Book Notification

Sam Kates Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Earth Haven Books

Publication Order of Elevator Books

The Elevator (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jack's Tale (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lord of the Dance (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Village of Lost Souls (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
That Elusive Something (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Pond Life (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Strange Shores and Other Stories (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghosts of Christmas Past And Other Dark Festive Tales (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Moths (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Dying By Numbers (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Short Story Strands: Halloween 2012 Edition(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stories on the Go: 101 Very Short Stories by 101 Authors(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sam Kates
Author Sam Kates was born in Cardiff, United Kingdom. Sam has a fondness for rugby union (though as he has gotten older, just as a spectator) as well as a good pint of beer.

Outside of his writing, his biggest ambition is to see Wales defeat the New Zealand All Blacks in order to win the Rugby World Cup. He realizes it might be a forlorn hope, but he finds if somebody is going to have ambitions, they should be lofty.

Sam has enjoyed a fascination for end of the world stories since he was a child. Computer games, books, and films, some of the most memorable of these have all been based in apocalyptic worlds. He is unsure what the attraction is, but it probably has something to do with being like the world we live in, just not as we know it. No civilization, no society, no checks and balances, and no laws.

As Sam was writing “The Cleansing”, he realized there was too much story to fit into just one reasonably sized book. He didn’t want to write a brick length novel because he thought no one would try reading a long book by somebody that was unknown. A trilogy seemed to be the natural solution. Instead of condensing the plot down just for a single novel, Sam felt the freedom to explore his world a lot more fully.

Sam writes the “Earth Haven” series and the “Elevator” series, as well as some stand alone work. His debut novel, called “The Village of Lost Souls”, was released in the year 2012.

His work is from the genres of horror, science fiction and fantasy. Sam’s work runs toward the dark side of fantasy and life, though he does write what could be termed “general” fiction, which are stories that might happen within the world like we know it.

“The Village of Lost Souls” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2012. War ends, terror starts. A family devastated by war. A fist fight that reverberates down through the years. A flight from despair.

John Andrews leaves industrial Newcastle for an isolated village in post-war Cornwall. It is a village filled with reclusive inhabitants, and a place where birds do not sing. The village is haunted by its past that intrudes on the present.

He winds up falling in love, but it gets overshadowed by a sequence of increasingly horrifying events. John encounters members from a tragic family, meets his older brother, and sees his maternal grandfather. None of which would be remarkable, maybe, but all of them are dead.

Events wind up spiraling out of control and John gets forced to fight to save what remains of his family, his sanity, and his first love. Not to mention his very life. The Village of Lost Souls is always hungry to claim more.

“The Cleansing” is the first novel in the “Earth Haven” series and was released in the year 2013. Apocalypse has been unleashed, rather swift and lethal. Merciless, too.

Seven billion people inhabit this planet in their blissful ignorance of imminent destruction. Annihilation comes, not from nuclear holocaust or meteors, but from a source nobody knows exists. The architects of doom have hidden in plain sight and move among us, just waiting for the signal to begin our extinction and have done so for a long time.

Just a handful of survivors, bewildered and traumatized, must come to terms with this new reality. And fast. For the Cleansing is just the beginning.

“The Beacon” is the second novel in the “Earth Haven” series and was released in the year 2015. A post-viral planet. Destruction is looming.

Ceri Lewis and Tom Evans occupy a new silent world. Just over a million people survived the Cleansing. They are weak, spread out, and compelled by a force that is beyond their own understanding to stay where they are. Mankind hangs in the balance, with its fate being in the hands of the little that can resist the power that wants to control them. Resistance could be futile, though.

In the midst of a lethal calm, a brand new threat pops up one that is going to finish the job that was started by the Cleansing. Ceri and Tom face a grim decision: gamble their lives to attempt activation of the Beacon, or just lie low and sit and wait for the human race to be exterminated. Either way, the end looks certain.

“The Reckoning” is the third novel in the “Earth Haven” series and was released in the year 2015. Unnatural calm. A silent storm is gathering, and extinction beckons.

Survivors from North America and mainland Europe converge on Britain. Confused, exhausted, and all have come looking for answers, with many spoiling to fight.

What started with the Cleansing, and hastened by the Beacon, comes close to fruition. Time is running low, and human numbers are too few to win that last battle alone. Failure is assured, unless help can be found in the unlikeliest of allies. Humankind faces the final showdown, with The Reckoning upon us.

“The Elevator” is the first novel in the “Elevator” series and was released in the year 2017. Just an ordinary elevator on an ordinary morning.

Matt steps into the elevator, just wanting to reach his work space and get some coffee, on the Sixth Floor. Three more people get on the elevator and it rises. Just another dreary day in the office, or so they think. Until the door slides open.

What Matt is greeted with pushes all ideas of coffee out of his mind, for he is not faced with the rather drab office space he expects. It is a sun-drenched land of exotic scents. And danger.

Thus starts a day of journeying to wondrous places that contain lethal perils. One day that is going to change the lives of four travelers, particularly Matt’s. It is a day that he is never going to forget, no matter how much he would like to.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sam Kates

Leave a Reply