit-for-tat murders that might derail the peace signing.

Washington sends for Maggie Costello, peace negotiator and trouble-shooter, after she believed she had quit the job forever. She follows the trail that takes her from Palestinian refugee camps to Jewish settlements on the West Bank, where she finds that these recent deaths have a distinct pattern, and are not random.

Each one of the dead guys are archaeologists and historians: the ones that know the buried secrets from the ancient past. Costello, menaced by violent extremists and fanatics on each side, is quickly plunged right into some high-stakes international politics, the worldwide underground trade in stolen antiquities and one final unsolved riddle of the Bible.

“The Chosen One” is the second novel in the “Maggie Costello” series and was released in the year 2010. Maggie, bruised from years of disappointments, is finally working for a leader she is able to believe in. she, as well as the rest of America, has put her trust in President Stephen Baker, believing the guy is going to make the world better.

Suddenly, an enemy, called Vic Forbes, surfaces. He reveals one scandal about this new president before revealing another. Vic threatens to release another, one that is going to destroy Stephen for good.

Forbes is discovered dead, and Maggie gets tossed into turmoil. Could this leader she idolizes have really been behind Forbes’ murder? Was she duped by the guy’s message of hope and change? Who is the real Stephen Baker?

On the trail to find the truth, Maggie gets led right into the roots of a gigantic conspiracy that reaches back into the depths of history. It goes right to the core of the American establishment.

“To Kill the President” is the third novel in the “Maggie Costello” series and was released in the year 2017. The unthinkable has just happened.

America has elected a volatile demagogue as its new president, and is back by Crawford ‘Mac’ McNamara, his ruthless chief strategist. A war of words with North Korea spiral out of control and the president comes dangerously close to launching a nuclear attack, it is clear that somebody has got to act, or the world is going to be reduced to ashes.

Quickly Maggie, a stubbornly principled and a seasoned Washington operator, finds an inside plot to murder the president, and is confronted with the ultimate moral dilemma. Should she save the president and just leave the world at the crazed would-be tyrant’s mercy? Or should she commit treason against her president and risk sinking the entire country into a civil war?

“To Kill the Truth” is the fourth novel in the “Maggie Costello” series and was released in the year 2019. Somebody is attempting to destroy the evidence of some of history’s greatest crimes.

Holocaust survivors and academics dead in rather circumstances. Museums and libraries burning. Irreplaceable proofs and digital records are lost forever.

Maggie Costello, ex-White House operative, has sworn off politics. When the Governor of Viriginia asks for her help to stop these deadly spiral of killings, she realizes that this is much bigger than any political game.

While Black Lives Matter protesters fight with slavery deniers, America is on the razor’s edge, and time is running short. This is a deadly conspiracy that could very well start a new Civil War, but who exactly stands to gain the most from all of this chaos?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sam Bourne / Jonathan Freedland

Leave a Reply