Book Notification

Sam Wiebe Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Wakeland Books

Invisible Dead (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cut You Down (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hollywood North (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hell and Gone (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sunset and Jericho (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Last of the Independents (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ocean Drive (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Never Going Back (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Malfeasance Occasional(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The MX Book of New Sherlock Holmes Stories Part II: 1890 to 1895(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fast Women and Neon Lights(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vancouver Noir(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Baby, It's Cold Outside(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mickey Finn Vol. 2: 21st Century Noir(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mickey Finn Vol. 3: 21st Century Noir(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sam Wiebe is an award-winning author who is widely known for the book, Last of the Independents, which emerged the winner during the Arthur Ellis Award. The Last of the Independents is set in Vancouver, and it tells the story of a Private Investigator who is looking for a missing child. Sam Wiebe’s narratives have been featured in Spinetingler, Criminal Elements, and Thuglit’s e-collection. Currently, Sam Wiebe resides in Vancouver, Canada.

Sam Wiebe Best Books
The Last of the Independents
The Last of the Independents is a fun and fast read for readers who love classic private investigator narratives that have a contemporary sensibility. All the characters that author Sam Wiebe has created are not only real but also are flawed as well. The flaws of these characters are not superimposed but rather an integral part of who they are and also in the things that they do. The writing style is fluid and quick, while the pace, on the other hand, feels fast without necessarily relying on the day-to-day tricks of the trade. Michael Drayton, the protagonist that author Sam Wiebe has created, is someone that the readers may love to go on the field with. In The Last of the Independents author, Sam Wiebe introduces the readers to Michael Drayton, a Vancouver based PI, whose field of specialty is missing persons. The book begins as Michael’s latest client, one Clifford Szabo, approaches Michael about Django James, his missing son.

When presented with the case, Michael is uncertain whether to take the case or not. Szabo informs Michael, that his son got lost after Szabo left him in the car to visit one of the local pawnshops. After Michael listened to Szabo’s rather fishy story, he decides to accept Szabo’s offer and immediately sets out to locate his son. As Michael Drayton begins to look for Szabo’s son, he realizes that it is not going to be an easy task. Michael begins by first talking to one of the leading psychics in the town, than drug addicts and finally car thieves. The people that he begins to speak with, eventually leads him to a dead end and eventually down the dead streets. Just when Michael is about to give up on the case, the investigation eventually takes a rather sharp turn, and Drayton is thrust into a rather peculiar case that involves a funeral home and a necrophile. The more Michael delves deeper into the case, the more the stakes are raised.

Drayton eventually finds himself traveling on some extremely dangerous streets, with hopes of finding some truth concerning the missing boy. Apart from being wildly entertaining, the Last of the Independents is emotionally haunting and filled with several laugh-out-loud moments. Assisting Michael at the agency is Katherine Hough, a college student who has been hired on a temporary basis to offer clerical work, social media expertise, and database investigation. Katherine being a closet feminist, she does not approve being called a secretary. Thus Michael decides to refer to Katherine as a junior partner. Ben Loeb is the last member of the agency. More than two years ago, Michael was contracted to handle a missing person’s case, which involved Cynthia, a nine-year-old girl. The only challenge was that Cynthia disappeared more than five years ago, At the time, Michael did not refuse to take the case.
However, Michael knew that the chances of finding the little girl, were very minimal. Ben Loeb is Cynthia’s brother, together with his mother; Michael has continued to work tirelessly to solve the Cynthia’s mystery. Ever since Michael began working on the case, Ben decided to be on Michael’s side as a means of staying close to his lost sister and also connect with her spirit. During the period that Ben has worked with the PI Agency, he has gone ahead and become a renowned video game writer. Using his expertise, Ben has proved to be quite resourceful, and many at times has put his supreme acting skills to great use. Nonetheless, Ben still required more attention in the Last of the Independents, because he was somehow underrated.

Invisible Dead
Invisible Dead is the first installment in the Wakeland book series. In Invisible Wakeland, author Sam Wiebe introduces the readers to one Dave Wakeland, a former police officer, who now serves as a private investigator. Dave mainly relies on his partner as a source of income, while he handles most of the dead-end cases. The book begins as Dave Wakeland begins to look into Chelsea Loom’s disappearance, which happened more than twelve years ago. Due to the fact that Chelsea Loom’s mother is about to die, she is now more than determined to establish what happened to her daughter. Apart from being a prostitute, Chelsea Loom was also a drug addict. In the process, her disappearance was not taken seriously mainly because of her involvement in prostitution and the drug ring.

When Dave Wakeland begins to look into Chelsea’s disappearance, he eventually finds himself in the center of extremely powerful men, who are more than determined to ensure that their involvement stays in the shadows. Furthermore, Dave Wakeland also finds himself falling for a former schoolmate. Many at times, Dave Wakeland loved to torture himself by taking some of the hard cold cases and from the look of things Dave was going that lonely and cold road. Many at times, Dave Wakeland debated whether Chelsea’s disappearance should be left hanging instead of being revealed. With that said, will Dave Wakeland be able to uncover the mystery surrounding Chelsea’s disappearance, or will be in the process also disappear as well?

Invisible Dead will keep the interest of the readers from the first page to the last. Readers are going to fall with all the main characters and also feel the connection, with each of these characters. Author Sam Wiebe has done everything right in the novel, Invisible Dead. Every word and every sentence is quite effective and has been well crafted as well. The dialogue is not only crisp but also quite realistic as well. Through their interactions and actions, the characters in the Invisible Dead are slowly revealed.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sam Wiebe

Leave a Reply