Book Notification

Samuel Craddock Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Samuel Craddock Mystery Books

A Killing at Cotton Hill (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Death of Jack Harbin (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Broke in Jarrett Creek (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Deadly Affair at Bobtail Ridge (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Necessary Murder of Nonie Blake (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Unsettling Crime for Samuel Craddock (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Reckoning in the Back Country (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Risky Undertaking for Loretta Singletary (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Jubilee Rally (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Guilt Strikes at Granger's Store (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Unsettling Crime for Samuel Craddock is a prequel to the series and would be read first chronologically.

Samuel Craddock Mysteries is a novel series that feature Samuel Craddock, a retired chief of police in Jarrett Creek a fictional town in central Texas. The author Terry Shames, right from her early ages authored novels based in Texas where her grandparents lived.

The first book in the series A Killing at Cotton Hill published in 2013 was listed as a bestseller and subsequently made it to the finalist round in several awards. The novel won the 2013 Macavity Award for the best first novel category. Book two in the series The Last Death of Jack Harbin was released in 2014. Subsequently, it made it to the finalist during the 2014 Macavity Award for the best mystery novel category. Also, it was listed in the top ten mystery book of 2014 by the Library Journal and top five by MysteriesPeople the same year.

A Killing at Cotton Hill (2013)

When Dora Lee Parjeter is brutally killed, the former chief of police and Dora’s old friend’s steps in to find the person behind the murder.

The chief of police discovers that many people had a grudge against Dora. The evil people next door wanted her land for some evil purposes; on the other hand, her estranged daughter is seeking revenge while her grandson wants funds for school art and the is a person of unknown identity that Dora claimed was spying on her.

Does the former chief of police have whatever it takes to find out who is the real killer before more bodies pile up? In this first novel by American bestselling author Terry Shames, Samuel proves to be one of the resilient characters in finding out the real killer.

The author does an excellent job with character selection. For instance, Samuel Craddock performs a unique role as the lead character in the series. He is intelligent and capable. Once you read this series, you will find him very likable. He does a well investigate job even though he is grieving for the death of his wife.

The flow of the novel is quite compelling; once you read the first paragraph, you will never be tempted to put the book down. The author does an excellent job with the plot as well; there are plenty of suspects and some good red herrings that give the reader thirsty to read more and more.

The author does an excellent job of providing a vivid description of the small fictional town in Texas as well as it residents. There are dark secrets and also steadfast friendship and generous residents.

The Last Death of Jack Harbin (2014)

The residents of Jarrett Creek are high school football die-hard just like any other Texan town. The send out the coach when team losses, and also the put up with Jack Harbin irritable ways since he was once the best quarterback the town ever saw.

Jack has his reason to be bitter and angry. In high school, he lost a girl to his best friend, and also, he joined the military just before the Gulf War climaxed. He returned home from the battlefield after becoming blind and losing his one leg and now he part of the rhythm of the town.

Everyone in the town always knew that Jacks father would always bring his son to the town’s café between 9 and 11, a rhythm that the city never knew could be cut off by death.

So a lady neighbor finds Jack thrown off his wheelchair and his father lying on the ground beside him, she calls Samuel Craddock, the former chief of police. Craddock does his best to revive Bob Hardin and also listens to Jack as he expresses doubts regarding his father’s death.

However, when Jack is murdered, it is upon Craddock to find out whether Jack death is interconnected with the death of his father or whether it is something regarding Jacks past. All in all, the former chief of police must use his investigative skills to find out the killer.

Just like in the previous novel, A Killing at Cotton Hill the retired chief of police is the only person in Jarrett with actual training and law enforcement experience, and he does an excellent job in investigating the dual murder.

Dead Broke (2014)

The retired chief of police did not want to investigate any more murder cases, and thus he retired from his job. However, the last few months have been somehow rough in the Jarrett Creek the small town south of Texan.

There have been several murders all which have dragged Samuel Craddock into solving them. Moreover, during the freezing winter, the small town is bound to have more problems.

The town is totally bankrupt, and the previous night there had been an emergency meeting held at American Legion Hall and conducted by the city leading citizens. The main meeting agenda was to discuss on how to pay the police force when the town has no enough funds to pay even the part timers.

The town’s Mayor, Reinhardt had suggested that Craddock be installed as the town police chief since he is proven a good guy before and has enough resources to carry out the chief of police duties and hence does not require a salary.

Samuel Craddock is not happy with the suggestion but all in all he is willing to get along as it is needed. However, the plan sidelines when the son of Bank President, Gary Dellmore, took over the meeting and resulted in some serious problems. The town’s residents went home angry, and the chief of police and two deputies resigned from their positions.

It is not long before Gary Dellmore is found dead just outside the American Legion Hall and while the Texas Rangers and the legendary law enforcement guys could help with the case, they have got other cases at hand to deal with. It is not long before Craddock is back to his investigative job and this time he means business. Who could be the person behind the killing of the son of town’s wicked man? It is the chief of police to unravel the real identity.

Terry Shames books have quenched the thirsty of many mystery novels fans, and if you love reading mystery novels, then Terry Shames will not disappoint.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Samuel Craddock Mysteries

Leave a Reply