Book Notification

Sam Reaves Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cooper MacLeish Books

A Long Cold Fall (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fear Will Do It (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bury it Deep (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Get What's Coming (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Pascual Rose Books

as Dominic Martell
Lying, Crying, Dying (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Republic of Night (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gitana (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Pascual Books

as Dominic Martell

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Mean Town Blues of Crime (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dooley's Back (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Homicide 69 (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cold Black Earth (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Running in the Dark (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sam Reaves is a bestselling mystery author who also goes by the pseudonym Dominic Martell. The author grew up in several small towns in the midwest but from his early adulthood years, he has been living in Chicago and surrounding suburbs.

He has also lived or traveled through Europe, the Middle East and Latin America spending several months and even years in places. As such, he is a fluent speaker of more than five languages. With his knowledge of several languages, he found a job as a freelance translator working with Arabic, French, German and French.

He has asserted that he is a compulsive reader that can always be found reading all manner of nonfiction and fiction works. Besides working as a translator, he has also for a time been a teacher.

When he is not reading or writing his novels he can be found enjoying flamenco and classical music and watching sports. Sam currently makes his home in Evanston, Illinois.

Like many of her contemporaries, Sam Reaves was a huge reader growing up. He used to love the thriller genre and remembers reading the likes of Household, Ambler and Buchan along with many works that would be written by their many successors.

He particularly liked Eric Ambler as he believed he was skilled at creating a vivid sense of place. From settings as varied as the south of France, Istanbul, Malaya and the Balkans, there was nothing Ambler could not bring to life.

When he was writing the manuscript for his debut novel “A Long Cold Fall” in 1991, Ambler was the author he went back to study from time to time. He wanted to nail the writing of key details and description which the author so aptly captured.
Over the years, Reaves has become known for his concise and tight writing of suspense novels just like the many authors he used to love growing up.

After achieving much success with the Cooper MacLeish series of novels, he went on to pen a series of suspense novels under the pseudonym Dominic Martell. The change came when his Putnam editor told him he needed to write something new since his last few works had not performed so well.

He thus wrote his suspense novel about an ex terrorist trying the straight and narrow in a setting in Barcelona. But he was disappointed when his editor and Putnam rejected it for being too different from what he had written before. He went on to engage a British publisher who published the “Pascual Rose” series of novels.

Over the years, he has published more than a dozen novels over several series and single standing novels.

Sam Reaves’ novel “A Long Cold Fall” is an impressive debut that gets its reader by the neck and never lets go to the very end. The lead is Cooper MacLeish, a Vietnam veteran who tends to attract trouble but also has the knack for getting out of it.

After he graduated from college, he became a drifter in Chicago driving a cab. When he reads of the supposed suicide of a woman he once desired to have a relationship with in college, he is curious enough to attend the funeral. While she had been unreceptive towards his advances, they had on one drunken night shared a night of passion.

Looking back at the dates, he believes the teenage son she had left behind could be his. The young man had gone missing following the death of his mother but it is not long before Cooper locates him. According to the youth, his mother had been killed in cold blood and the same killer could be after him as well.
Cooper determines that the unlikeliest man is his adversary but before the violent conclusion of the novel, he finds out that he could not be more wrong.

“Fear Will Do It” by Sam Reaves sees Cooper MacLeish and Diana Froelich, his girlfriend, drawn into a deadly blackmail scheme. Life had been good until out of nowhere, Tommy Throne, who is an old friend to his girlfriend appears on her doorstep.

They had been together a few years back when both were employed on a Caribbean going cruise ship. It seems that Diana had not been completely honest with Cooper when it came to her ex. When the two meet him as they are going back to her place following a date, she has introduced him simply as an old friend.
Tommy says that he no longer wants to live the island life and that he now intends to make his fortune as a musician. He wants to live with Diana while he figures out his own living arrangements. Diana insists there is nothing between them and Cooper believes her.

But it is not long before he realizes that Tommy wants more than to just play the blues in the Windy city. It turns out that the man has a dark past and her ex is blackmailing her with it.

Sam Reaves’ novel “Bury it Deep” opens to Cooper MacLeish having to solve a problem that this time has nothing to do with him.
He had agreed to accompany Melvin Moreland, his newspaper reporter friend, on what seemed to be something very simple, an evening drive. He soon finds himself in a web of corruption as deep as wide as Lake Michigan. The reporter usually does not deal with dangerous subjects apart from the occasional city hall press conference.

But then one of his sources who had gone underground for several months reappears. He asserts that he has details of some very dirty deeds and Moreland sees an opportunity for his first big scoop.

Coming back home, he finds his favorite cat very ill and gets a call telling him to not pursue the matter. The caller was threatening enough and he knows he will need Cooper, his friend even if only for emotional support.

Moreland will not let his big scoop go and manages to convince Cooper to go with him to meet his source at an exclusive party thrown by some movers and shakers in the city. What they discover is nothing they could never have imagined in a million years.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sam Reaves

Leave a Reply