Book Notification

San Juan Islands Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of San Juan Islands Mystery Books

The Writer (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Waters (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on Matia (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rosario's Revenge (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Roche Harbor Rogue (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Turn Point Massacre (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadman Island (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Truthing Tree (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Book of Bloodbone (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Walking Ones: (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anacortes Haunting: (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

San Juan Islands Mystery is a series of mystery novels written by D.W. Ulsterman. The books follow the exploits of a young journalist who cannot steer clear of the trouble that the San Juan Islands keep stirring up.

+The Story

D.W. Ulsterman would categorize the San Juan Islands Mystery Series as a mystery. Some people have been known to call them cozy mysteries and the categorization definitely makes some sense.

The protagonist is an amateur sleuth solving murders in a small community filled with quirky characters. However, the stories of the San Juan Islands Mystery series tend to get quite dark, so much so that a cozy mystery classification doesn’t make much sense.

‘The Writer’, the first novel in the series, introduces readers to Adele Plank. At the time, Adele is just a college student. She has an interest in pursuing journalism. But besides that, she is pretty ordinary.

It isn’t until Adele decides to feed her fascination for Decklan Stone that her life begins to change. Decklan stone was a bestselling author. He had a promising and financially lucrative career ahead of him.

But then he lost his wife in a tragic occurrence. Decklan fled to the San Juan Islands and has spent the last two decades or so living an isolated life. Adele’s life intersects with Decklan’s when he agrees to let her interview him.

Adele’s jumps at the opportunity, not only because of her interest in Decklan but also because of all the questions she has about his wife’s death. The heroine’s trip to the San Juan Islands catapults her into a world of mystery and intrigue.

Decklan isn’t exactly the man she expected, and there are so many more questions surrounding his wife’s death than the public realizes. Adele begins to poke around, a decision that draws the ire of all the wrong people and endangers her life.

Adele Plank’s debut as the San Juan Islands Mystery series protagonist was a pretty strong one. She was thrown headfirst into a mystery with dangerous consequences and she survived the ordeal, emerging on the side that much stronger.

As the series progresses, readers are allowed to explore Adele’s life as she deals with the consequences of her actions in ‘The Writer’. She eventually graduates from college and she becomes the journalist she always wanted to be.

But she quickly finds that it is almost impossible to get the San Juan Islands out of her system. And she immediately jumps at the opportunity to utilize her skills as a journalist at a publication in the area.

D.W. Ulsterman spends a lot of time delving into the minutiae of life on the San Juan Islands. While he doesn’t necessarily dwell on the location, he makes an effort to give readers a vivid understanding of what life on the Islands is like.

Adele’s adventure in the area in ‘The Writer’ brings her into contact with a number of notable characters, most of whom are warm and friendly people that assist her in her efforts to resolve the Decklan Stone mystery.

As such, her return to San Juan is welcomed by her new friends. San Juan, though seemingly ordinary, tends to attract trouble. While Adele’s journalistic efforts keep her busy, she always finds time to investigate the many murders that plague the Islands.

The nature of crime in these novels will vary. Sometimes, Adele will find herself facing off against international criminals with nefarious intentions. Other times, the perpetrators of murder on the Islands are merely disturbed individuals following a misguided path.

Adele’s curiosity and sense of justice are such that once she stumbles upon a mystery, she won’t stop chasing it until she acquires satisfying answers to her questions.

The author, a man, has been commended for his ability to produce fiction with such a strong female heroine at its center. The author imputes his success in crafting Adele Plank to the fact that he has been married for several years.

He also has a daughter whose teenage years gave him invaluable insight into the female mind. This is on top of his mother, a woman that was so physically tough that her rare showings of emotional vulnerability were often met with surprise.

Ulsterman has spent his life engaging intimately with women at different stages of their lives. So bringing Adele Plank to life wasn’t nearly as difficult as some people presume.

+The Author

D.W. Ulsterman is a husband to one wife and a father to two children. His home is normally filled with the sound of laughing children and howling dogs and cats. When the author isn’t writing, he can be found listening to music or watching movies.

The author also loves to fish. And if time allows, you will find him playing golf. Ulsterman’s work typically reflects his personal opinions on things like politics, music, America and the world.

+The Writer

Decklan Stone was going places. A bestselling author, there was no limit to how far his star would rise. But then his wife died at such a young age and everything changed. Decklan retreated, running away to the San Juan Islands where he has remained in isolation for more than two decades.

Adele Plank is a young college student with aspirations to become a journalist. Decklan is her favorite author. When an opportunity to interview the recluse comes her way, she immediately jumps at it, making the trip to the San Juan Islands.

Adele wants to know what Decklan has been up to for all these years. But she also wants to know what happened to his wife. She knows that there is more to the tragic incident than meets the eye. And when she investigates, she encounters evidence to prove as much.

But her discovery brings with it a lot of danger. There are people who would rather see Adele abandon her investigation and leave the Island.

+Dark Waters

Adele Plank is an aspiring journalist fresh out of college, and she is finally back on the shores of the San Juan Islands. Adele was drawn back to the Islands after receiving an unexpected gift.

And it looks like she came back just in time. A young woman has been brutally murdered and the crime threatens to turn the community against itself.

Book Series In Order » Characters » San Juan Islands Mystery

3 Responses to “San Juan Islands Mystery”

  1. Mark Rast: 1 year ago

    I’m 76 now and first went hunting with my Dad and a priest when I was 12 and we were guests of the Tate family. One of my best friends built cabin on Pearl Island and my wife and I had many romantic romps on Posey Island. A old love and I almost got a job on it was then called Safari Island. Now live in Moses lake but have many friends who still live there. Thanks for the memories.
    Mark Rast

  2. Bobbie Rogers: 3 years ago

    Will there be a book #8 in the San Juan Island Series. I hope so. I have travelled there several times and am really enjoying this series and visualizing the places the book takes us!!
    8, 9, 10?? 😊

  3. Diane Bjarnason: 3 years ago

    I’m so looking for #8 in the series. DON’T LEAVE ME HANGING. You have made me a book reader. TX


Leave a Reply