Book Notification

Sam Hawken Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Camaro Espinoza Books

The Night Charter (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Walk Away (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Make Them Sorry (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Fight Card MMA Series Books

Rosie the Ripper (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Dead Women of Juárez (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tequila Sunset (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Juárez Dance (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
La Frontera (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Missing (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Moores Are Missing & The Housewife (With: James Patterson,Loren D. Estleman) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Borderland Noir(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Moores Are Missing & The Housewife(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sam Hawken
When author Sam Hawken is not writing, he is a husband and dad of a son with autism. Sam is active in both autism and special needs related causes. This includes the Special Olympics and Autism Speaks. He encourages donations to the Kennedy Krieger Institute in Baltimore, Maryland. He was born in San Antonio, Texas on September 11, 1970. He has lived about half of his life in southern Texas.

The Mexican border is a part of his life, and he lived with the Latino population in America. Going over the bridge into Mexico was not the culture shock that it can be for some people. While visiting Ciudad Juarez during the seventies and eighties, he got the impressions that have stuck with him.

His debut novel, called “The Dead Women of Juarez”, was released in the year 2011. It is a crime novel that uses a real-life tragedy of female homicides in Ciudad Juarez as a jumping off point for a tale about despair, redemption, and corruption. He has also collaborated with James Patterson. Besides writing stand alone novels, he writes the “Borderland” trilogy and the “Camaro Espinoza” series.

“The Dead Women of Juarez” was shortlisted for a John Creasy New Blood Dagger by the Crime Writers Association. He has been nominated for three other Daggers, including two Gold Daggers for the Best Crime Novel.

“The Dead Women of Juarez” is the first novel in the “Borderland” series, which was released in the year 2011. More than three thousand women have vanished in the past twenty years a border town between the USA and Mexico called Ciudad Juarez. This is the story of Kelly Courter, from Texas and a washed up boxer. He does not mind playing the role of stooge in the ring, just so long as he gets paid.

Courter gets pulled into the underworld of organized crime that thrives within the city, and he quickly finds himself in way over his head. While his life starts to spin out of control he is obsessed with finding out the truth on the female victims of Juarez.

Every single character in the book is a likable one, with Sevilla and Kelly both hard boiled archetypes. As they are both broken down shells of what they used to be and weighted down by their past that slowly becomes revealed throughout the book. Hawken is able to capture desperation with a bit of hope in a way that is close to being uncomfortably palpable. This is a feeling that is able to stick with the reader well after the final page has been turned.

“The Night Charter” is the first novel in the “Camaro Espinoza” series, which was released in the year 2015. Camaro Espinoza has spent her entire life keeping people safe. First at home. Then while she was in the army. That sometimes means leaving bodies behind. She is going to be the best ally you ever have, but you do not want to get on her bad side.

At the moment she is running a boat off the shore of Miami, just attempting to keep a low profile. A guy named Parker walks into her life, offering her some bad trouble and good money. Camaro does not want to get involved in any way, but Parker has got a daughter that is going to suffer badly if she does not help out.

The job goes horribly wrong, Camaro finds that she is in the middle of scattered bullets, double crosses, and international intrigue. She is determined to save the life of the girl, but it might be at the cost of her own.

This book is a lot of action, and Camaro Espinoza is a fresh character. Fans felt this book was very readable and sneaky good, something you would finish as quickly as possible. Here is a book that is evenly paced and well written. The rest of the characters are quite memorable as well.

“Walk Away” is the second novel in the “Camaro Espinoza” series, which was released in the year 2017. Camaro Espinoza, ex-combat medic, is attempting to put the past behind her. She has done some bad things, but it has always been for good reason.

Annabel, her sister, calls her. She is stuck in an abusive relationship with Jake Collier, some petty criminal, and needs Camaro to help her. Camaro has kept Annabel safe from the start, but the situation is much more dangerous than she realizes yet. Lukas, Jake’s brother, is a former Marine and they are planning a much larger crime.

While the federal marshals pick Lukas’s trail up, and some bounty hunter closes in, Camaro realizes that standing her ground is really the last thing she ought to do. If there is one thing she is unable to do, it is walk away.

Fans found once they picked this one up, they had a tough time putting it down until they had finished it. This book moves along quickly, is addictive, and thrilling. Hawken delivers a great thriller here that builds up to a rather thrilling climax with a whole lot of action along the way. Camaro is the ultimate action heroine, as she is both physically and mentally strong, sassy, smart, and entirely focused.

“Make Them Sorry” is the third novel in the “Camaro Espinoza” series, which was released in the year 2018. Camaro does not really want to get involved with the lives of other people or their problems. She notices, however, that there is a woman in her gym that is looking for help. When she finds out that Faith has got a stalker, she agrees to give her some defense lessons.

She does not expect the stalker to become so violent that fast. Or to have been hired by somebody. Faith, it would appear, has made some rather serious enemies. Now they are going after Camaro, too. They will find out quickly that was a big mistake.

This is an edge of your seat thriller with a tough and strong female in the lead role. Camaro is an excellent character that readers cannot get enough of. Each of these characters are defined well and the subject matter is all too realistic.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sam Hawken

Leave a Reply