Book Notification

Sam McCain Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sam McCain Books

The Day The Music Died (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wake Up Little Susie (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow? (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Save the Last Dance for Me (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Everybody's Somebody's Fool (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Breaking Up Is Hard to Do (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fools Rush In (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ticket to Ride (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bad Moon Rising (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Riders on the Storm (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sam McCain series is one the three most renowned literary series authored by Ed Gorman–the other two are Jack Dwyer and Jack Walsh series. Read on about Ed Gorman. Gorman, who has since died, was born Edward Joseph Gorman Jr., in the early 1940s. His birth place is Iowa, at a region called Cedar Rapids. Interestingly, he died in the same place in late 2016, aged 74. Gorman’s influences included American scribblers F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, Mark Twain, and Stephen Crane. He preferred to write particularly western, mystery-cum-thrillers, and horror books.

Ed Gorman, whose work graced noteworthy publications in his lifetime, most notably The New York Times, used several pen names. The most notable pseudonyms are E. J. Gorman and Daniel Ransom. He also wrote under the names Richard Driscoll, Robert David Chase, and Edward Gorman Jr. Gorman has also co-authored notable standalone novels with authors such as Robert J. Randisi, James Reasoner, and Patricia Lee Macomber among many others.

Ed Gorman, who doubled up as an anthologist, was a prolific man of letters. Why, he has penned revered novels, highly rated novellas, remarkable book series, and short stories that have clinched prestigious literary awards! He also previously served as an editor and contributor to several famed anthologies. He delivered all these in a writing career that spanned two decades.

Section on Books
The Sam McCain series comprises of ten primary works which were published between 1998 and 2014. This series has been hailed as edifying and addictive, and it is said that it could be the best work in his bibliography. There are sixteen editions of the first book in the Sam McCain series. The first edition was originally published in 1998, titled The Day the Music Died; and the series is shelved under various genres most notably mystery and thriller, literary fiction, historical fiction, and music.

Another early book that Ed Gorman published in the Sam McCain series is titled Wake Up Little Susie. Basically, the said book is the second one in the series, chronologically. There are fifteen editions of the said book and the first edition was initially published in 1999. Just like most of Ed Gorman’s literary works, the Sam McCain series is set in the backdrop of Iowa.

Sam McCain Series: Protagonist and First Two Books
Sam McCain is the featured protagonist in the Sam McCain series. Meet protagonist Sam McCain. McCain is a quinquagenarian and is domiciled in Black River Falls upon Iowa. Just like the real-life situation of the late penman Gorman, McCain grew up in a small hometown; McCain neither fits into any socioeconomic class nor educated class. Despite being an attorney, there is nothing to write home about McCain’s achievements. First, he is a fledgling attorney and the most unsuccessful one in the region. Worse still, the town is teeming with lawyers and jobs are hard to come by. Without much of a bargaining chip, McCain consents to work as a private detective for a female judge who is at loggerheads with a local sheriff.

The first book in the Sam McCain series, The Day the Music Died, is set during the late 1950s. It is in the wake of a socio-political upheaval in the US. Sam McCain is sleuthing a series of unseemly and gory murders, ranging from a slain couple to an expectant teenager to his music idol that has died in an aviation accident. In the second book, Wake Up Little Susie, Sam McCain is investigating a case wherein a political aspirant’s wife has been murdered and corpse dumped in the trunk of a new vehicle.

Sam McCain series: Awards
Author Ed Gorman has clinched or been a nominee for exalted literary awards. For example, the 1985 book titled New, Improved Murder; this second in the Jack Dwyer series was a nominee for the Shamus Award in 1986, Best First PI group. The 1987 book named The Autumn Dead, which is the fifth in the said series, has also been nominated for Shamus Award; it was in 1988 and in the Best PI Novel group.

Ed Gorman has written a short story named The Face; in 1992, it bagged the Spur Award, specifically in the Best Short Fiction section. Another short story called Eye of the Beholder featured in the 1997 nomination list of Shamus Award, category of Best PI Short Story. He was the editor of The Fine Art of Murder; this one bagged Macavity Awards in 1994 and under the Best Critical/Biographical section. Moreover, the said work was an Anthony Award nominee. Speaking of Murder, which is a collection edited by Ed Gorman alongside another person, was nominated in 1999 in the Best Critical/Biographical section of Macavity Awards. In 1998, it was nominated for Best Non-fiction section of the Agatha Award. Also, Gorman got nominated for the Brom Stoker Award (2001) for his book entitled The Dark Fantastic. Other awards won include the The International Horror Writers Award, Life Achievement Award, and Ellery Queen Award (2003).

Ed Goman’s Bibliography: Books into Films
Books and short stories penned by Ed Gorman have been adapted for the big screen. The Poker Club, which is a standalone 1999 novel, was filmed; it was released in 2008 and starred Jana Kramer who appeared as Trudy, Michael Risley as Neal, and Johnny Messner as Bill. A short film titled The Long Silence After was released in 2009 and starred Tiffini Funches (Mary Williams), Duane Sharp (Neely) and John Shane (Friend). Another film is The Ugly Fire which was produced in 2009 and starred Scott McClelland (Mr. Byerly), Kirsten McCain (Mrs. Cunningham), and Michael Lechner (Roy Hubbard).

Sam McCain series: Best Books
These are the best three books in the Sam McCain series. The first is The Day the Music Died. The second is Wake Up Little Susie. These have just been explained above. The third one is Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow? This is the third book in the Sam McCain series and it was first published in 2000.

Other Books You May Like
Readers who enjoyed the Sam McCain series penned by Ed Gorman also looked out for the following series of books. The first one is Antique Print series penned by Lea Wait. It features protagonist Maggie Summer who operates a Maine-based antique print shop. The second one is the Amanda Pepper series authored by Gillian Roberts. The featured protagonist, Amanda Pepper, teaches at a high school in Philadelphia upon Pennsylvania. The last one is titled Her Majesty Investigates authored by C. C. Benison. The protagonist in this trilogy is Jane Bee; she is mandated to investigate a murder in an estate belonging to Queen Elizabeth.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Sam McCain

Leave a Reply